We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Street Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
East Bay Inn(Savannah)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Planters Inn(Savannah)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Savannah(Savannah)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,473)
Filter reviews
1,473 results
Traveler rating
679
438
171
110
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
438
171
110
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver streetcotton warehousefront deskhistoric hotelfifth floora river view roomcotton exchangerocking chairscomplimentary winesmall balconyturn down servicefree happy hourparking garagefour poster bedhardwood floorsperfect locationcontainer ships
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,006 - 1,011 of 1,473 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very neat and unusual old hotel. It is located in what once was a warehouse from about 1817. Cool furnishings, great view of the river from our room and comfortable bed. They have a happy hour for wine and snacks every evening - great way to start the evening and meet some interesting people. Very nice and helpful staff. Highly recommended as not just your usual hotel.
A little pricy and parking is a hassle but it puts you in walking distance to all the important points in Savannah.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the River Street Inn for our honeymoon in April 2012. I had previously been to Savannah for St. Patrick's Day festivities but my husband had never been. I decided the River Street Inn would be a great location to stay at.

First, advice for first-timers to the hotel: Do not listen to Google Maps and take River Street, but pull up to the Bay Street entrance. When we arrived, they had no more parking spots for the day so we ended up parking at a garage instead of trying to get up first thing in the morning to get a parking pass before everyone else.

The hotel is old, of course. The hotel itself is beautiful and interesting, especially the atrium and the hallways seem maze-like if you're used to chain hotels. Our room was large with a large King bed, and our floor was level with Bay Street so we were sure to keep the shutters and drapes closed for passersby. The room was clean, though one evening we came back and it smelled awful - like moldy food or something.. We called the front desk, left for awhile and came back and it was fine, but definitely weird! I'm not sure if they solved it or if it went away on its own. The hallways also smelled oddly like melted wax, not terrible but definitely strange.

As for location, this hotel is perfect if you are spending time on River Street. We actually found ourselves wandering more into town (we walked everywhere, or took a pedicab) and for that reason I wish we'd stayed a few blocks South to be closer to the markets and shopping and parks. The outside of the hotel is beautiful though, with a lot of history and interesting walkways.

Overall, we did enjoy our hotel and are glad we stayed there for the history and experience; however, next time we will probably stay at a newer hotel a few blocks south, to better fit our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akboeckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Almost all negative reviews of this place are absolutely correct. Parking is crazy, weekends are loud due to the location, the elevator is moody, the locks are funny and/or you have to wrestle with the doors to your room on occasion. Also, it's not a chain, so those of you who are used to staying with the name places probably won't like this place much.

HOWEVER, if you are the adventurous sort and find "quirky" interesting, this place is for you. It's sits in the center of all the action, it has a wine reception in the evening, the beds are great, our room was the size of a small house and the staff is friendly. My wife, a very fussy person, called it "cute". I recommend this hotel and will go back on my next trip.

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the river, but prepare for a little bit of noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlivesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The keys to our room were a HUGE hassel. They never worked. Once we almost missed an event we had previously scheduled. We waited 30 minutes for a maintenance person to come open the door twice! The front desk said this was normal! I was extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tennesse222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is an unusual place to for sure. The lobby is on the 4th floor (Bay Street) and the building goes on down to River Street. We had a comfortable room facing the Savanna River. Decor is slanted toward the 1800's. If you wish, you can look out your window and watch the container ships go in and out of the harbor all day.The staff is very attentive and helpful. They offer a wine and cheese reception every day. Parking is at a city garage across the street. There is no restaurant in the hotel but you are right in the middle of everything so meals are not a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews