We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Can't wait to stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Ranked #45 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a splendid time at this hotel. It is a great location to walk to downtown and to the entire riverfront. The room we stayed in was immaculate and the rest of the hotel was in great condition. I am actually shocked about some of the other reviews. I have also stayed in Marriott brand hotels all over the world and the country. This one was just what I expected in terms of a high quality stay. The bellmen were attentive and the front desk staff was delightful. Amber was welcoming and warm and really started our stay off right. I would absolutely stay again.

I did get a great last minute rate, so that was nice. The only negatives were that, unsurprisingly, the bar drinks were pricey and you pay to park. This is typical for any downtown hotel in any city. Also, if we weren't rewards members the internet would have cost $13 which is kind of silly. Otherwise, I can't think of any reason not to recommend this hotel. I went with my husband for this trip, but I would stay here with the kiddos too.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view if you can. It is really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meggy1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

It was wonderful to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us!

Our unique riverfront hotel offers easy access to world famous River Street with restaurants and shops, as well as historic downtown Savannah. It is always a pleasure to hear that people take advantage of the things our beautiful city has to offer.

Amber is constantly being mentioned for her warmth and friendliness and I will pass on your compliment to her and her supervisor. In addition, our bellstand associates and front desk staff are known for welcoming guests with true southern hospitality.

Thank you for your comments about the parking and internet. All guest input is useful so we can determine better ways to serve.

Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott. We look forward to your return and hope you will bring your children. Having an indoor and outdoor pool makes for swimming year round!

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,315 - 1,321 of 1,918 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have been to many Marriott Hotels around the world and this one has to be one of the most disappointing ones. Where do I start? This hotel is on the outer parts of downtown Savannah. It’s not that long of walk or ferry ride to the middle of downtown but the experience and atmosphere of downtown Savannah is not the same staying here. They also charge $19 a day for self-parking, the same price as some of the hotels in the heart of downtown. There is a public 24/7 parking lot right next to the hotel (front river side) that has parking for at least half the price. This may be beneficial if you are just parking your car for your entire stay. Also, the exit out of the hotel is not manned most of the time and the gate is left open (my room overlooked the exit). The three days we were there they had someone at the exit gate for a few hours one day checking cars. I’m not saying more but hopefully you get the idea!
Ok, now for the hotel and room. Everything seems so outdated, dirty and scratched up. I think everything has that dirty-old look because things have never been updated. Around the elevators on each floor needs some TLC. In the rooms the only thing they updated is to go to flat screen TV’s but they have them in the old entertainment centers that had the BIG old TV’s. The air condition system in each room is very loud and noisy. We had to turn it off at nights to sleep. The paint on the wall was bubbling and coming off all around the intake of the air unit. They place a lot of things on the desk in the room and leave a very small area to work. I had to remove all the things to get the desk space I needed. There was just one usable power plug at the desk.
The concierge room on the 8th floor is very small, gets crowded very fast. There is no seating at times.
The worst thing was the bathroom in our room. It had small mold spots on the walls/ceiling and had a bad locker room type smell to it. There was not much room around the sink. We had to keep some of our toiletry items on the floor. The toilet paper holder was about to fall off the wall.
So you are getting the picture that this place it not a good representation of a Marriott Hotel. If you get a great deal to stay at this hotel then do it BUT if you get a price comparable to the hotels in the heart of downtown stay there.

Room Tip: There is parking 1/2 the price next to the hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AudioTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We sincerely appreciate when our guests take time to let us know about their visits.

It is through comments such as yours that we can address and resolve issues. We strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction and it seems we fell short during your stay.

Your feedback is very important and we certainly hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you Marriott at its finest.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a quick overnight meeting. The location of this hotel is very nice. Rooms are a bit dated and could have been a bit more tidy. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Was given an upgrade to a suite just by asking. Would recommend for a visit to Savannah

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psinha34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!

Our hotel is located right on the Savannah River and connected to Historic River Street via our river walk so we are a prime location for business travelers and families alike.

We try to provide excellent customer service and appreciate your comments about your guest room and upgrade to a suite by our friendly staff.

We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Me and my family had a nice time at this hotel. We booked 2 rooms and both had water views with balconies in a great location. This is a large hotel with plenty of sitting areas in hotel and outside on terrace. This hotel is pricey with $19 a day for parking (it's not secured parking, anyone off the streets could park there), $13 for WIFI and Internet and $50 a day for hotel incidentals, so if your on a budget this hotel is not for you. Breakfast is not free at this hotel, which we had the buffet everyday that cost $16 at the Blue Restaurant located on the second floor. The breakfast was good, but a little cold, needs better heating devices for food. Online it shows they have a whirlpool, which was one of the reasons I chose this hotel, but when I got there, it was filled with dirt and plants were in it. Overall enjoyed the trip, but wish Marriott could take in consideration of giving something free to there customers, because people are on a budget and will choose price over luxury.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a outside view or a room with two double bed pay $30 extra, if not you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roxane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

It is wonderful to hear when guests have a nice time at our hotel. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your riverfront rooms.

Also, thank you for your comments about the breakfast buffet. The Chef is now aware of the insufficient heating equipment, so that in the future, not only will the food taste good, but be warm as well.

I apologize for your disappointment in not having a whirlpool to enjoy. Our advertising is currently being updated.

We appreciate Input from our guests. Marriott is constantly trying to improve and enhance guest satisfaction.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a great hotel for the value. It is located right on the river front & a short walk from most restaurants. The rooms are clean and spacious. The service is excellent. The only drawback is the parking fee.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Service at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

It is always a pleasure to hear that someone had such a wonderful experience at our hotel!

We take great pride in our staff and our service. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction and except for the parking fee, you seemed very pleased with your stay.

Thank you for letting us know that our rooms were comfortable and you enjoyed the incredible riverfront view from your balcony.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was leaking water from the ceiling everywhere on the 8th floor. When you pay over 200.00 a night with a discount you should not have to pay to park also, 19.00 a day. In the booklet describing amenities it gives times whirlpool is open when we went to enjoy this we were told they don't have one the clerk says yeah everyone is kinda disappointed when we tell them so this is not a recent change. The amenities, breakfast and dessert bar for the guest on the 8th floor are not open on Fri. afternoon, Sat., and Sun. The pullout sofa bed mattress was about 2 inches thick I actually slept on the couch cushions on the floor and left earlier then planned. And the decor looked old. As you can tell by this review I will NOT be returning.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pugsrjkak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent visit.

It seems that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, nor did we fulfill our commitment to 100% guest satisfaction.

By providing us with feedback, you let us know what our property reveals from a guest's point of view and that is vital so that we can provide all guests with a memorable and enjoyable stay.

We welcome the opportunity to have you return to our hotel so we can show our dedication to the level of service you expect from Marriott.

Thank you again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed our stay! Great View and very convenient to shops and restaurants. Staff was vey friendly and the place was clean. Two disappointing items, $19 a day to park AND $13 a day for WIFI. That's steep. A place like this should at least be able to provide Internet Service especially to Marriot Reward Members. No Fridge in the rooms either, but we found out after we had been there a few days, we could have asked for one and they would have provided it. Would have been nice to know this upfront. Overall we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suejohn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Savannah Marriott Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. It is our goal to have each and every guest have a wonderful experience from beginning to end.

Thank you also for your remarks about our staff and location. We receive many compliments about our friendly staff and the convenience our riverfront hotel provides to so many attractions.

We do offer complimentary refrigerators to our guests as well as complimentary internet in our hotel lobby. We strive to accommodate all guest requests, so please do not hesitate to let us know what we can do for you if we have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,992 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#23 of 114 in Savannah
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 114 in Savannah
1,127 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Marriott Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $194 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Marriott Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Marriott Riverfront is a full-service hotel in Savannah, Georgia located directly on the historic Riverfront. Stroll along Savannah's famous River Street steps from our hotel and conveniently connected to us via the Marriott Riverwalk. Enjoy easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment at our hotel. Relax on the beach at nearby Tybee Island, or spend the day exploring historic downtown Savannah. 11.2 miles to Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Savannah Marriott Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing