We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, decent rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent. It is located in the historic district and is fairly close to everything of interest. River Street is literally across the street from this hotel, and most of the historic parks and attractions are within walking distance or a short car ride. We found our room to be fairly clean, but not the best that we have stayed at. The view from our window was excellent, make sure that you request a room overlooking the river, otherwise you will be looking at air conditioning units on rooftops. The breakfast was adequate, pretty much what you would expect from this type of hotel,(but it was included, so that will save you money, especially if you are traveling with children). Wi-F was also included (my brother in law stayed at another hotel up the road that cost more money, did not include free breakfast, and charged extra for the internet. He left after one night due to substandard conditions). There is also a pool on the roof, with excellent views of the city. I found this to be great for night photography (bring a tripod). My wife and I feel that the employees at this hotel really made our trip enjoyable. From the clerks at the desk to the employees parking your car ($20.00 per night extra), to the wonderful lady working in the breakfast area, we couldn't have been more pleased with the employees and their pleasant attitudes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Dennis A,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We all appreciate your recognition of the staff and the service, as we pride ourselves on setting a great example in this regard. I am sorry to hear that the guest room was the best you have experienced. We are always trying to improve and look for different ways to please our guests. I will definitely keep this in mind during our next scheduled renovation.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,943 - 1,949 of 2,636 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here five times since 2010, and always stay at the Hampton Inn in the Historic District. Clean rooms, friendly staff, and fantastic access to all of our favorite sights and sounds in the city in walking distance! Looking forward to the next trip, already.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you Ronald B,
We always love to here from our guests. I am happy to you are already considering us for your future visit to the area. We work very hard to please our guests and I hope your visit will be as memorable your last.

Sincerely,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is your typical Hampton Inn - i.e., clean, comfy beds, good breakfast, excellent staff.

The location is great - close to River Street and close enough to the City Market for an easy walk.

The rooftop pool is a HUGE PLUS!! You can see quite a bit of the city up there and can watch the ships go down the river. Sunrise/set would able be great to catch up there as well. If you like spending time at a pool, or have kids, OR just want a great view, then this is for you.

A tip about the pool: if you can be flexible in your eating schedule, then you can enjoy this pool either by yourself or just a couple of other people by going up there around 6:30 p.m. We would go up around 6:00 p.m. and there would be a lot of people swimming, but they were almost all gone by 6:30 p.m. and we would stay for about an hour afterwards having the place to ourselves (or just one other family).

The only cons were:
1. Two double beds instead of the typical queen beds. So, if you are used to queen beds or larger, or need a bit more space, then just know that these are doubles.

2. Deck around the pool - it is DANGEROUSLY SLIPPERY!! I can't believe they haven't fixed this. It's a lawsuit waiting to happen. We seen no less than 6 people in two days take hard falls. The deck is tile and when it's wet, watch out. Just be very careful if you are walking anytime on that deck.

One last tip: parking.
The valet is $20. However, if you are capable of walking across the street with your luggage in tow, then save yourself some money by using the parking garage. If you are at the entrance of the lobby looking out to the street, the parking garage is literally across the street to the left - a 40' walk. Instead of paying $40 for valet, I paid $12.

If you don't mind double beds, then this is a great choice for a hotel in the Historic District!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrentFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your input!
We are always happy to hear from each guest that gives us valuable feedback. We currently do no have rooms with double queens, however we will be carrying that room type in the next calendar year. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be considering us again in the future.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a trip for my buddies 40th Birthday party. This hotel is right in the middle of everything. River Street is a stairway away. I paid $15 a night extra for the view (worth it to me) of River Street and the Live Oaks, I'd rather see them than an alley. My buddy didn't pay it and still got the view, luck of the draw I guess. This is a nice place with good amenities.

I would like to say a "thank you" to Gregory. I forgot my dress shirts, shorts, and my wife's dress in our closet upon checkout. We called after driving 1 1/2 hours away and he got them and is shipping them to us. You can't beat the service. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blindwillies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Great news!
I will pass your kind words along to Gregory. He will be happy to see this review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I were more than pleased when we stayed at Hampton Inn in Savannah after staying with them in Charleston, NC. They kept their promise -- the room was clean, bright, fresh, roomy, clean linen and a view of the river [that was a request]. The view was simply beautiful. We were in walking distance to multiple shops, restaurants, fantastic ice cream shop about 2blks. away, and musical sounds.
Michelle and her staff was on point with suggestions, always pleasant and professional.
If you're looking for a clean, "in the midst" of the action, at a reasonable price, this is the place.

Room Tip: A higher floor with the river view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenorgirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks!
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The roof top pool has a wonderful view of the historic district and the river. Hope to see you again.

Suncerely,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Rooms are spacious and clean. The bed is extremely comfortable. Location is perfect - close to River Street and City Market. Valet parking is convenient, you can park in the city parking garage for less. The pool on the roof top is awesome! Definitely will stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on Bay Street have a better view of the River the beautiful mossy trees - go as high as possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klwatts967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for this awesome feedback! We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location. Across the street from the riverfront with shopping and restaurants. Valet parking very expensive. Second night I parked in city lot next door for a fraction of the cost. Huge updated spotless bed and bath. On a busy street but no traffic sounds. Staff friendly, helpful. Usual free breakfast. Had to eat in the room as I never scored a seat in dining area. I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAICCmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

We apologize for not having enough seating in the breakfast area. We will certainly address this issue. Thank you for taking the time to write this outstanding review and giving us great feedback about your experience.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 115 in Savannah
3,052 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#16 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $146 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing