We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“how bad can it get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Ranked #45 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed July 16, 2013

we stayed at this hotel 7-15-13 this was the worst place to pick, the room was awful we didn't even have a fitted sheet on the bed they had two flats on their and it was to small to tuck, we had a half of tv cabinet the furniture was old as dirt, it had to there since they built they is good for having meeting but don't stay there. it might be in a good location but you also want to lay down in a nice clean place they think location is everything the pillows was dirty and the bed skirt had a big stain on it I don't know what the 8th floor and above was like because you had to hav a special key to get up their but I do know that below the 8th need to be torn down brick by brick

Room Tip: if you cant afford the hyatt stay home
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've always wanted to go to Savannah so I took my wife for her birthday in April. Savannah is rich in culture and history. We sent hours walking around exploring for 3 days and eating at the greatest places --- we had an awesome time.

Marriott Riverfront was in our opinion is in a great location and had the best/friendly staff. We liked being close to the action but not too close. When they found out we were here for her birthday they gave us an upgraded room overlooking the river. The ships moving slowly by as we had a beer on balcony was amazing in itself!

Savannah is truly southern hospitality at its finest!

Room Tip: Riverview is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HockeyAJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

From reading some of the reviews it looks like this place could be hit or miss. For me it was definitely more of a hit. It's a modern-looking building right on the busy working river - the first time I saw a container ship go by it was quite a surprise and a little bit awesome...

My room was clean with a small balcony overlooking the atrium. I was there for a conference and I would say that this is a great hotel for a small conference with the one problem being slow or sometimes non-existent WiFi around the lobby.

As others have mentioned this is not as central to the more historic parts of Savannah but I still enjoyed great food at nearby restaurants within walking distance. I did not try the pool or the gym but they seemed to be reasonable - it is a little odd that the pool is in the atrium right near the lobby but there was a wall around it that separates it a little.

Excellent hospitality from every employee I met. Good business hotel.

Room Tip: I liked my room overlooking the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Staying here one night July 12-13. The parking is expensive, yet understandable. It is a good location on the water. The room is dirty. There were dirty pillows, dirty water bottles, hair in the sink, and overall the room smells like sour milk. Also there is no refrigerator even though there is clearly a spot for one. I called the front desk and they said they are all out. I informed them I really need one for medicine and they said I can leave my medicine down there in their fridge if I need. Uh... no thanks. There should be a fridge in every room, or what is the point of saving space in the room for one. Ridiculous. We went to their main hotel restaurant for dinner because we were starving... BIG MISTAKE. We were greeted promptly by a very nice server. There were two tables of families, a table with one man, and us. That was it in the entire restaurant. This was fine with us, we expected prompt service since there were max EIGHT people in this enormous restaurant. This was not the case. First of all, the glasses in the restaurant are filthy. We had to ask for replacements and were leery even after they were replaced. Then we placed our order: a grilled chicken sandwich and a turkey sandwich. Twenty-five minutes later our server stopped by to let us know that our meal is taking so long because they were still cooking my chicken. Thirty-five minutes after we originally were seated, we still did not receive our meals. We weren't even offered bread! We got up and left. Granted, the server was very nice, but still... thirty-five minutes for two sandwiches? I'm sorry but that's ridiculous.

I frequent Marriotts and rely on the brand for a pleasant stay. I have NEVER been this disappointed in a Marriott. Besides for the location on the water, it is not worth a second glance. Go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Or if you must stay here ask for a room with a river view... but really go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The parking is on the bottom floor but registration is one level up, so a little difficult to check in. Other than that, the hotel is in a good location on the river, we were upgraded to a suite, the front desk was helpful, and also although the business center's printer didn't initially work, an engineer came quickly and fixed it. Finally, walking distance to riverfront activities where you can eat, shop for souviners, and also get on tours.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesthetraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was a quick stop over stay for traveling from NC to Florida. Choose this hotel as we usually stay in Marriotts - however, this was not the best choice. The hotel is on the river, but a bit farther down from the historical area. We asked for a room on the river - but it is definitely not worth the price. Really not much to see - a regular room would have been just as good. The hotel is not kept up as I would have expected it to be - crackers in elevators - scuff marks on walls. Room was large and bed was comfortable, however we had 3 pillows on the bed that were so thin and old. We did not ask for more (our fault) but it was late when we realized the situation. I am not usually one to complain - but this was not up to the standard that I would have expected. Next time, we will stay in a different hotel in Savannah.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for river front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We are loyal Marriott customers and were upgraded to an upper floor balcony room. We particularly liked the location...close enough to walk to River Street and surrounding areas, yet right on the river, with a fabulous patio on the river, great for having morning coffee and watching the freighters, or an evening cocktail and seeing the town's lights. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MItraveler49346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 115 in Savannah
3,052 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,137 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Marriott Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $194 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Marriott Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Marriott Riverfront is a full-service hotel in Savannah, Georgia located directly on the historic Riverfront. Stroll along Savannah's famous River Street steps from our hotel and conveniently connected to us via the Marriott Riverwalk. Enjoy easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment at our hotel. Relax on the beach at nearby Tybee Island, or spend the day exploring historic downtown Savannah. 11.2 miles to Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Savannah Marriott Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing