We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loudest hotel in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Savannah Desoto
Ranked #45 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loudest hotel in Savannah”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at the Desoto Hilton for a conference Sunday - Thursday, and the hotel is one of the loudest I've ever encountered. I arrived the Sunday of St. Patrick's Day and expected plenty of noise. I wasn't disappointed - there were bagpipes outside the hotel at both 1 a.m. and 2 a.m., followed by drunk guests returning from their night out at 3 a.m. I am not considering this night as a part of my review because we all know that St. Patrick's Day is a total loss in Savannah anyway.

I am reviewing the level of constant noise in the hotel on each of the following weeknights. There are no catches on the room doors, so every guest slams his/her door every single time they enter or leave the room. There are also gaps under every door that are at least a full inch high, if not higher, so you hear every noise in the hallway. I ended up stuffing a towel under my door, which helped a little, but not enough.

The housekeeping staff seems to roam the hallways slowly and for no reason all day long with their walkie-talkies on full blast. I confirmed with conference attendees staying on lower floors that the story was the same regardless of location in the hotel. It's just a loud place. If you're a light sleeper, you will have a hard time of it. As a bonus, there was no hot water in the entire hotel for the first 24 hours. Front desk staff told me at 6 p.m. that everyone must be showering at once and said the same at 8 a.m. the next morning (which is a bit more plausible). Then I was told that engineers were looking into it and after a full day, hot water was returned. I think the hotel is not equipped water-wise for a full house, and when they are sold out, they pretend it's an anomaly.

Even on the 10th floor, I hear sirens, shouting, horns and traffic from the street below through the large patio door. The balcony attached to my room is large enough for three or four people to stand on, but there are no chairs. There is a single rolling office chair in the room, so there is really no functional way to use the balcony. Don't bother asking for an "upgrade," it won't reduce the noise, and although the view is nice, the balcony isn't really usable.

My room is considered a "deluxe double" with a balcony and city view, and it's average size. The beds and pillows are comfortable, and the internet is reliable and fast. In-room coffee is Lavazza brand and it's drinkable. The bathroom is on the small side and it's very (!) dimly lit. I tried to supplement with the lighted mirror, but still had to put on my makeup hunched over the dresser in the room itself to get adequate light.

Overall, this is an extremely average hotel. The location is great and within walking distance of pretty much everything in Historic Savannah. But if you want to get some rest and relaxation, you won't find it here. One of my colleagues highly recommends the Residence Inn a few blocks away. Same great location, but super quiet and many more amenities (fridge, microwave, toaster, etc.), and I plan to stay there if I return to Savannah.

Room Tip: Join Hilton Honors to get free wifi at most Hilton properties. Don't bother asking for an upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SP82736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We’re very sorry for the noise issues you encountered during your stay at our hotel. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. Your review will help us correct similar issues in the future and we hope that the next time you’re in the area, you’ll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    653
    379
    217
    115
See reviews for
421
684
69
525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding. The people and concierge were so very kind and hospitable to all of us. The food in the restaurant was great. The room was very comfortable and the bed was wonderful. I definitely will come back and stay here again in the future. It is conveniently located in the historical district. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
DorothyLouise - We are happy to see you had a great stay, thanks for sending us some feedback and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

In the Historic downtown Savannah neighborhood. Great spot, close to lots of attractions. You can walk, pedi taxi, on /off Tour bus all over this district. The staff was very friendly & our small service dog was treated as a welcomed guest. The house cleaning staff could use a lesson. However, once the uncleaned areas were brought to mgrs attention our room was cleaned for the week. Great views if you get a balcony. Would stay here again as we travel to Savannah often.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Carlgirl7 - We appreciate the kind feedback and we appreciate the opportunity to serve you! Sorry for the housekeeping challnges but we appreciate the communication and the opportunity to take care of things while you were here! Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

In the heart of downtown Savannah! I was traveling with my daughter and husband. Could load her up in the stroller and walk all around. Felt safe during the day, people were friendly and most cars stopped for pedestrians. Lots of great places to eat and window shop. Also the trolley tours are nice. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. From the valet guys, front desk, room service, housekeeping and concierge. If you plan on staying in Savannah this is where you need to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
TravelLover429 - We appreciate your wonderful feedback and happy to see you enjoyed Savannah and the staff! Thanks for staying with us and come stay with us again when travelling in and around Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My best friend and I stayed here for a long girls weekend. We picked the hotel b/c we didn't want to have to do a lot of driving. It is conveniently located for tourists who don't mind walking a few blocks for shopping or eating.
The hotel is a little dated but nothing that is distracting or bothersome. The service is great and everyone was very hospitable and helpful. The pool area is nice and we enjoyed the outdoor bar!
Ask for a high floor room b/c one of the best parts of the hotel was the wonderful view of the old historic buildings, squares and churches.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better - you will appreciate the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinkaS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
TSpan16 - We truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and the great fedback We look forward to your return if coming back to Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackshear, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My 3 friends and I were celelbrating a special occasion. Four women checking into a hotel, climbing out of one car must have sparked interest. We were asked multiple times what we were celebrating. Everyone was kind, congenial, and helpful---from the valet attendant to the front desk and the bar tender. We were given a couple of "welcome" drinks, good directions to area attractions, and smiles all around!

Room Tip: It was bit pricey, but well worth it. We enjoyed being able to walk from the hotel to area attractio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Robbie M - Thanks for the great review and I hope you had a great celebration! Come see us again when in Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is convenient, comfortable, and pleasant; but not really up to basics for Meetings Groups. The AV specialist was running around performing way out of his job description - and we were all grateful. Kudos too; to the Banquet Manager, for changing her schedule, so that we could have coffee in the "MORNING". NOTE: if you are the hotel coordinator for the group, and expecting the group to arrive @ at 9AM - it might be nice to BE in the room at 8AM to ensure the room is (at minimum) SET-UP!

FYI: Sometimes chatty staff can be just as annoying as staff who ignores and this hotel has both.

The Hotel itself was warm (it was cold that first week in March) and comfortable and the breakfast was awesome. Housekeeping is wonderful (they don’t rearrange your stuff - don’t ya just hate that?!) Elevators are slow, but it’s GA – we should all slow-down a bit.

Room Tip: ALL rooms offer a great viiew since the hotel "faces" East. Request a room above 4th Floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel to host your meeting. We sincerely apologize for all of the inconveniences you and your group endured, and we want you to know that we are taking the necessary steps to ensure that these issues are not repeated for future guests. Your feedback will help us to improve our overall guest experience and we hope to have another chance to provide a great stay for you in the future. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#22 of 113 in Savannah
463 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Savannah Desoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Savannah Desoto

Property: Hilton Savannah Desoto
Address: 15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Savannah Desoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic District. When you stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Riverfront Plaza, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in the DeSoto Grille, serving southern cuisine with an inventive flair. Our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any meeting or wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Savannah Desoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Hilton Desoto Savannah
Savannah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing