We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, good hotel”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #19 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2009

The Planters Inn of Savannah is in a wonderful location. Located in the historic district, the hotel is just blocks from the bars and restaurants of the riverside and steps from the main shopping street.

The hotel is a wonderful little gem. The staff is not sharp (not bad, just not attentive-a bit on the slow southern lifestyle side of things). The paint in our window sill was in need of rehab. For a historic hotel in the South the bathroom looked like it had been remodeled recently but it was as if it was from Santa Fe and did not fit the buidlings southern charm and style. It is a wonderful old hotel in a wonderful city. We had a wonderful stay and would stay here again, I just want to see them become the best, instead of sort of resting on their laurels.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomdenverDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,677 - 2,683 of 2,834 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2009

Read between the line in the offerings. The rooms are very small , and the furniture is on the cheap side. They will bring ice on request but felt as though we had to tip. Was expecting a more sincere welcome. One bottle of water was put in room on day 2, no more sent. Looked for hair dryer, found in closet, with the robes. No spa or pool so why robes? Views parking garages. Hotel is clean and in good location. Valet not what I expected. Parking on street is faster.
Better places to stay there for same price.

Thank TravelwithScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

We realy liked this hotel. Although there wasn't a gym or pool, we felt really comfortable and welcome here. The valet and front desk service was superb. The wine and cheese reception each evenng was great. The concierge was there to help you plan your evening and next day. Great recommendations for dinner. Our room did face a parking garage which was a bummer. Beautiful park across the street. The old Pink House Restaurant next door was fabulous. Overall a great place , we would have like a pool though.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iluvgoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stayed here for one night while touring the great city of Savannah. The location puts you right in a great spot to do some walking and exploring. When you check in, do yourself a favor and let the valet park your car for you. Parking is a premium on the streets and it must be moved by 8am anyway. The room was fabulous. Continental breakfast was served on the mezzanine level. If you happen to find yourself in Savannah check into the Planters Inn and go out exploring and have a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We went to the Planter's Inn for 2 nights and were treated fantastically. It's in a prime location for walking and sightseeing.
Although it's a bit pricey and our room faced a parking garage we were very happy with the service. There was free wine & cheese and the concierge desk was invaluable.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendwooNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We have just returned from a first trip to Savannah, GA where we stayed at the Planters Inn on Reynolds Square. I cannot say enough nice things about the hotel - we were able to walk everywhere , the rooms and service were outstanding, and the staff was very friendly and helpful - we will stay there again! (Note: If room views are important to you - you will need to inquriy when making yoru reservation since one side of the hotel faces a parking structure.) An added bonus was the guests abilty to use the downtown sports club and spa just around the corner from the Inn. Savannah has great restaurants, art and to many things to do and see in just one trip!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbgKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

My mother and I had the best time at Planter's Inn. We were literally pampered. Turndown service, freshly baked cookies every night, wine and cheese and bath robes in our room. We stayed for a week. Believe me you can't go wrong with the Planters Inn. Our flight was late arriving and it would have been nice to have someone help us with our bags up to our room but we understood why that didn't happen. Cookie, who cleans the rooms, always made sure our room was spotless from head to toe. She was so nice and knew exactly how long we were staying...And we also didn't hear other travellers in their rooms...that's a huge plus for me.

I will definitely stay at the Planters Inn again and that goes for my mom also.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffiangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,923 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 115 in Savannah
1,399 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#15 of 115 in Savannah
3,185 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 115 in Savannah
1,302 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2730
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $137 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing