We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #14 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at the Hampton for our 3rd anniversary. Hotel staff was very accommodating, room was clean and comfortable. Location was the best part, central to everything. Only minor complaints were the pillows were too small and too few (4 small pillow) for a king size bed. And you must be at breakfast early before the rush to get a seat and hot food. We will definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early (8am latest) to get a seat and first pickings of the hot food items
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria_Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for this review! I will look into getting bigger pillows for the king sized beds. We look forward to your return, and another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,570)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,896 - 1,902 of 2,570 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, the location is terrific--walking distance to everything, which is key, because Savannah is a very walkable city. That's why the valet parking is very nice, because once you arrive, you really want to just put your car away until it's time to leave. Rooms are average Hampton Inn, which is to say clean and familiar, the staff is very helpful (thanks for the great dinner reservation, The Pink House was terrific) and overall, this hotel proves that Hampton does leisure travel well, too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your compliments of Hampton!
We are all very proud to be members of the Hampton family and take pride in our guests experience. I will pass this along to the staff!

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went to Savannah for a wedding, which was on Tybee Island. The hotel is in the Historic District, near River Street. We enjoyed great restaurants in the area, nice shops, watched the huge barges going up and down the river. The staff was very accommodating. There were 10 of us in 5 rooms, and we all met in the lobby in the evenings to socialize. One night we sent out for pizza, and all sat in the lobby at a table. It was pouring rain outside, and the staff had towels ready for guests that got caught in the rain. They couldn't have been nicer! Great place for a group, or family to stay! They also put us all on the same floor, which made it nice. We were on the 5th floor, with a view of the river. We would definitely stay there again! They have valet parking, and had the car waiting each time we wanted to go out. Also, the free hot breakfast was super!

Room Tip: The view from the upper floors is better.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you so much!
This is the kind of experience that we aim to deliver to all of our guests. Thank you for expressing this to our viewers, and we all appreciate your loyalty!

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just across from the river and within walking distance to most everything. Hotel was great, the room spacious, friendly staff and nice breakfast. Less than a block to a nice par, where we listened musicians in the evening. They had valet parking or you could use the parking garage across the street. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat34373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for writing this review. The staff here is great and we all love pleasing our guests. Thank you for giving us chance and we all look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is smack in the historic district. Everything is within walking distance. My wife and I walked everywhere and enjoyed ourselves very much. We were on the 4th floor or so, and our room faced the river, but you couldn't really see much because of all the other buildings in the way. Once in a while a huge barge would float by and you could see the top of it rolling through and it was amazing.

The rooftop pool area is great, although it closed too early for us to enjoy it as we were out til passed 9pm every night. Still, it's a great view of the city up there.

One incident that occurred that was a bit stressful is I booked the hotel by phone and they gave me a special promotional rate. I had to pay for 3 nights up front with no cancellation/no refunds which was around $480. The problem was when I arrived, they took my credit card for incidentals and when I checked out 3 days later, they CHARGED ME AGAIN!

So I was out nearly $900 for a 3 night stay! It took about an hour to sort it out and I wouldn't have known at all except that I happened to check my bank account that morning. The hotel finally straightened most of it out, but it still took a day or so to get the money back into my account and was a hassle at the time. So if you book online or over the phone, be very careful when you arrive that they don't double-charge you at check-in or check-out.

Also, they charge $20-25 or so for parking, but there's a parking garage across the street that charges a lot less and seems relatively safe. We parked there and saved a bundle over the weekend.

One of the main tour buses has a stop right next to the hotel which is very convenient as well.

Oh and breakfast is PHENOMENAL. They have eggs, hash browns, bacon, etc along with all the typical "continental breakfast" stuff (coffee, pastries, cereal etc). They even had Krispy Kreme donuts two of the mornings!

Room Tip: If you can, get a room that faces the river. You won't see much, but it's still kind of cool...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you writing this awesome review!

I apologize for the inconvenience concerning the double charge. This was a hotel error and a very unsual occurrance. The valet is a flat fee of $20, but is unlimited in and out access, which guarentees a parking space. As visitors of Savannah know, parking in the city garage is not guarenteed due to the filling regulary on weekends. I really look forward to your return, and having another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

1 min walk to Riverstreet with lots of venues, 8 min walk to city Market! Trolley stop close. Breakfast staff, lobby staff, all here to make sure we were satisfied. We had a problem with "smells" in our first room, which turned out to be a musty ironing board. The staff was quick to get us a new room so they could remedy the problem! The location is perfect, price was perfect...rooftop pool relaxing. I will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesigningJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you!
We are all happy to here that you will be back. I will pass your gracious words along to the breakfast and lobby staff members. I am also happy to here about how quickly the staff was able to resolve your problem, and that you enjoyed your entire stay!

Sincerely,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

One overnight stay and the service was excellent, we were able to check in early, nice room, good breakfast. Valet is $20 (too pricy for us), so we got a visitors' pass from the city of Savannah instead for $7. This Hampton Inn was great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank metalheavylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for this nice review. I am pleased to here that we were able to accommodate you on your short visit to the area, and that the hotel's service was excellent. We all hope to see you in the furure.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,936 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#16 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $159 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing