We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 31, 2012

No matter the length of your stay...it's comfortable, safe, clean and centrally located. The staff is amazing. If you are going for european luxury...this may not be the hotel for you (though for the money you save you could do a bit more shopping and eat fabulous meals 3 or 4 times a day during your holiday). But for me....well...this place is downright darling. I recommend highly especially if you are going to Savannah to experience Savannah....not stay in your hotel all day. I think it quite a jewel.

Stayed: May 2012
3  Thank DeniseB464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,221 - 2,227 of 2,713 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

May be spoiled by other Hilton properties across the country and overly critical. Not quiet upto par for the money spent. Hot water for tea had very strong coffee flavor and odor. Breakfast was average at best. Room was on the second floor along the street and traffic noise was definite during the night. Not quite bad enough to complain, but as a frequent traveler would've thought we would be given a better room, again maybe overly critical. Location is awesome and agree that the staff was very good. Parking is definitely a challenge, but valet did a very good job.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My friend and I just spent 4 days in Savannah and stayed at this hotel. From the moment we walked in, it was friendly, bright and inviting. The staff were pleasant and smiling. The rooms are nicely appointed and we enjoyed our stay in one of the historical view rooms. We had a view of treetops and the river. The hotel is in a great location and almost everything is convenient. It's right across from River Street, and an easy walk to the City Market and squares. The morning breakfast is very good, and everything was fresh and hot. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to others, and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a nice view, book one of the "historical view" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SCCoastin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Overall this is a great hotel with very nice amenities. The location and price make it very attractive for families and couples wanting to spend time exploring Savannah on foot. Close to River Street and the squares, the spacious rooms are clean and comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was good for the price (free - can't complain too much about free food). Our only real complaint was the common bathrooms off the lobby area. Looked like something you'd find in a gas station in the middle of nowhere in a horror movie. Naaaasssstttttyyyyy!!!! Not sure why the staff wasn't watching these and let them get like that, but it was really gross. All in all, though, this is a hotel that we would book again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was our second trip to Savannah in the past 3 months and our first stay at this hotel. We chose it because we wanted to stay closer to what I call "the action" i.e. River Street. Hotel staff were very friendly, room in comparison to the previous hotel we stayed at was a little smaller, but worked fine for us. We did not hang out in the rooms. Breakfast was also included which was great for us. The roof top pool is very nice. Again this hotel is close to everything that most tourists like to explore and EAT. We arrived at the hotel on Saturday and did not use our car until we checked out to return home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djsmomDallas_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had stayed at the Hampton inn 2 years ago and loved it. the staff was amazing etc. so we decided to try this place again on our last trip to Savannah. BIG Mistake. First we had asked for a cot for the room and the folks at the front desk told us they don't have any cots at all. the next day i was standing by the elevator and magically the house keeper was standing there with a cot. (not for us mind you). so I mentioned to her that I asked for a cot and was told you did not have any, and she explained they had just "borrowed" the one she had from the Holiday Inn across the street. I call BS on that one, sorry but not cool. The hall way was really muggy and there were big industrial fans everywhere on account of a mishap with water on one of the upper level rooms. I know I know all this seems to be no big deal, but when you are spending your hard earned money you want to be comfortable.
Bonus of the hotel is the pool on the roof. Very nice :>)
we were gonna stay an additional night but decided against it since we were very uncomfortable. We'll return to Savannah for sure, but will go across the road to the Holiday Inn, I know they have cots there...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarMar1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed at the Historic District Hampton Inn, beautiful hotel in great location. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Valet, Edward, was very helpful and knowledgable of the area and gave great advice for places to go. The frig in our room wasn't working, it was quickly removed and repaired. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 116 in Savannah
3,148 reviews
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#16 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $159 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing