We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff makes it worth staying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Ranked #46 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed October 18, 2008

I have to agree with the previous poster it is not your typical Marriott quality. Marriott is one of the two hotel chains i do try to stay at, but this one was not up to what I expect from a Marriott. With a few repairs this could be a very nice place. The lobby roof leaked and there were buckets all around. My friends' room leaked as well and they had to be moved mid stay to another room. The bathrooms could use a face lift & some new furnishings. I did not like the location of the indoor pool and did not use it for that reason. But the Staff makes this a places worth staying. Everyone has a smile and treats you so kind and goes out of their way to be helpful. I can not say enough good about their staff. The beds were very comfortable. And I did like the location. It was within walking distance to River Street without being right in the middle of the crowds.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MMtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,910)
There are newer reviews for Savannah Marriott Riverfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,817 - 1,823 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2008

The room was sub-par. If you are looking for the typical Marriott quality, this is not it. The rooms had the feel of Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn. They were just old, dated and bland. The beds were comfortable. We could have stayed at the Holiday Inn and had a better location and price. It's definitely a room you want to leave. We were shocked.

The common areas of the hotel were nice. The front desk manager needs some training. We had a situation detailed below.

Upon early arrival, we checked our bags with the bellboy and made our way to River Street for lunch and shopping. We arrived back 4 hours later to find our luggage and valuables still sitting in the lobby, unattended and not locked up as we were told. When we checked in, we mentioned this, just to let them know, (we weren't expecting any favors) and all seemed fine. We then received a nasty call from the front desk manager and we had to explain, "we aren't mad, we were just disappointed and surprised". This person was exptremely rude. Thankfully, the valet captain, came to our room and was extremely pleasant. It didn't have to be a situation, yet the rudeness of the front desk manager turned it into one.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kwilger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

The best thing about this hotel is the location right on the river front. It's a short walk from the historic district and shops. We've always gotten decent food and good, friendly service in the dining venues - we've stayed there a few times.

The location is unbeatable for a July 4 trip - you can sit on a balcony, or the hotel's patio, and watch the fireworks.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingCarolinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

I stayed 3 nights at a conference. The hotel is a little removed from the center of town but in easy walking distance. However, the halls smelled moldy and my room smelled very damp. Housekeeping threw out my medication, only styrofoam cups are provided for coffee in the room, space for the mini bar was empty, there was no remote for the TV, and I was double charged for parking. Each day there were about 3 toilets in the lobby women's room that were completely out of toilet paper. There were two conventions in the hotel so these bathrooms were used heavily. A minor annoyance is that the hotel has a contract with Pepsi so only Pepsi products are offered. A gin and tonic cost me $12.00 ($14 with tip). The staff was very friendly at all times and the hotel has a great view of the river. Next time, though, I'll look for another hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank seeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Enjoyed our stay at the Marriott Riverfront, no real issues. A little removed from the downtown, restored areas but that's easily overcome with the river walk back and forth to the Hotel. The riverfront rooms offer a terrific view of the Savannah River and all the activity taking place on the River. Suggest high-level, riverfront rooms, if at all possible.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We stayed at the Marriott on two separate nights (Sep 18 and Sep 21) during a recent getaway to Savannah/Dafuskie Island. The hotel was very nice, with a great location right at the end of River Street. It worked out well for us because the Dafuskie Island Ferry was a short walk from the hotel so we did not need a cab to get to the Ferry.

We had similar rooms for both nights, on the 5th and 6th floors with balconies overlooking the river. The rooms were very nice, nothing super fancy, but comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, quite and good climate control.

We did not eat at the hotel, but recommend the following local places we did eat at:

Savannah Shrimp Company on River Street, touristy, but not bad, I had the fried shrip and it was really good.

The Lady and Sons, of course, show up at 9:30am to get a reservation for later in the day. It was actually really good, I got the lunch buffet with lots of yummy stuff and my wife got a big salad that she really liked.

Bistro-Savannah, on West Congress Street. This was probably the best we had is Savannah. I had the Wild Alaskan Salmon and my wife had the Mushroom Gnocce and we both really enjoyed it.

As for site seeing we took an Architectural Tour which was awesome. Check out http://www.architecturalsavannah.com/ for details. The tour was 90 minutes and really gave you great feeling for the history and architecture of Savannah.h

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BK_Travel_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Nice and comfortable hotel, I stayed in April 2008. Had no problem, the room was big and clean. Nice staff. Restaurant was nice with view of the river. Room service was always on time. The trolley tour was near hotel, very convenient.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank dvnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,944 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 114 in Savannah
1,327 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Marriott Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $201 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Marriott Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Marriott Riverfront is a full-service hotel in Savannah, Georgia located directly on the historic Riverfront. Stroll along Savannah's famous River Street steps from our hotel and conveniently connected to us via the Marriott Riverwalk. Enjoy easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment at our hotel. Relax on the beach at nearby Tybee Island, or spend the day exploring historic downtown Savannah. 11.2 miles to Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Savannah Marriott Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing