We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we picked this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Savannah Desoto
Ranked #45 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Gainesville, Fl
Level Contributor
233 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Glad we picked this hotel”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Very nice hotel in a great area..easy walk to anywhere, but away from the noise and bustle of the tourist area by the water.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G8tors5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahDesoto, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Happy you enjoyed the hotel and your stay. Thanks for being our guest. Love to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    652
    376
    214
    113
See reviews for
414
679
68
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

A typical city centre Hilton – 15 storey block with 200-odd rooms - the DeSoto is what you’d expect – it’s clinical and functional but, having said that, it’s good value for money and in a prime downtown spot in the historical center. We paid the extra for an upgrade to a corner room which was certainly worth it – we got a decent size room on the 6th floor with a great view of the cathedral. It had the benefit of a decent balcony - a welcome bonus although unfortunately our visit coincided with some chill November winds. Another bonus was the complimentary wi-fi and the underground car parking which was charged at a (fair) daily rate with no extras for in/outs. Also a couple of very helpful concierges.

Incidentally I noticed that the Hilton Garden Inn had an equally prime location - situated between the river and Congress Street with its bustling restaurants and bars - and looked to be a decent alternative.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahDesoto, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Guest like yourself who visit the hotel and are able to provide guest with helpful tidbits is much appreciated. Our hotel is in the heart of Historic Savannah with easy access to restaurants, shopping, and even a simple stroll in the garden squares. Glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I visited for a business conference. The conference rooms were nice, but they had some trouble keeping them at a comfortable temperature. My room was dated, and outside noises were quite loud. The best thing about the hotel was the location. It was right in the heart of the historic district and just a short walk to the river.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meinelkm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahDesoto, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Glad that you were able to see Savannah while here on your business trip. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay and hope that you stay with us in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel itself was pretty decent. It had a nice pool area to chill out. Walking distance to major "squares". It is your average Hilton, with a "grand banquet room"- Seemed to be busy with weddings/proms. So, I can see it being a place to have reception and out of town guests could comfortably stay in this hotel at a decent price.

Remote didnt work both nites, but, they were prettty good at replacing it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank u_can_wear_ur_hat_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahDesoto, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for bring our guest. We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to gives us your feedback. The next time your travels bring you to Savannah, we hope you choose to stay with us at Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I visit savannah for work on a regular basis. I decided to try staying at this property, but was unimpressed by the dated decor. The hotel is located in historic savannah and right off the highway. It is easy to find and a short walk to several attractions and nice restaurants. The gym was nice and had new equipment, but I probably won't be staying at this property again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BG082802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahDesoto, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize that we did not meet up to your expectation. We value you as a guest and would enjoy hearing additional feedback from you on what is important to you as a business traveler to the Savannah area as it would give an insight into what we can do better to improve guest experience. We do hope that you give our hotel another opportunity. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I'd give the location 5 stars... really liked how convenient it is to all of the old historic area. Preferred the central location to being down in the river area (which was a quick walk away). Rooms were nice... and has an outdoor pool. Negatives include very small gym and terrible pillows...!!! Hated the pillows...... But the location made up for it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidwh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahDesoto, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Wonderful to see that you enjoyed the hotel and the location. Having that easy access to everything just outside your door, truly gives you the opportunity to experience Savannah. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to having you back soon at Hilton Savannah DeSoto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

No, it's npot a cozy B&B, but if you are in Savannah on business, not that many places beat the Hilton. It's a little older than a standard Hilton, but the rooms are up to snuff. Within easy walking distance of all Savannah landmarks.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyMaysHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahDesoto, Manager at Hilton Savannah Desoto, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#22 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Savannah Desoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Savannah Desoto

Property: Hilton Savannah Desoto
Address: 15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Savannah Desoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic District. When you stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Riverfront Plaza, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in the DeSoto Grille, serving southern cuisine with an inventive flair. Our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any meeting or wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Savannah Desoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Hilton Desoto Savannah
Savannah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing