We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of River Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Street Inn
Ranked #25 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2005

Arrived with confirmation in hand for river view with balcony. Was given a room with river view but no balcony. When we went back to the desk, we were treated rudely and were told that we were lucky because the person behind us had been sent away because they were overbooked. At 9pm at night there wasn't anything we could do. The room was hot and there was not any hot water. The bathroom and room floor was filthy. Would not return again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    371
    136
    99
    66
See reviews for
190
671
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2005

Room was not cleaned properly each day and the bathroom door was absolutely filthy. Toiletries and coffee were not re-stocked after use each day. Turn down service consisted of two pieces of candy thrown on the bed (no formal turn down ever happened) and only took place 2 of the four nights of our stay. Corner room that we occupied was extremely warm the entire time, despite the thermostat being set on 59 degrees (lowest setting). We had to request that the curtains remained closed at all times to keep out the sun and prevent further heating of the room. Lighting was poor and bulbs were out in 1 of 2 lamps. Parking is across the street and down the block (at a rate of $6.00 per day!), with no valet service available. Elevator to access River Street was constantly broken with no efforts to repair during our 4-day stay, requiring all guests to walk up and down stairs the entire fully occupied weekend. Staff was unprofessional and unfriendly, not assistive in the slightest. Finally, discovered that a phone charger was left in the room approximately 1 hour after departing. Contacted the front desk immediately to inform and was told that it would be Fed Exed at the overnight rate, and charged to our credit card. Attempted several times to contact back to confirm that the charger had been found and received no assistance from either front desk or manager ("Very busy" they reported). Finally spoke to manager approximately 1 week later and was informed that all chargers are in a big box and we could come and find the one we needed, but there was no way it could be identified or shipped otherwise. While I'd return to Savannah, I'd not stay at this establishment, nor would I recommend it to others. Way too many other very nice and more affordable accommodations in the area in which is the service is more consistent and reliable.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

We booked our room for the fourth of July online, and asked for a riverview room with a balcony. When we got there, we had a riverview room, but no balcony. They did fix this, but we received none of the promised turndown service or chocolates on the pillow. This may sound like a dumb thing to complain about, but it's not like we asked for them - they were advertised! They said they were out of chocolates, but the most famous candymaker in Savannah is a block away - come on!

The food service manager was WONDERFUL - he sent bottles of wine on ice to our room at no extra charge to make up for it. He truly made up for the less-than-friendly and unprofessional front desk staff.

After our stay, we received our credit card bill, which showed we had been charged twice for the room! We only live in Alabama - one hour behind Savannah - but when we called the hotel, we were told we had to call back at 11 PM, when the auditor was there! We did, he said he fixed it, but he didn't. We went through this process THREE times before the problem was handled.

I would recommend this hotel for the location, especially on the Fourth. If you have a balcony room on River Street on the Fourth of July, it's incredible! Beautiful fireworks display and a Mardi Gras-type of feel right underneath you. I don't recommend Huey's (restaurant in the hotel) - bad service and hair in my omelet! Tubby's on River Street is GREAT - very interesting people and wonderful oysters. We also went on a really cool ghost tour - a Savannah must. The drive to Tybee Island is worth it - just make sure the lighthouse is going to be open before you go. The Lady and Sons restaurant is a neat place, but get there EARLY!!!! The entire block was one massive line of people.

Don't waste time with Hilton Head unless you have reservations there and plan to stay. The roads that lead from Savannah to Hilton Head are full of trouble - lots of robberies - so drive during the day and make sure you have a dependable car.

We LOVE Savannah, and we will stay at the River Street Inn again (for location and view), but if service is an issue to you, there are numerous other incredible places to stay.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SafeTravelsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2005

We found the Inn's location to be the best asset. We did a number of guided tours and either out the front door of the lobby or down the elevator to River Street you could access these easily. The rooms show a bit of wear, but the river view is fantastic. The staff is less polished and less customer friendly than you would expect to see in similarly priced hotels and I wondered if there was on-site management. It just had the feel of a place were no one was watcing the store closely. We did like the easy access to the restaurants on River Street and had a very nice meal at Huey's. The parking was convenient (always a challenge in Savannah)

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tata4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2005

This is a lovely hotel--beautiful views, friendly and helpful staff, and right in the heart of all the fun things one comes to Savannah to experience. We are already planning our next trip!!! Dothan, Al

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Property: River Street Inn
Address: 124 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1202
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of cobble and ballast stones in 1817, as a cotton warehouse, our converted, historic hotel overlooks the Savannah River, right on River Street. Decorated with period furnishings, four poster beds, oriental rugs, hardwood floors and exposed brick walls, maintaining its historic charm. Located just two blocks from The Olde Pink House and Broughton Street shopping district, cars aren't needed as all is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Street Savannah
River Street Hotel Savannah
River Street Inn Savannah Ga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing