We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #19 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Certainly better than any big chain hotels. Bedroom very pleasant; Breakfast room depressing: very crowded and breakfast as in any big chains: boring (grape jelly, yoghurt with fruits!) When are hotels going to serve PLAIN yoghurts?
Will stay there again but will make sure the valet does not give us the keys belonging to another car and have to come back to return them!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonvoyage8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,790)
There are newer reviews for Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,283 - 1,289 of 2,791 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent two pleasant nights at the Planters Inn during a recent visit to Savannah. We got a great deal using an online service, but would definitely consider staying there again without the benefit of the discount.

Savannah is a very walkable city and the hotel is conveniently located. It is beautiful on the inside with a lovely, welcoming lobby, and a great staff. Being an older hotel, the rooms are an assortment of sizes. We lucked into one of the larger rooms which was nicely appointed and very comfortable. The room rate includes a good breakfast and a wine-and-cheese reception in the afternoon. One really nice touch was that we found our ice bucket full each evening when we returned from dinner; something I have only seen in one other hotel, and a touch I truly appreciate. Valet parking is very reasonable and your car is easily accessible in the parking garage across the street.

I do have three caveats:

1. Most of the rooms face the ugly 1960s/1970s parking garage across the street. We really didn't spend that much time in the room but, when we did, we just closed the sheers during the day and curtains at night and enjoyed the pleasant room.

2. On our first morning we got to breakfast a bit on the late side and found the fruit and some other items either almost gone or completely gone. When we arrived on the early side the second morning, there was plenty of everything. So, adjust your timing accordingly.

3. Whenever we asked the concierge for a restaurant recommendation, she would recommend a nearby tavern. We did eat there our last night, it was just OK, but there was nothing uniquely Savannah about it. On the first night, we pressed her a bit harder for a place with great shrimp and grits, and she did finally come through with a great recommendation.

Room Tip: Our room was probably a handicap room, which explained why it was a bit larger. When booking, keep...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_Photo_Geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Spur of the moment visit, great location, great value. The staff is more than helpful, wine and cheese in the evening could use a little more variety but on the whole the property is wonderful. Location, Location, Location. Will always return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Planter's Inn is a beautiful Inn, just off the beaten path in Savannah. The lobby is elegant and welcoming and eacxh of the rooms are beautiful. Each night there is a wine and cheese reception in the lobby with mood music provided by someone playing a grand piano. The concierge is always helpful and ready to recommend local restaurants. The hotel is extremely clean and they have valet parking. My one complaint is that the wireless internet has never worked. I have stayed in this hotel for years and for some reason, they just can't seem to get that one thing fixed. If you are going on vacation to see Savannah and don't need your computer or tablet, tis is the place for you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, convenient, gracious. Wonderful time. The rooms were cozy. Mine was across from the garage but the noise was very seldom noticeable. Breakfast was perfect, and wine and cheese was lovely. Perfect location to walk everywhere. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Planters Inn is perfectly situated in the historic district on Reynolds square. The staff is wonderful, friendly and very gracious. The beds are among the most comfortable I've slept in anywhere! Our room was small (not a complaint....just a comment) but spotless and very quiet. The morning breakfast was perfect for a quick bite to get the day started and the wine and cheese each evening was the perfect beginning to evenings on the town.

Room Tip: Unless you are planning to stay in your room a lot, don't spend more for a garden view. We had...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Can't say enough about the exceptional staff at this hotel. This is a beautiful hotel and is conveniently located in the historic district and is within walking distance of many attractions. Hotel is extremely well maintained, has great breakfast but did not get to attend the wine tasting. The staff (as I mentioned earlier) is truly exceptional. The front desk and especially the valet personnel are just super. Everyone is so polite and this makes your stay even more satisfying. Room was large and very comfortable. Wish I could have stayed an additional day or so. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John3733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,817 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 114 in Savannah
1,327 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#12 of 114 in Savannah
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 114 in Savannah
1,114 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,944 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 114 in Savannah
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $158 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing