We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Nearby Hotels
$188
$176
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hyatt Regency Savannah(Savannah)
$188
$163
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Central Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
$80
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
River Street Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
$229
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The DeSoto(Savannah)
$171
$135
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,793)
Filter reviews
2,793 results
Traveler rating
1,767
750
190
63
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,767
750
190
63
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolgreat locationhistoric districtthe rivervalet parkingwithin walking distancetrolley stopcookiesbay stcity garagedirectly across the streetvalet servicefree breakfastfront desk staffper daybreakfast stafffresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
2,112 - 2,117 of 2,793 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have stayed at many Hampton Inn's across the Southeast and the location of your facility was ideal for a stress free environment when having to go on Business travel. With immediate access to the different restaurants, river, parks, etc., I was able to get to the place of choice without any issues. The accommodations to get around the Historic Downtown was very plentiful. I was highly disappointed with the internet and air conditioner in my room at the Hampton Inn. Due to the fact that this was a Business trip, these were necessities to ensure that my stay was enjoyable. The 1st (2) nights were spent without any air conditioning, but a call was not placed until the next morning on both occasions due to the urgency of the projects that were being worked. The Front Desk was very helpful in trying to resolve the issue to no avail until the 3rd night. The internet did not operate properly over the entire extent of the 5-day stay. It appeared to be very slow each day and assignments had to be completed at the customer facility. In closing, I would stay in your facility again, but I would have to ensure that internet access is up to speed. I'm sure the room would be adequate, but internet access is a must.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Rikiese K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for expressing your concerns to us,

We are so sorry that the internet was not working properly for you during your stay with us. We have made significant changes in regards to the internet since your stay with us. We now have twice as much bandwith coming into the building as of 7/31/2013, and this is just the first step. All our a/c units are being repaired or replaced and this process has already been started. We are sorry for your inconvenience and all the concerns you stated will be corrected should you choose to stay with us in the future.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I love Hampton Inns as well as most of the Hilton chain. This one is located in the heart of the historic district in Savannah. The experience starts with the porter / car park folks. Very pleasant and running their tails off. The front desk is the same story. Very lovely people just doing their jobs very well. I know a couple of names but it would be a slight to single out only a few. Just say they are all great!

The breakfast bar was hammered every day and the woman who made it run was the picture of cool in the face of fire.

The one week point this trip was the housekeeping. I don't know if they were short-staffed or what, but the room was never kept up to snuff. There also seemed to be a shortage of bath soap - as in none at all in the whole hotel for our entire stay (3 nights).

All that being said, I would come back here in a flash!

Like I said, just a little out of kilter...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bantling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you!
I appreciate you taking the time to write a thorough review. The concerns that you have will be addressed. I look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This holel was right in the middle of the entertainment/shopping area. Perfect for a weekend getaway. It was clean and the staff was very polite. We also went to the beach one day which took us about 30 mins from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review. I look forward to your return and having another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at the Hampton for our 3rd anniversary. Hotel staff was very accommodating, room was clean and comfortable. Location was the best part, central to everything. Only minor complaints were the pillows were too small and too few (4 small pillow) for a king size bed. And you must be at breakfast early before the rush to get a seat and hot food. We will definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early (8am latest) to get a seat and first pickings of the hot food items
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria_Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for this review! I will look into getting bigger pillows for the king sized beds. We look forward to your return, and another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, the location is terrific--walking distance to everything, which is key, because Savannah is a very walkable city. That's why the valet parking is very nice, because once you arrive, you really want to just put your car away until it's time to leave. Rooms are average Hampton Inn, which is to say clean and familiar, the staff is very helpful (thanks for the great dinner reservation, The Pink House was terrific) and overall, this hotel proves that Hampton does leisure travel well, too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your compliments of Hampton!
We are all very proud to be members of the Hampton family and take pride in our guests experience. I will pass this along to the staff!

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews