We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Ranked #47 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved the location!”
Reviewed October 12, 2004

My sisters and I took our Mom to Savannah for a 2 night stay at the Riverfront Marriott. We had a great time visiting all the antique shops, restaurants and very importantly coming back to a safe,beautiful and comfortable hotel! I'm looking forward to a return visit with my husband!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    576
    365
    175
    113
See reviews for
403
591
41
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 11, 2004

We stayed here on our way to Florida for just one night. The room was okay. The shower and tub could have been cleaner. Nothing really spectacular about this hotel. Except it is on the river. The hotel pool inside smelled so strongly of chlorine. Downtown Savannah was fantastic. It was our first time and it was very charming and historic. But we would most likely pick a different hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2004

We stayed at this hotel in April with our two children on our way to FL and were upgraded, no charge, to a suite. It was so pleasant that this past week, we chose to go out of our way to stay again on our drive to FL and are glad we did! We were again upgraded to the same spacious, comfortable suite, with a pullout couch for the children and two televisions. The bedding was the cleanest and most comfortable I've ever encountered in a hotel, and I've stayed in some of the finest. The staff at the front desk, bell stand, and restaurant were without exception cheerful, charming and efficient; the restaurant's buffet breakfast was a great value, elegantly displayed, and lacked nothing. The best part of all was the indoor lobby pool, which was ultra clean and heated to a perfect temperature. We could enjoy drinks from the adjacent bar while watching our children swim. Savannah's historic Riverwalk is located directly beyond the lobby, with terrific restaurants in walking distance. We loved the hotel so much that we've changed our return travel plans to allow for another night there next week, and are planning to spend a full week's vacation in Savannah at the Marriot next year. You know how some hotels have an overall "feel-good" atmosphere? This is one of them. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NYCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2004

I visited Savannah for Memorial Day this year and spent 2 nights at the Savannah Marriott Riverfront. The room was what you would expect of a Marriott and the staff was very friendly though we had a little difficulty getting strong restaurant recommendations from the concierge. The pool is in the middle of the common area on the main floor which I thought was a little weird. The location was good, though not particularly scenic--the riverview was slightly more industrial than pastoral. Nonetheless, the hotel is just a short walk from many restaurants along the river. There were also street vendors along the way. The Hyatt (I think it was the Hyatt...) was definitley in the middle of things more than the Marriott was. However, the walk to/from the restaurant area was nice (in spite of the humidity!)...especially at night. We actually didn't move the car at all--except for a day trip to St. Simon's Island (definitely recommend that). Overall, I would recommend this hotel though I'm sure it's not quite as charming as some B&Bs you may find in Savannah. However, it is nice and clean and the staff provides good service overall.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goheels98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 12, 2004

When I called to make the reservation, they up-graded my room to a River View without charge when they found out I was a Marriott Rewards member. Hotel staff was very gracious. The concierge gave us several excellent suggestions for dinner. In the lobby there were chairs to sit and watch the tanker ships go by.
From the hotel, it was a very short walk along the Savannah River over to Old Town where there were many shops and restaurants.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2004

My wife and I stayed here for only one night. We were promised a river view room. We did not get one. The staff was friendly but not as helpful as some other Marriotts. Next time we will stay in a "period" hotel or bed and breakfast. This hotel is nice but didn't have much character. Our kids would have loved the pool.

Helpful?
4 Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 27, 2004

We stayed a week at the Marriott Riverfront. The staff was friendly to a fault, and the hotel was very clean and superbly maintained. Great view of the city and river. On the negative side the mattresses were oversoft. Adjacent construction (in March 2004) was both noisy and necessitated an inconvenient auto detour. Don't pay retail. We bid $135/night thru Priceline at a time when the "discounted" price was $230.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Marriott Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Property: Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401-2900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Marriott Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah's only full service Marriott on the historic Riverfront. Stroll along Savannah's famous River Street - conveniently connected via the Marriott Riverwalk. Easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment. Relax on the beach at Tybee Island, or spend the day exploring historic downtown Savannah. 11.2 miles to Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Savannah Marriott Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing