We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #19 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Met and exceeded our expectations. While we did not see any ghosts (ok, not expecting that one) we had a lovely room in one of the most beautiful and classically Savannah hotels imaginable. The happy hour every evening allowed us to mingle with other fun and interesting guests, and the hostess Karen was awesome ! She was charming, informative, and conversational, helping us learn so much more about where to go and what to do. The hotel was perfectly centrally located on Reynolds Square and within walking distance of everything we wanted to do, including the Olde Pink House restaurant next door. And the hotel was so gorgeously decorated for Christmas - we will head back again soon because this hotel made our trip romantic and special.

Room Tip: Overlooking the square is best
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bocain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,790)
There are newer reviews for Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,312 - 1,318 of 2,790 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We arrived very late and were greeted with open arms. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was yummy, even if the room it was served in was cramped.
The location is excellent for exploring Savannah and I very much appreciated the cheese and wine reception from 5:30pm.
Overall I was impressed. The bathroom was a little dated and the plug on the bath didn't fully close.
I would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nikki_333_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Lobby small but lovely and decorated very nicely for Christmas. Staff was consistently very helpful and pleasant. Room very nice and quiet and tastefully decorated. Quiet. Great location. There are no views from rooms - rooms face a parking garage. In the publicity photo it's only the portion with white 'awning' area that's the actual building. May be a few rooms facing the square, but most do not! Breakfast buffet was a real disappointment. We'd stay again, but not eat there.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any rooms facing Reynolds Square. Not sure they exist, but otherwise you're lo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Alternate review title: 'Rooms That Are Lit Up All Night By a Noisy Parking Garage.' Only book a room here if you're willing to make a phone reservation ensuring that you don't end up facing the brightly lit, noisy parking garage where the curse words of drunk people echo loudly at 2:00 am, and 3:00 am, and 4:00 am. I don't know why they don't have curtains that block the bright light shining all night from the garage, but they don't. If you're the manager and you're reading this, selling your worst rooms on Priceline instead of addressing the issues with those rooms is how you turn potential life-long customers into people that give you bad reviews on Tripadvisor (i.e., not a good long-term strategy).

Room Tip: Only book if you're willing to call on the phone to get a room away from the parking garage
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have been trying to purchase a gift certificate for my in-laws and I cannot get them to send it I have used the website called twice and left emails for the manager and cannot get the certificates I have been trying since the day after Thanksgiving. I had to give them an IOU for half this half of their gift. I wish I had read the review discussing the administrative issues before I chose Planters Inn. The lack of service from the front office has been of proportionate measures.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We are frequent visitors to Savannah, as our son lives there and have stayed at many of the places in the Historic District. This was our first time at the Planters Inn. This is a hotel in an older building that has been kept up nicely. My understanding is the last addition was done about 150 years ago.

The location at Reynolds Square is perfect for tourists who want to walk the historic district. It is only a block from all the shopping on Broughton or Bay Street (and down the stairs to River Street). It is also a very short walk to City Market.

The lobby is beautifully restored. They have a nice wine and cheese gathering in the lobby in the early evening which is complementary Monday thru Saturday. During our stay the lobby was beautifully decorated for the Christmas season. This, along with wireless internet, are included with your stay.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Valet parking with the hotel is about $14 per night, however, one of the staff members let us know you can get a daily parking pass for about $8 a night and park at the city lot which is about two doors down just past the Pink House. This gives you covered parking and also allows you to park at most metered parking sites around the city at no charge. Breakfast is included. It is a buffet and similar to what you might see at a Holiday Inn express. Nothing special, but the price is right.

The room, is nice sized. Our room was well kept up. Outside of the bathroom, which is beautiful, the room was not real fancy. The TV is placed in an awkward position from the bed, but who comes to Savannah to watch the tube?

Our room, like many of the rooms, goes along a street which is noisy in the morning. We frequently arose to the noise of city workers or work trucks doing their work in the morning. This is a trade off for being in the middle of the historic district that people who like to sleep in may want to consider.

We got a great deal on Expedia for this hotel, incredible really for the historic district, so if you plan to go you many want to check their website to see what price they have. This type of deal was probably only available due to December being the off season, but it was nice to stay in such a great location with all the extras as a very low price.

Room Tip: This is a nice hotel for adults, but would not recomend for kids.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdicksteina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were looking forward to our stay at the Planters Inn. We had walked past it on our last trip to Savannah and we read the reviews on Trip Advisor. We thought we would be staying in boutique hotel with the famous Savannah hospitality.

So many little issues insured that this place did not live up to it’s own hype.

The lobby is beautiful and the Xmas decorations were excellent. The location is also excellent. And walking out the front entrance to see Reynolds Square in front of you is priceless.

The rooms are a reasonable size, but for a boutique hotel we expected the decorating to be “antique-y”. The elevator is the only way to access the lobby or mezzanine (where breakfast is set out). The stairs are marked “For Emergency Only” and exit to the office area. We were on the second floor and had to wait – a minute…or two…or three…or more.

The layout of the building puts most of the rooms on the side of the building facing a garage. There are a few rooms that face Reynolds Square, but they are expensive! For the most part, the blackout curtains block the unattractive view, but if not carefully pulled together – they do not block out the light.

The breakfast is definitely less then described. The waffles are toaster waffles; the cereal is fake, bottom shelf, in-a-bag cereal; the meat in the steamer is somewhat unidentifiable; and the “hot” pastries are inexpensive pastries stuck in the steamer to warm them. The orange juice is good!

The wine and cheese party was nice. The concierge greeted me with “When did you check in?” The tone was more of a challenge than a pleasantry! Most of the other staff members were friendly and the bell staff is extremely helpful and hospitable. The late evening cookies were delicious!

I booked the reservation online. When we checked in, we were charged more. I showed them the confirmation. It took them two tries to “adjust” the charges on the computer and give me a receipt. When I checked my credit card – the original amount was there. I called explaining the situation and the lady said she would check with the manager and call me back. I never received a return phone call, but the charge was adjusted on my credit card.

We enjoyed our trip to Savannah and while less than expected the Planters Inn was acceptable for the price. We would probably not stay here again when the East Bay Inn is just around the corner and a better choice for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuntersOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,809 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 114 in Savannah
1,327 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#12 of 114 in Savannah
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 114 in Savannah
1,114 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,942 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 114 in Savannah
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $158 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing