We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice and very good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Ranked #44 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice and very good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The rooms are a bit tired, I should specifiy bathrooms are really tired, rooms are fine but if you have on above the bar area of on the third floor bring a sound machine. It's LOUD! Service is friendly and attentive. Food is good and location terrific. Nice choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triptroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    535
    328
    154
    97
See reviews for
373
536
39
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I came to savannah for a conference that was being held in this building. All the attendees were in the hospitality industry ourselves. Someone should have warned the hotel staff! I understand check-in is 4 pm, but the other 2 people in my party checked in when they arrived 4 hours early. I had to give the lady my cell and she said she would call me when the room was ready, shortly... I checked back an hour later, still nothing and treated me rudely. They didn't even offer to hold my luggage so I could walk around or go get lunch. Finally, after tiring in the lobby for 3 hours, it was 4 pm. So I went to the desk and they gave me my key, don't know how long the room had been ready but I never got a call. The room faced the atrium. It was extremely noisy. All the bar crowd sounds echoed right up and kept me awake. I wouldn't suggest an atrium room if you are a light sleeper. As for the conference facility, the Internet access was very poor. Couldn't handle a large crowd. I asked for a late checkout, but they just said no right away without really checking. again, they didn't offer to store my luggage. Also, at the end of my stay, I reviewed my bill to find I had been charged for 2 nights of parking. But I flew and took a taxi, so that was wrong. They did remove it. As for the location, it was pretty good. On the outskirts of town, but within walking distance. If I was to return to savannah, I would stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: 710 very noisy facing the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. I think that the rooms were nice. Although, it would be great to have a sound maker!

I was disappointed with the restaurant, Blue. The server didnt seem interested at all in us. However, the service at the Atrium Bar made up for any bad feelings!

Carlos and his staff of Aaron, Malissa and Ivan were AMAZING! I was very impressed that they remembered us and were beyond friendly even though they were working later than normal for the conference. They are the perfect example of what customer service should look like!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHA_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We like Marriott hotels and stay in them when we can. This property is well run and provides the amenities that we expect. It sits right next to the river in town and you can be surprised as we were to look out our sixth floor window and see a large container ship going by with the captain at eye level. We recommend the river view rooms. The key advantage to this location is the stop for the on/off tour bus right in front and the ability to see many of the historic sights walking and or using the aforementioned tour bus.

Room Tip: Get the river view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We traveled to Savannah on our drive to Florida for something different and were pleasantly surprised! Loved the hotel and the view of the river, we actually sat outside one evening and just watched all of the river traffic go by, it was neat.

Also loved visiting the Savannah Candy Company!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N13S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed on the top floor which is a secured floor and usually has some benefits to it. I was a little disappointed because there was no refrigerator or really anything special. It was very clean and the staff was really nice. Everyone there was really on top of things. It is convient and a very short walk to anything on the river. Im mean within 4 to 5 minutes from your room. Parking is covered with your room and is added to it for about $19. Now I dont know what the rate for the regular rooms are, but including tax, our room was about $300 per night. Costly, yes, but you could get to anything by foot. Convinience in a place like Savannah cost a bit more than one might expect. A little planning and booking ahead of time probably would have helped. The have an indoor pool, a great restaurant, and a nice bar. Our room had a balcony to the interior of the hotel which was nice.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteamMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott Savannah Riverfront for a conference he was attending. I was prepared to dislike it, since I'm usually a small hotel kind of person. We'd been to Savannah in the past and loved it, but we'd stayed in smaller places. I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised. While the hotel is large, the employees make every guest feel welcome and special, right down to the guys who repair things. Not a single person failed to wish me a good day or to ask if there was anything they could do for me. The service in the restaurant and bar was also exemplary -- and while the full breakfast buffet is expensive ($15), the made-to-order omelets are terrific!

We drove and parked in their lot, which has a daily charge. At first, I was prepared to resent this, but we found it great to have the choice of covered or open parking and to be able to come and go without having to call (and tip) a valet. The daily charge protects your vehicle and assures you have a place to park. All parking areas seemed to have easy access to a hotel entrance.

We had a room with a balcony onto the inside atrium. I didn't find the atrium too hot and humid, as others complained of. I get claustrophobic in rooms with no outside windows, but that wasn't a problem at the Marriott. The whole wall of the room opening to the balcony was window and the atrium has an entire wall of glass directly onto the river, as well as a glass covered roof. There was ample natural light in our room, and walking onto the balcony got me a beautiful, protected view of the river and the ships traveling on it. It was cold and rainy part of the time we were there, so I actually appreciated the inside balcony.

The hotel is at the very end of Bay Street, where it turns into McIntosh, so it's a little walk to the historic district, but I have a bad knee and I'm over 65, and it wasn't a problem for me. And you get the beautiful river amid immaculately manicured grounds to enjoy while you're at the hotel.

The only thing I can fault this hotel for is the daily wifi charges. Since we were there for a conference, the charges were waived, but the everyday traveler has to pay each day. In this day and age, there's really no excuse for that.

Overall, the Marriott Riverfront won me over!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 stars 2,249 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Marriott Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Property: Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401-2900
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Marriott Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah's only full service Marriott on the historic Riverfront. Stroll along Savannah's famous River Street - conveniently connected via the Marriott Riverwalk. Easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment. Relax on the beach at Tybee Island, or spend the day exploring historic downtown Savannah. 11.2 miles to Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Savannah Marriott Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing