We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for historic district”
Review of River Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Street Inn
Ranked #25 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We paid extra for a river view and it was worth it as the view is excellent. The room was huge with a hallway(!) The staff on the desk weren't overly friendly but the porters and chambermaids were lovely. We did complain that our bedside table was grubby and was told that it may be stained rather than dirty. This was never confirmed and it stayed that way for our 3 night stay. Despite this I would still recommend this hotel because of the location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annelizabethSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I were in Savannah about 5 yrs ago and stayed at the River Street Inn. We enjoy the Inn for it's history and beautiful old architecture. We also really liked nightly cocktail hour! It's a great location to all the historic sites as well as the river and the goings on there. I would stay there again and agian. Oh yeah, the turn down service with the yummy candies is a nice perk.

Room Tip: Every employee of the River Street Inn was kind, helpfull and very friendly...wishing me/us a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed in a balcony room last evening on 7th floor--paid extra to get the balcony. Furniture, carpet, and linens were well worn, paint was chipped, barely clean. Balcony cost extra, and was FILTHY--full of pigeon poop on floor, rail, chairs--beware! Best rate of $230+, add taxes to that, plus $22 for one night of parking, $9 for internet for the night (extra to get on the next morning, even though we checked in after 5:00 p.m.). Breakfast not included. Bell service very slow. Overpriced and worn out!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thankful1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Very nostalgic. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Savannah. Staff was very nice and helpful. Parking kind of stinks, but nothing to worry about. It's $10 per day to park in a nearby secure garage.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jchamb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I would recommend this hotel because it's very quiet, convenient, quaint and a great price for a one night stay.This hotel sales dept did a great job with working with Tour Bus company which provided us the opportunity stay in this historic hotel. The front of the building seem discreet and the name of the hotel was on the front black canvas awning. If someone didn't recommend this place, I wouldn't have gone in. This hotel has alot character and charm. I am so glad we got to spend an evening in Savannah. They also provided a nice happy hour for it's guest. I would recommend staying at River Street Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We loved the location of the hotel. In good walking distance of all the activities in the historic district... Loved the extra touches such as the bed being turned down at night...The staff was helpful and gave good advice on things to do and places to eat in Savannah...The hotel decor made you feel like you really were staying in a historical area. Our room had a balcony and we watched the large ships on the Savannah River. Have already recommended this hotel to family and friends,

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dannyandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in October. The price was great for a river front hotel with river views/balcony. We really enjoyed the complimentary wine and appetizers nightly. The rooms are modest but have all the necessities. The bed was comfortable but there were no extra pillows. My only complaints are that the ice maker did not work the entire 3 days we were there (we called the desk to inform them) and our key cards continued to deactivate. That was particularly annoying because you need it to use the elevator to river street and to all the doors into the hotel (and our room of course). I had to get new keys 3 times in 3 days.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowwhite999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 115 in Savannah
1,168 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,961 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 115 in Savannah
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 115 in Savannah
3,127 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 115 in Savannah
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Address: 124 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1202
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: $136 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of cobble and ballast stones in 1817, as a cotton warehouse, our converted, historic hotel overlooks the Savannah River, right on River Street. Decorated with period furnishings, four poster beds, oriental rugs, hardwood floors and exposed brick walls, maintaining its historic charm. Located just blocks from Broughton Street shopping district & City Market, cars aren't needed, as all is within walking distance; Valet Parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Street Savannah
River Street Hotel Savannah
River Street Inn Savannah Ga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing