We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Stayed Here for Our Honeymoon”
Review of River Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Street Inn
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the River Street Inn for our honeymoon in April 2012. I had previously been to Savannah for St. Patrick's Day festivities but my husband had never been. I decided the River Street Inn would be a great location to stay at.

First, advice for first-timers to the hotel: Do not listen to Google Maps and take River Street, but pull up to the Bay Street entrance. When we arrived, they had no more parking spots for the day so we ended up parking at a garage instead of trying to get up first thing in the morning to get a parking pass before everyone else.

The hotel is old, of course. The hotel itself is beautiful and interesting, especially the atrium and the hallways seem maze-like if you're used to chain hotels. Our room was large with a large King bed, and our floor was level with Bay Street so we were sure to keep the shutters and drapes closed for passersby. The room was clean, though one evening we came back and it smelled awful - like moldy food or something.. We called the front desk, left for awhile and came back and it was fine, but definitely weird! I'm not sure if they solved it or if it went away on its own. The hallways also smelled oddly like melted wax, not terrible but definitely strange.

As for location, this hotel is perfect if you are spending time on River Street. We actually found ourselves wandering more into town (we walked everywhere, or took a pedicab) and for that reason I wish we'd stayed a few blocks South to be closer to the markets and shopping and parks. The outside of the hotel is beautiful though, with a lot of history and interesting walkways.

Overall, we did enjoy our hotel and are glad we stayed there for the history and experience; however, next time we will probably stay at a newer hotel a few blocks south, to better fit our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akboeckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,325)
There are newer reviews for River Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Almost all negative reviews of this place are absolutely correct. Parking is crazy, weekends are loud due to the location, the elevator is moody, the locks are funny and/or you have to wrestle with the doors to your room on occasion. Also, it's not a chain, so those of you who are used to staying with the name places probably won't like this place much.

HOWEVER, if you are the adventurous sort and find "quirky" interesting, this place is for you. It's sits in the center of all the action, it has a wine reception in the evening, the beds are great, our room was the size of a small house and the staff is friendly. My wife, a very fussy person, called it "cute". I recommend this hotel and will go back on my next trip.

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the river, but prepare for a little bit of noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlivesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The keys to our room were a HUGE hassel. They never worked. Once we almost missed an event we had previously scheduled. We waited 30 minutes for a maintenance person to come open the door twice! The front desk said this was normal! I was extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tennesse222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is an unusual place to for sure. The lobby is on the 4th floor (Bay Street) and the building goes on down to River Street. We had a comfortable room facing the Savanna River. Decor is slanted toward the 1800's. If you wish, you can look out your window and watch the container ships go in and out of the harbor all day.The staff is very attentive and helpful. They offer a wine and cheese reception every day. Parking is at a city garage across the street. There is no restaurant in the hotel but you are right in the middle of everything so meals are not a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Liked everything but looked for the rooftop access and never found it. It was noisier than the other places we stayed. Also didn't like the parking being away from the hotel. Other than that it was all great

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just came back from a weekend stay at the River Street Inn. This is our sixth time staying there when we visit Savannah. The staff is great especially the bartender, Jennifer! Love people watching on the porch with free wine and $2.00 beer. The rooms are beautiful and the location is great. You will not be disappointed with this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevandmare04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were visiting friends in the area and didn't want to impose on them so we stayed for a few days at the River Street Inn. Early April is a wonderful time to visit Savannah before the summer heat sets in and this place is a gem for so many reasons. The building was originally a cotton warehouse for the thriving river trade of the 19th c. All rooms have a view of the river and who would need a tv with such a display out the window -- everything from tourist boats to yachts to enormous cargo ships are a constant source of amusement. The hallways and rooms are furnished with antiques and period reproductions. The staff is friendly and very helpful when it comes to directing you to everything from eating to shopping to historic sites. Within minutes you can walk to anything and everything you need so don't even bother to bring or rent a car -- you'll pay to park it for the duration because you'll never need it, it's more of a hassle than it's worth (we flew into Savannah, took a taxi to the hotel and when our stay was over we took a taxi back to the airport to rent a car and head up to South Carolina). Go, visit, enjoy, you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Upper floors are better as the riverbank below is very touristy with shops, restaurants and bars on...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBA-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 114 in Savannah
1,113 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,806 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 114 in Savannah
1,253 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Address: 124 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1202
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: $174 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of cobble and ballast stones in 1817, as a cotton warehouse, our converted, historic hotel overlooks the Savannah River, right on River Street. Decorated with period furnishings, four poster beds, oriental rugs, hardwood floors and exposed brick walls, maintaining its historic charm. Located just blocks from Broughton Street shopping district & City Market, cars aren't needed, as all is within walking distance; Valet Parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Street Savannah
River Street Hotel Savannah
River Street Inn Savannah Ga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing