We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concierge Services & the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I would like to compliment the concierge Mary Hurn. She helped us with getting around the city, telling us about the different tours and attractions and setting up a wonderful book tour with Savannah Heritage Tours as well as a Trolley Tour. She also suggested local restaurants and must see attractions. Mary made our three day visit full and rewarding. Thank you Mary from Bill and Wendy.

The hotel was perfectly located so we were able to give up the keys to the car and not take them back again until we left. Our room was very comfortable and we had a view of River Street and the harbor. The hot breakfast was plentiful and a great way to start a day of sightseeing. Would stay there again but would choose a warmer time of the year although the azaelas were in full bloom which was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view, highest room possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,013 - 2,019 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I spent St. Patrick's Day weekend in Savannah. We stayed at the Hamton Inn at 201 East Bay Street. Given that this is probably the busiest events in Savannah the hotel and staff seemed to be very organized, friendly and accomodating. You really can't ask for a better location as this hotel is in a great location. We could easily walk to everything we wanted to do. The check in process starts as your pull in under the car port and are immediatly greeted by the Valet. These guys seems really enjoy their job because thet were very friendly. We immediately retrieved our bags and entered the hotel for a very speedy check-in. Again, I need to mentioned the hotel and surrounding areas were slammed with all the St. Patty's dad festivities. With the inlfux of people the hotel provided arm bracelets as a hightened security measure so the only guest of the hotel were allowed. The hotel rooms, lobby areas and breakfast areas are very nice. It has the look and feel of the historic district yet, has all the modern conviences that we enjoy. This was our second visit to this hotel and we will certainly stay there again on our next trip to Savannah. Now for St. Patricks day is Savannah it was a real hoot.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Second Floor. Not much of a view but, we didnt stay in the room much; just to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenmartro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a fabulous time. Hotel was awesome, staff was awesome, and would love to stay there again. Each morning started with a newspaper, pleasant greetings from staff and a complimentary full breakfast. Even the coffee was great. And not to mention the views from the roof top pool were spectacular. Even though there was some confusion on our reservation changes, the staff did everything to correct the problems and worked very hard to keep us happy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This may be the nicest Hampton Inn that I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. The location is ideal -- right in the middle of Savannah's historic district with a view out to the waterfront. The lobby is spacious and attractive, the breakfast room is airy and bright with big windows looking out onto the street. Our room on the 5th floor was lovely and had far more room than a typical Hampton Inn with a great view overlooking the water. We were there during the craziness of St. Patrick's Day weekend (who knew Savannah has one of the nation's largest parades?) and can't compliment the staff enough for their careful security and unfailing courtesy in the face of extraordinary demands and a crush of people. Great stay and would definitely recommend this to others traveling to beatuiful Savannah!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the water and above the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hockessinstorm43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardM560, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

These are the experiences that we aspire to have all of our have when they come to lodge with us. We at the Hampton strive to deliver the best customer service, the most comfortable rooms, and the absolute best staff to all our guests. Thank you for writing this review and I look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager, Hampton Inn Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for the St Patrick's day Parade this year. Now we used Hilton points for the 2 day stay so we can't really comment on the price, but I am glad we didn't pay the prices that were showing online for the hotel at this period.
The hotel was fine, typical Hampton Inn. Parking was across the street but that was fine - very close. The Hotel is on the edge of Old town as best I could see. Not long to restuarants etc but perhaps over a kilometre from River st. Not a problem as it is a lovely place to walk through but if you like zero walking perhaps stay more central.
We were there for St Patrick's day - avoid this time unless you have a particular interest as it just seemed an excuse for lots of drinking and partying (and we are Irish!). The hotel did their best to prevent too much partying in the hotel with a Police man permantently stationed in the lobby (I kid you not). To be fair there was a bit a noise but not a lot and to be fair to them they did their best. However I do see what another guest was saying about thin walls.
The staff were friendly throughout despite being busy.
All in all I would go back here and Savannah, but not for St Patick's day (and again we are Irish)!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I would stay here again! This hotel is great in terms of:

* Hampton Inn Quality
* Location
* Cleanliness
* Accommodating and Friendly Staff

This is a new building built to look old in many ways. This Hampton Inn offers the basic things you come expect from all Hampton Inns. There is a full continental that includes a waffle maker that makes very good waffles. The coffee is good and never seems to run out! The room is very clean and up to date. The hotel staff is very nice and accommodating. It does take a bit to bring the car up, so call down 15 minutes prior to leaving if you need your car brought around.

This hotel location is perfect for Savannah Tourists. It's located along East Bay Street, which is the main drag for Savannah. By being on East Bay Street, you are right in the middle of everything. It’s hardly a block off of the Square of the Pink House Restaurant and across the street from the River Street area.

The staff was very accommodating and friendly. I’m from the south, and they make my native land look good! It was my 40th birthday and my name was on the marquee the entire time as well as had champaign waiting in the room. I really can’t say enough. Do ask for a high room so you can see the big ships come up the river.

Activities: Shops, River Boating, Wildlife Center (south of city), Tybee Island

Food: Pink House, Leopold’s Ice Cream, and Molly MacPherson’s Scottish Pub, and Rum Balls from Byrd’s.

Room Tip: High room that over looks river. All rooms seem to have part of the window blocked by the AC, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HawaiiNCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This Hotel is in an excellent location in Historic Downtown Savannah, GA just a short walk from the river and all of the wonderful parks. There are great restaurants and tourist attractions all within walking distance. BUT the price I paid was not at all worth the dated dim rooms. The room had burnt out lightbulbs, the heater set off the fire alarm. The carpet was dingy and much of the furniture was chipped or broken. Parking is outrageous!!! I parked across the street for $12 a day versus the hotel's rate of $20 per day (not to mention tip for the valet). If you are considering staying in the historic district, there is plenty of competition that could do a much better job and you would be supporting a local business instead of the Hilton Corporation.

Room Tip: Check for other hotels in the area. There is plenty of better value competition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardM560, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write this review. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations when you stayed with us. We are always trying to update our product and deliver the best possible experience to each guest. If you ever decide to stay with us again, please ask for me and I will be more than happy to accommodate you on your next visit to Savannah.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager, Hampton Inn Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#16 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $154 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing