We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Savannah Desoto
Ranked #44 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

From the first time walking into the hotel, registration, bell staff, concierge, gift shop, room, room service, room and restaurant buffet breakfast, everything was amazing. I have never been to a hotel that was more comfortable and had a better staff than this Hilton Desoto Savannah. I highly recommend this hotel. Also my sister and I had rented handicap scooters and the young bell man who helped us was someone i would recommend for employee of the year.

Room Tip: Any room in the hotel would be a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenralston, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we appreciate you staying with us . We are happy to see you had a great stay and we hope your future travels to Savannah bring you back to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    669
    386
    222
    117
See reviews for
439
697
69
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. The staff at the check in we're super nice. Had a corner balcony room and loved it! My only complaint was the housekeeping staff was not up to this hotel's standards. When we returned to our room after housekeeping had been there, our dirty glasses had not been picked up nor replaced, did not receive a bath mat replacement, and did not receive the complimentary water replacement.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Denah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenralston, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with. Your guest feedback is very important to us. I apologize for the issues with housekeeping and will address this issue. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a wedding, the rate we received was average for a Hilton, based on the reviews our expectations were set high. The first night we attempted to shower and the water was only cold, no hot water. We called the front desk and they sent a maintenance man who said he fixed it. We had to leave for dinner without showering so we didn't have a chance to test the water. When we returned to the room we attempted to shower and the fixture was still broken. I called the front desk and they were extremely rude to me but sent another maintenance tech. He said that the whole fixture would have to be replaced and it wasn't something they could fix that night. He said I would have to stay in the room that night, because they are sold out, and to call the front desk in the morning to get reassigned to another room. I called the front desk first thing in the morning and they said they didn't have a room available and weren't sure when one would open up or be cleaned. The associate I was speaking to actually hung up on me. I called back and the manager answered, I said are you the person that just hung up on me? He said No, this is the manager. I told him what was happening and he said he would call when a room was available. We didn't get a room until that afternoon. They didn't offer any type of compensation for not being able to shower the entire time we had been there so far. I had to ask the manager if there was something he could offer us. He said what did you have in mind? I said I don't know, what do you typically offer in situations like this? He said I can buy you dinner here at the hotel this evening. I said I am here for a wedding this evening, that is not going to work. I told him that the right thing to do would be to comp me for the night I had to stay in a room with a non-working shower. He did so reluctantly. Yes, the location is great, but for the money I think you could definitely find better.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a corner room by the bar, it's so loud! I think it's called Pin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenralston, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We’re very sorry we didn't provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Jct., United States
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous and in a prime location in the historic district. The lobby is incredible and the room clean. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenralston, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback on the hotel and the team! I will relay your feedback to them as well, We look forward to seeing you in the future if coming to Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights. Front desk were welcoming, valet helpful with suggestions and directions. Room was clean and comfortable. Little small. Great water pressure. About eight blocks from waterfront. Hotel has nice views. Many parks in area. Hotel pool clean and refreshing. Room service slow.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenralston, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great, safe property in the heart of Savannah. Family friendly, romantic if you want it to be, and a good place for business to escape the cattle call feeling of those 'Businessmen" chains. wonderful food and the valet guys know there stuff about the ins and outs of Sav.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenralston, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and the great feedback on the location. Were happy to see you had a great stay and we hope your future travels to Savannah bring you back to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Location in historic district, close to shops and restaurants. A "healthy" walk to the River restaurants and shops but since I love to walk and look at all the old homes, architecture, etc... it was perfect for us. Absolutely safe walking back to our hotel from the River area late at night. The bartender was very informative about the area, the history, and made as many good recommendations as the concierge! Would stay there again, only complaint is the mattress wasn't as firm as most hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lisa R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenralston, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback on the hotel and the team! I will relay your feedback to them as well, We look forward to seeing you in the future if coming to Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Savannah Desoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Savannah Desoto

Property: Hilton Savannah Desoto
Address: 15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Savannah Desoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic District. When you stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Riverfront Plaza, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in the DeSoto Grille, serving southern cuisine with an inventive flair. Our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any meeting or wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Savannah Desoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Hilton Desoto Savannah
Savannah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing