We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Friendly Staff and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #19 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I stayed here in 1994 and really loved the place. Decided to stay here again on my return visit instead of trying something new and am so glad I did. The staff were the friendliest from the doorman the moment our cab pulled up to the girl who checked us in. It didn't stop there. The gentleman who took our luggage to our room made sure our room was to our satisfaction before he left. When we called for anything it arrived faster than my kid when I call him. They serve wine & cheese every evening along with Karen, the concierge. She helped us with some tour plans, even making the reservations & even arranged for our cab service the night before we left. Who could ask for more. There was one flaw - not everything is perfect. The breakfast... the later you get there the less food there is. Doesn't seem they account for late sleepers. Otherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piezees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,541 - 2,547 of 2,823 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2010

The staff at The Planters Inn are courteous and very helpful. Though the rooms are small the size can be overlooked due to the amenities such as wine and cheese in the evening and the excellent service. We will stay at The Planters Inn when we return to Savannah.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fudgbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

My mom and 3 of her friends (plus me of course) stayed here overnight. We stayed in the room with 2 double beds and I slept on a rollaway bed. I thought the Inn was very quite. Very nice bathroom with double sinks. The staff was very courteous and friendly. Would not hesitate to stay here again. We also took the walking ghost tour while on our stay. It was fun to hear the stories but didn't see anything ghostly. Ate at The Lady and Sons (walked right in btw) it was fantastic. We also went to Uncle Bubba's Oyster House. Shrimp and Grits and grilled Oysters were also worth the trip. Can't wait to go back to Savannah.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank Danabug72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

The history of this particular hotel, as were were told, is quite raunchy....was at once, before renovations a house of ill repute, but the charm and atmosphere was exciting. We both love visiting the south and really enjoyed our stay. You don't get dinner served at this place, but who cares, the wharf is not far and the restaurants are all over. The square outside the hotel is the only square that doesn't have moss growing which they willl tell you all about...but if you are afraid of ghosts.....

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TransferLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I spent a lot of time researching where to stay. The reviews for this hotel were spot on! The Planters is a great place to stay, without a doubt. The room was small, but we didn't spend much time in our hotel room. They have the a/c kicked on high (It was August) and the room was very cold at night. If you do stay here, try and get a room that does not face the parking garage. The noise did not bother us, but some people did complain about the noise.
The staff were more than willing to assist us with restaurants, and places to go. They went over the top. The hotel is withing walking distance to the river. I would recommend the Planters to anyone visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mozzy7957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

The hotel was wonderful. The staff was so kind and always attentive to our needs. I strongly suggest getting the room with the balcony; the view was wonderful. The concierge coordinated a horse drawn carriage ride and dinner for us which was perfect. The continental breakfast was really great and the wine and cheese gathering each night was a bonus. We will definitely stay at The Planters again when we visit Savannah.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim00_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We loved the hotel and the staff. Service was excellent. Breakfast and wine social were most enjoyable. Not least the price was right!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1_1aGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,895 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 115 in Savannah
1,381 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#14 of 115 in Savannah
3,158 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $147 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing