We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Ranked #45 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed April 10, 2010

this hotel was great for service and good old southern hospitolity. we checked in and were given one room on the consciere floor and one on the river. did not pay for upgrades or parking. good location on the river with lot to do. would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlnovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,768 - 1,774 of 1,936 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on a recent we visit to Savannah. I first want to point out that the hospitality here is amazing. You get the southern courtesy that you expect in a Savannah business, from the front desk staff, to the maids, to the guys at the door, and even the girl in the parking booth. They are all over the top friendly and helpful.
I have no complaints about the hotel itself, but I have no real raves either. It is on the river, but is furter away from the action than any other hotel on the river. It's still within walking distance, but anywhere is walking distance if you have the time, right?
Our room was clean, but average as far as decor. Nothing to write home about(or Trip Advisor reviews about). The bed was comfy and the room was clean with relatively new furniture. Really didn't bother us much, because besides sleeping, we spent about 20 minutes in the room.
So if you get a good deal and are looking to stay on the river, stay here. But if the price is comparable to other hotels on the river, I'd reccommend staying closer to the action.
Oh, and becuase it's become a big deal to me, and I know it's a big deal to others, Wi-Fi is 15 bucks a day. Thumbs down to that.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OuttaHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

This hotel was a mixed bag for me. We booked it on Priceline, so we did get a good deal. I don't think I would stay here again if we had to pay full price. Since we booked on Priceline, they said we were only entitled to a room w/ 2 double beds. I asked to be upgraded to a queen or king, but they said no. The room was nice though, and had a balcony that we could see the river from. It's a great location b/c it's at the end of the row of riverfront hotels and restaurants, so it was very quiet but the walk to the riverfront shops and restaurants is short and easy. There is no free wireless anywhere in the hotel and no complimentary breakfast. My biggest word of advice is: if you stay here, DO NOT PAY FOR PARKING. To park in their lot is $18/day but parking on the street is free in Savannah on the weekends. So we arrived Friday night, left our car in the hotel lot and then Sat. morn we moved it to the street where it was fine for the rest of the weekend. Just pay attention to the signs about street cleaning. Certain streets are cleaned on certain days of the week, so you want to park in a place that won't be cleaning on Sat. night or you'll get a ticket.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisha3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We stayed at the Marriott Riverfront Savannah last April 2009. First of all, if you want to stay directly on the Savannah River, this is in an excellent location. We stayed in a room several floors up directly facing the river. We did not have a balcony with this room, but we had floor to ceiling windows.

My husband enjoys taking pictures of the huge tankers coming into port. If you stay in a "Water View Room", you feel as though you can almost reach out and touch the passing ships. Again, this hotel is about the location, especially if you really enjoy watching the ships come into the Georgia Port.

The rooms are nice, but you can tell they're a little worn. Still, they're nice and the bathrooms are very spacious. Now, if you have problems with walking a long distance, you may want to request a room very near the elevator on your floor. We stayed quite a ways from the elevator and it seemed like a really long walk.

The hotel restaurant is not exactly in a convenient location in the hotel, but again, if you sit by the restaurant windows, you can watch the ships go by. The food is okay, but nothing to write home about.

All in all, it's a nice hotel and very convenient to everything. You will have a little walk to get to the shops on River Street, but there is a water taxi that will pick you up and take you across the river to the Westin, if you want to go to the Westin for dinner.

Like any Marriott sitting in a prime location in a tourist town, it's a little pricey, but so is every other hotel sitting on River Street. They have a parking garage and the standard rooms service. By the way, we ordered breakfast to the room one morning and the breakfast was excellent.

Again, nice hotel and GREAT location.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedDirtDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at this Hotel for a long weekend. The front desk was friendly and efficient, the room was great. . Our room looked out on to the river and the old town. All rooms have a balcony with 2 chairs and the beds are so comfortable with down covers. There is nothing we did not like about this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chru98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Ask for a river view if you can get it—it was amazing to watch the giant container ships navigating the river. That said, the interior rooms had balconies that are usable year-round and the atrium was architecturally interesting with the north wall being entirely of glass and facing the river. We grumbled about having a room with double beds (who has that anymore?), but found the beds to be cozy and not at all cramped.

If you don’t mind walking a bit, the location is okay—about a 15 minute walk along the river to the heart of the historic district. There were many other hotels much closer to the restaurants and attractions, but we got a fabulous deal at the Marriott and it was worth the trade-off. It also helped that we stayed on the executive floor which came with a continental breakfast Monday-Friday and cocktail hour Sunday-Thursday.

We were also glad we took advantage of the concierge. In addition to being very personable, she gave us some great suggestions. The trolley tour was a wonderful way to see the historic district with their hop-on hop-off policy.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamRandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I attended a conference here and the hotel was able to meet the needs of a large group. It was on the Riverfront and we explored the Riverfront and the city. We were able to do this on foot and it was wonderful! The restaurants were great! The bougainvillea bushes were beautiful and fragrant. I would live in Savannah (my birthplace) if I could!

Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
Thank kygal2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 115 in Savannah
3,076 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,145 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Marriott Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $161 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Marriott Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Marriott Riverfront is a full-service hotel in Savannah, Georgia located directly on the historic Riverfront. Stroll along Savannah's famous River Street steps from our hotel and conveniently connected to us via the Marriott Riverwalk. Enjoy easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment at our hotel. Relax on the beach at nearby Tybee Island, or spend the day exploring historic downtown Savannah. 11.2 miles to Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Savannah Marriott Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing