We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Street Inn
Nearby Hotels
$175
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$157
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Central Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$141
$132
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The DeSoto(Savannah)
$199
$155
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$430
$230
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,492)
Filter reviews
1,492 results
Traveler rating
688
440
174
113
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
688
440
174
113
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver streetcotton warehousefront deskhistoric hotelfifth floora river view roomcotton exchangerocking chairscomplimentary winesmall balconyturn down servicefree happy hourparking garagefour poster bedhardwood floorsperfect locationcontainer ships
Filter
Updating list...
905 - 910 of 1,492 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Wonderful location and quiet. Very very very annoying, slow, or unavailable internet in our room. Beds and pillows not as comfortable as hoped for. Otherwise, service was excellent and the restaurant downstairs was great, with a view of the river.

Room Tip: Find out if there is better internet connection in other rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were in town during the weekend of 5/2 and the Seafood Festival. I had done my research on-line and knew that Savannah was a pricey town for hotels so I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and reviewed the pricing of the hotel options. I decided to select the River Street Inn based upon the location to the river area, the reviews and the pricing.
CHECK IN -
The greeting we received at the River Street Inn was warm and welcoming! The check-in process was a breeze and within minutes we were be escorted to our 4th floor room overlooking the river. Wow, what a fantastic view!!
PARKING -
This is the biggest problem that you will hit while visiting the city. We asked at the front desk about the parking options and they were extremely helpful! It was just about 4:30 pm so we were told to try to find a parking spot along E Bay Street as they only issue tickets up until 5 pm on Friday and the rest of the weekend you would not have to pay to park. We drove around the block and found a spot just steps away from the River Street Inn and paid a minimal parking fee to get us past 5 pm. We didn't have another worry regarding the parking.
THE ROOM -
The decor in the room is older but very charming. The entrance area near the bathroom has wooden floors with wallpaper and then near the beds there is carpeting. There was also a sitting area with two chairs near the window. Each room is provided with a wooden box that contains a coffee machine, coffee, tea, sugar and creamer etc... There is also an umbrella stand with an umbrella in the room which was a nice touch since there were a few showers over the weekend. In the closet there was a luggage stand and two bath robes. The bed was very comfortable and we got a good nights sleep.
RECEPTION -
At 5 pm, the hotel offers a reception on the 2nd floor with wine, cheese and other finger foods. They have both an indoor & outdoor seating area and this is all included in the price of the room. This was a really nice touch and to be steps away from the action was even better.
FIREWORKS -
It was actually getting a little chilly outside so we opted to go back to our room and we were able to watch the fireworks from our room.
We absolutely loved our stay at the River Street Inn and would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a clean room without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river as the view is fantastic!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sueme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is a re-purposing of some old warehouses on the river front - 5 floors, the lowest opening to the north onto River Street (essentially a pedestrian walkway), and the 4th floor opening to the south onto Bay St. It is not the hotel's fault that their street address is not their lobby address (Do NOT put their River St address in your GPS!) But it is very confusing, and it IS their fault that their website instructs you to look for a teal awning, and in fact it is hunter green, and old and discolored. (Should have used Sunbrella awning!) Also, this hotel was created by combining several different structures on different levels, which makes finding your way around the hotel quite a challenge. The elevators do not all go to all floors, and it is not clearly marked. This place needs better signage. On the plus side, our room was large, well appointed, with a nice view of the river and a nice bathroom - and there is a complimentary wine and cheese in the lounge at 5:00 (if you can find the lounge!) but I'm not sure those things make up for the frustrations of the difficulty in finding the check in for this place, and the poor service at the front desk. The employees seemed to like to stay in their little office and were irritated at having to come out and actually talk to the guests- and they gave us bad information too. There is a Hampton Inn across the street which will not have the same view, but it might be a better value....

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank CarolinaRoadTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights. Stayed in a balcony room with a view of the river. We found the location to be perfect! You can hear music from the street down below, but we never heard it going on past 11:00pm. You can hear people in the hallways. The beds were comfortable. My only complaint here is that we paid $229 per night and the pillows were VERY thin. Had to use 3 pillows just to equal one pillow. I think they could spring for better pillows at that price. We did not partake in the complimentary drinks/snacks during the evening, so can't comment on that. The hotel staff we encountered was very friendly. Parking was hit and miss. We highly recommend getting a parking pass at the Visitor Center!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The River Street Inn is simply a charming and lovely Southern hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and extremely comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious. Be sure and ask for a river side room with a veranda - it will feel as though the ships coming and going are within reaching distance. You can watch the activities on historic River Street from your veranda. The hotel hosts a cocktail hour daily from 5 to 6:30 pm with complimentary wine, beer and appetizers. The location could not be better and it is near many excellent restaurants. There is a very nice coffee and tea service in the rooms, and nightly turn-down service. We will certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side with a veranda. The veranda is small but offers wonderful views and people watching.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grayhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews