We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a beautiful hotel and an exciting view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Ranked #47 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
A TripAdvisor Member
“What a beautiful hotel and an exciting view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2004

Great hotel and great location! The hotel was wonderful from the moment we walked in the place! The valet staff was so nice and the front desk was even nicer! Very pleasant! What a beautiful hotel. The rooms are so pretty and spacious! We had a nice king size bed and the bathroom is really large!
We had a problem with the directions to the hotel (directions given by reservations!) (Don't take directions from them! Ask for the Concierge!!) Being a little rattled by the bad directions putting us out of our way...the manager made up for it well and made us very happy!
The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because the pool is not in a good place...you have to go past a whole bunch of tables which at the time we were there they were having a luau or something...(not so fun to walk past all those people in your swimwear!!) So just go prepared with a nice over the suit outfit if you are a bit modest!!
All in all, we loved the place and will return! Thanks Marriott!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    566
    354
    169
    105
See reviews for
393
576
40
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2004

Nice large and clean rooms. Hotel is large and has an indoor as well as outdoor pool. Also has an indoor hot tub.

Only gripe I have about the hotel is the location. It is at the far end of the riverwalk and it is a short hike to get to where the main part of the riverwalk is located. If you are there for just one day, it's no big deal, but if you are there for several days and don't have a rental car or your own car, the walk does get old after a while. The walk to town is no more than about 10 minutes each way.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tropicdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2004

The Marriott Riverfront was an adequate hotel due to its location. On the downside, the interior is quite plain and not in the least bit 'Savannah-like'.

If you are looking for a typical full-service hotel I would consider either the Marriott or Westin. We chose to avoid the Westin due to the reliance on the water taxi to cross the river.

In retrospect, I would have perhaps tried a small inn or more traditional setting, but I have no real complaints. You will enjoy your stay in Savannah as long as you are near River Street and don't mind walking most places.

Helpful?
8 Thank Airrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2004

My sisters and I took our Mom to Savannah for a 2 night stay at the Riverfront Marriott. We had a great time visiting all the antique shops, restaurants and very importantly coming back to a safe,beautiful and comfortable hotel! I'm looking forward to a return visit with my husband!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2004

We stayed here on our way to Florida for just one night. The room was okay. The shower and tub could have been cleaner. Nothing really spectacular about this hotel. Except it is on the river. The hotel pool inside smelled so strongly of chlorine. Downtown Savannah was fantastic. It was our first time and it was very charming and historic. But we would most likely pick a different hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2004

We stayed at this hotel in April with our two children on our way to FL and were upgraded, no charge, to a suite. It was so pleasant that this past week, we chose to go out of our way to stay again on our drive to FL and are glad we did! We were again upgraded to the same spacious, comfortable suite, with a pullout couch for the children and two televisions. The bedding was the cleanest and most comfortable I've ever encountered in a hotel, and I've stayed in some of the finest. The staff at the front desk, bell stand, and restaurant were without exception cheerful, charming and efficient; the restaurant's buffet breakfast was a great value, elegantly displayed, and lacked nothing. The best part of all was the indoor lobby pool, which was ultra clean and heated to a perfect temperature. We could enjoy drinks from the adjacent bar while watching our children swim. Savannah's historic Riverwalk is located directly beyond the lobby, with terrific restaurants in walking distance. We loved the hotel so much that we've changed our return travel plans to allow for another night there next week, and are planning to spend a full week's vacation in Savannah at the Marriot next year. You know how some hotels have an overall "feel-good" atmosphere? This is one of them. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2004, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NYCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2004

I visited Savannah for Memorial Day this year and spent 2 nights at the Savannah Marriott Riverfront. The room was what you would expect of a Marriott and the staff was very friendly though we had a little difficulty getting strong restaurant recommendations from the concierge. The pool is in the middle of the common area on the main floor which I thought was a little weird. The location was good, though not particularly scenic--the riverview was slightly more industrial than pastoral. Nonetheless, the hotel is just a short walk from many restaurants along the river. There were also street vendors along the way. The Hyatt (I think it was the Hyatt...) was definitley in the middle of things more than the Marriott was. However, the walk to/from the restaurant area was nice (in spite of the humidity!)...especially at night. We actually didn't move the car at all--except for a day trip to St. Simon's Island (definitely recommend that). Overall, I would recommend this hotel though I'm sure it's not quite as charming as some B&Bs you may find in Savannah. However, it is nice and clean and the staff provides good service overall.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goheels98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Marriott Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Property: Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401-2900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Marriott Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah's only full service Marriott on the historic Riverfront. Stroll along Savannah's famous River Street - conveniently connected via the Marriott Riverwalk. Easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment. Relax on the beach at Tybee Island, or spend the day exploring historic downtown Savannah. 11.2 miles to Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Savannah Marriott Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing