We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT WEEK SPENT AT PLANTERS INN, SAVANAH” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #21 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
gainesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT WEEK SPENT AT PLANTERS INN, SAVANAH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I visited Savannah, Ga for the first time last week...we were recommended to stay at Planters Inn...we spent 4 nights there and were completely satisfied with the treatment we received. Accommodations were perfect, room, ac, breakfast, etc...The personnel were great, the front desk, cleaning personnel, bellmen, and Karen....who was there to answer all questions, make restaurant reservations and suggestions, and organize afternoon wine and cheese party in the hotel lobby...All and all, Savannah was great, cannot wait to go back again real soon, and Planters Inn the only place to stay.....A place to recommend to friends and family...

Room Tip: room we had was great, for the two of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kensongator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,483
    788
    220
    76
    43
See reviews for
387
1,445
105
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Planters Inn is a small, romantic, wonderful inn, tucked across from Reynolds Square. It is perfectly located for walking downtown Savannah. Although the hotel offers valet parking, a public parking garage is conveniently located one block away. Planters Inn is across the street from The Olde Pink House restaurant. The staff is helpful and friendly and not too intrusive. A quirky elevator that doesn't always take you to the floor you requested only adds to the charm. The breakfasts have great variety and are quite good. We felt pampered with the late afternoon wine and cheese and the evening cookies and turn down service. Our beautiful room overlooked the square on one side. The other windows looked out on a parking garage, but we were in our room so little that the view hardly mattered.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AniJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I decided to stay overnight at the Planters Inn on my way back from North Carolina to Florida.When I arrived I was greeted by a very friendly valet attendant who assisted with parking the car and offered to take the luggage up to the room. I arrived shortly before check in but luckily a room was available. The lobby is very quaint, the building is 101 years old but the upkeep of the property and grounds is rather good. I was on the 6th floor (Room 604) with a king size bed. Although the bed wasn't the most comfortable, it wasn't bad. The bathroom amenities were nice (gilchrist and soames) and the room was a good size for being older. I felt like I was staying in the room of a house rather than a hotel, which for this trip and location was a good thing. The hotel is very charming and boutique-y. There is definitely a spooky vibe to some areas of the hotel. It was fun to hear stories of reported haunted floors and stories from the staff, it defintiely gave some character to the hotel.

Room Tip: 6th Floor reportedly the most "haunted"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelInnsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I were blessed to have been able to stay at is hotel. Convenient location and staff was so nice! Our room was on the top floor so it was the IDEal place away for a night away from our kids. Can't say enough about the staff, especially the valet Colby Byrd who got is a reservation at the booked Pink house next door! He took our bags to e room and parked our car as well as directed us to important landmarks around! This was a restful, romantic stay and I plan on visiting again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaBee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Really friendly, clean and great hotel with little extras like the cheese and wine evenings. Really helpful staff, the valet guys and the reception were both really great and the concierge lady was very helpful. Our room was fine, single beds which i'm used to coming from the UK, though it is unusual in the US. The decor is very pretty and old fashioned and feels very 'Savannah'. The location is great, near the river front and the Pink House restaurant and not a very long walk all the way up to Forsyth Square.

Breakfast wasn't very inspiring, but very typical for the price/type of restaurant and was included in the price so can't complain really.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you can find a friendlier, cleaner, more centrally located hotel in a vacation city for such a reasonable rate, even with valet parking, please let us know!
Great, attentive, knowledgeable staff. Our room did not have a refrigerator (optional with a fee) but ice was readily available and delivered to your room with a phone call. Additionally, at turn down ice was brought to the room along with a complimentary 1.5 Liter bottle of water. We look forward to returning again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited for the Fourth of July Holiday. The good thing is that the inn is located within walking distance to everything in the historic district but that is where the good ends. When you walk in there is an mildew smell in the lobby. The front desk staff seemed nice and professional especially when they tell you they do not have any rooms with kings size bed and that the only ice machine in the Inn is in the office and can call to have it brought to our room. After waiting a while for a one of the 2 elevators to take us to our floor the doors open to an even stronger smell of mildew. When we got to the room the decor was a big disappointment considering the hotel was rated three stars. We felt like we were at staying at a room in my great great grandmother's home. The TV was small, the remote did not work well, the tub/shower was small, the toilet was loud, the bed was hard, and seemed like a full size instead of queen. But the stay go even better we opened the curtains to a panoramic view of the parking lot a across the street. So for privacy we could not open the curtains. At night it got worse between the sound of screeching tires and car alarms we could get any sleep. To add to the disturbances housekeeping knocks on the door every 15- 30 minutes to clean after 8:30 am even with the do not disturb sign on the door. Needless to say my husband and I will never go back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank niknaknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#22 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Property: Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing