We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of place for historic riverfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savannah Marriott Riverfront
Ranked #44 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Pros - good location and able to walk around historic area. Free parking under hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean

Cons - hotel had no historical connection with savannah - your basic Marriott. Room climate control was a bit dated - switches and dial. Window have excessive condensation in between window panes.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank be r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,464 - 1,470 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

The front desk staff were excellent, housekeeping extremely responsive, but I'm not sure maintenance crews have been keeping the site up. Our room had issues with the toilet that you had to jiggle the handle to get it to stop running, and the latch on the bathroom door didn't always latch. It was really cold when we were there; the furnace made a loud clunking noise when it would kick in at night so it would wake me up. The bed had a generous amount of pillows, but was overly soft and had indentations that suggested it was old and worn. Neither myself nor my husband were able to get a good nights sleep either night we were here because of the soft, uneven bed and the noise of the heating system.

So it was a mixed bag - a very nicely appointed room, but what would seem easy maintenance issues not being addressed. I was attending a conference so the price and location were right, but I don't think I would stay here again on my own nickel.

Room Tip: Once we turned the heat off there was limited noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redwings63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have stayed in several properties in Savannah, my stay here was the most disappointing. Our room was above average with a "balcony" but housekeeping is awful. It's 230pm and no sign they are still on this floor. Okay location but you have a walk to any restaurants. Blue the restaurant on site was empty but service subpar . Food average. Concierge lounge is the worst I've seen ever. Dirty dishes overflowing dirty tables and no replenishment of items especially diet drinks and water. No hot water in the morning, unacceptable. If one attendant can't handle crowd, add another one. Morning lady much better than evening one, she kept telling one family oh you're back again, rude! I will be staying back at the Marshall House next time! Guess they gear their service to conventions and conferences.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great location directly on the river and adjacent to River Street. Hotel is clean, comfortable and the service is excellent. A shuttle picks you up in front and makes all the major stops in the historic districts. Your are only a short drive from the beach on Tybee Island.The only negative is the price of parking. $18 per day is excessive.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms allow you to see the passing ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawg099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a typical Marriott, without much character and with rather cold public spaces. The rooms are pleasant, the bed good quality and the location is convenient and in walking distance from the city's sites. On site dining options are limited and on the day we ate at the Blue restaurant the kitchen was backed up. Our waiter - Ivan- announced right from the start that we would have a long wait. We were glad he did; we asked for a basket of bread to hold us over which he promptly brought. Bell staff and front desk staff were friendly. It's the price charged for what you receive that makes for no more than an average rating. This is not a great value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveltroel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great location for all the action in Savannah! It was about a 5-7 minute walk to the Riverfront area! Bed was very comfortable. Balcony perfect for watching the ships coming into port. Exercise room was very accommodating and had every thing I needed. Every staff member I encountered was friendly and had a smile on his/her face. Linda was an awesome concierge! She's a transplant and knows so much about this city!

Only negative is that you have to pay for WiFi.

If I ever come back, this will be the only place I stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHeels24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This trip to Savannah was a last minute vacation. Honestly I originally intended a more historic location to stay, but relied on an experience with newer amenities. Very happy with the choice. From the bellman, Romaine, at the door greeting with a smile, to check-in with Vanessa making you feel welcome. Things are looking good. The room, though an interior room with balcony over the atrium, there still was a fascinating view of the river. I will return to this fascinating city and most assuredly return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbsolutKamikasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 116 in Savannah
3,148 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Marriott Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Marriott Riverfront

Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $174 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Marriott Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Marriott Riverfront is a full-service hotel in Savannah, Georgia located directly on the historic Riverfront. Stroll along Savannah's famous River Street steps from our hotel and conveniently connected to us via the Marriott Riverwalk. Enjoy easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment at our hotel. Relax on the beach at nearby Tybee Island, or spend the day exploring historic downtown Savannah. 11.2 miles to Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Savannah Marriott Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing