We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Savannah Desoto
Ranked #45 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Cartersville, United States
1 review
“Great Staff”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly, especially the bar staff and front desk. All staff addressed you, even in the elevator and hallways. It would be nice to have a shuttle from/to River Street since it can be too far to walk at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Karen K - Thanks for the great feedback on the staff. We will keep your thoughts on a shuttle in mind although with the pedal cabs this would be a tough sell. Thanks for staying with us and if returning please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    651
    374
    214
    113
See reviews for
413
679
68
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is a renovated historic building and although nicely done I would have enjoyed a less modern accommodation. The beds are soft which I found enjoyable (the husband prefers a firm mattress which is what we have at home). Service was prompt and friendly. We only ordered food once in the bar downstairs and found the price very reasonable (veggie wrap, it was very tasty). They have a Starbucks in the lobby but you would be better off to try the Starbucks down the street or hop on over to Whittaker and get your coffee at the Coffee Fox which has super friendly staff and terrific coffee. If you prefer weak coffee then by all means enjoy the Starbucks located in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurssassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Nurssassy- Thanks for the feedback and glad to see you enjoyed the hotel overall. The only recommendations for a potentially older feel may be some of the great B&B's in Savannah. Thanks for giving us a try and if coming back certainly we'd love to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just spend two days with the Hilton Desoto over the July 4th holiday. This is a very nice property and I think offered at a very fair price. The location is great. Far enough away from the waterfront to avoid the late night crowds and noise, yet only a short walk so very convenient. We got a corner room which I highly recommend spending the nominal extra. Very roomy and well appointed room. My package came with breakfast which was very nice although I understand there are some good local eateries as well. The scenic trolley has a stop right outside so very convenient for sightseeing or just walking beautiful historic Savannah.

Overall I definitely recommend this property.

Room Tip: Suggest a high floor corner room. Great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flynmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Flynmatt - Thanks for the great feedback, the location is a charm in itself. The corner kings are the way to go and I'm glad you stayed with us. We look forward to seeing you again if travelling to Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Decided on a last minute trip to Savannah for July 4th weekend so used Priceline for the first time to see if we could get a good deal. For $130 in the heart of the Historic District in Savannah on a holiday weekend, I'd say it was pretty good. The location was perfect for walking to everywhere. We were right inbetween Forsyth Park and the river. It was an easy 15 minute walk to food, shopping, and parks! The rooms were a bit dated, but how much time are you spending in the room when you're in beautiful Savannah!

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies (ours did) and I found it to be extra nice to be able to open the door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Jennyz28- Thanks for taking the time to provide some feedback, glad you enjoyed your stay overall and I'm with you, the location is tremendous! Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we will see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is definitely a full service Hilton. Valet service (@ $20 per night) and an elaborate lobby fully of Southern charm and a bit of formality.

Room was adequate although we had a few problems. Pillows are way too soft and when we requested firmer ones, we got two (there were at least 8 on the king size bed). Housekeeping could have been a bit better. Toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, soap) were not fully replenished each day. And bits of soap that had fallen to shower floor were still there after room had been serviced.

Bar service was adequate but we wouldn't describe it as warm and friendly. We did not eat at the hotel - either in the restaurant or via room service.

Valet distinguished themselves though. On the first night, something (possibly corrosive) dripped on our car in the garage. The valet noticed it and worked with us through our sightseeing schedule to make sure the car was washed and detailed (outside and in) before we checked out.

Hotel is located on a quiet, primarily residential street about 14 blocks away from the river front. There are one or two restaurant/bar options close but in general, you are looking at either a healthy walk or driving (car/cab/pedicab/etc) to most food or entertainment options.

I wouldn't be unhappy about staying here again. But honestly not likely to be my first choice.

Room Tip: rooms facing the river are definitely preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
DJ J - Thanks for the overall feedback, I'm sorry we wouldn't be your first choice in returning, usually many enjoy the advantage of being away from River Street. Incidentally, we do not replenish shampoos and conditioners everyday as we would be throwing away a lot of product, the team is instructed to replace when the bottles get near 3/4 empty. For the future there are about 6 different dining options all within a 2 block radius of us so i am not sure what you were seeking but it ranges from pub food to Italian to upscale and even an option for Sushi across the street so I was surprised by this dining option feedback, either way we apprecite you taking the time to stay with us and would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had originally planned to stay at another Savannah hotel on the river. After some problems trying to arrange a birthday surprise, we ended up going to the Hilton. What a stroke of luck that turned out to be. The staff there had to be some of the nicest people we have ever delt with at any hotel. From the moment we arrived everyone treated us like we owned the place. We had arranged for the room to be decoraterd and to have wine and cake when we arrived and it was more than we expected. The location, though not on the River, turned out to be perfect. It's an easy walk to any of the attrtaction that we wanted to see and only about a 15 minute walk to the river front. We had a great corner room on the 13th floor, with an amazing view of the city, that was always clean and comfortable. When we return to Savannah, we will definitly stay here again. Thanks for a wonderful 60th birthday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcmaggieandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Mcmaggieandsam - Congrats to the individual on the first 60 years! Thanks for staying with us and for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Thanks for the great feedback on the staff and the hotel in general, we certainly look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a king-corner room. It had a very large window on one wall & a sliding glass door on another wall with a BALCONY! We spent so much time sitting out there, watching the goings-on of a beautiful city. The room was adequately large, the bathroom was very nice & had a large tiled shower. We have room-service for breakfast the first morning & it arrived on time and our order was correct & the food was hot. Would definitely stay at the DeSoto again!

Room Tip: The king/corner room with a balcony is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Rhonda R - Thanks for the excellent review and i am glad you enjoyed your stay and the hotel services. I agree with you the corner king is the way to go! Thanks for the feedback and we will see you next time when visiting Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#21 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Savannah Desoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Savannah Desoto

Property: Hilton Savannah Desoto
Address: 15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Savannah Desoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic District. When you stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Riverfront Plaza, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in the DeSoto Grille, serving southern cuisine with an inventive flair. Our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any meeting or wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Savannah Desoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Hilton Desoto Savannah
Savannah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing