We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #18 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel! We loved the location and the friendly staff! It is important for us not to be "ripped off" with unexpected fees. This hotel includes a really nice breakfast (they call it continental, however it's much more!), wi fi, and wine and cheese in the evening. The location is close to tours, trolly, and walking distance to water. I would say the only "down side", is no king beds (they are beautiful though!), and their "exercise room" is not in the hotel but rather another hotel a block or two away. We found we got our exercise by walking everywhere. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,397 - 1,403 of 2,805 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were happy with our choice in staying here. Fantastic location, excellent service and way more interesting than some chain hotel. We were on 6th floor and it was quiet and comfortable. Yes, there was a bit of musty smell when we stepped off elevator, but it's a very old building in the South, so not surprised and it did not carry into rooms. The breakfast room has no ambience, but I was glad to find plenty of healthy options to counteract rest of hearty Southern dining ( though those options available). We did not encounter any of the negatives mentioned in other reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Planters Inn in Savannah. I can honestly say, it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The service is superb and the employees go out of their way to take care of every guest. It might just be a southern thing, but everyone was so nice and friendly and I felt like I was one of the family. Karen, the concierge, was helpful and knowledgeable about things to see and places to eat. She is well known in the hospitality industry in Savannah because with one phone call, she can get you the best table at the best restaurant in Savannah. I appreciated all the help she gave me while I was staying there. Matt, Tom, Hunter and the rest of the staff took care of everything for me and all I did was enjoy myself. Thanks to Marc, the general manager, for making his hotel the best. I will see them again really soon as I have already booked for Christmas!!

Room Tip: If you need two beds, ask for a corner room. They are big and bright. Also you have a much better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The rooms here are very comfortable, the front desk is super-helpful and friendly, valet service is convenient and also friendly, and it's an easy walk to Bay Street and River Street. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room with a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookelyn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Planters Inn was a step up for us, we don't usually spend extra money on a hotel, but for a short two night stay we decided to splurg a little. The Planters Inn is a relatively small boutique hotel with lots of character and very personal service. We used the valet service to park and never needed our car for the whole stay, since Planters is in such a perfect central location. We reserved the least expensive room which was supposed to have two twin beds and we weren't sure what it would be like - well, it actually had two queen sized four poster beds and was beautifully decorated. There was a late afternoon wine and cheese happpy hour and in the morning a very good hot breakfast, both included. All in all we were very please with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I considered many places to stay during recent trip to Savannah and had decided to stay at the Planters Inn on Reynolds Square based on prior reviews. I was not disappointed. The room was lovely with period furniture, but bathroom was updated for convenience. I spent a bit extra on the room with balcony looking out over Reynolds Square and was glad I did. I was a great place to relax after spending the day exploring the city and after we returned from dinner at night! The wine and cheese gathering during the week was a nice touch and the concierge the Inn provides is very helpful. The Inn is in a great location and you are able to walk everywhere within the historic district. I would not hesitate to stay at the Planters Inn again! Oh, and the hospitality of the staff was darn near perfection!

Room Tip: Highly suggest spending a little extra and go with the balcony room. You will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was down in Savannah doing a little fact finding as I am slowly preparing fro my son's June wedding in this beautiful city on the coast of Georgia. As I was just going down for two nights and taking a life long friend who is going to do the flowers, I thought a nice treat would be staying at the Planters Inn. I have stayed at the Planters Inn in Charleston, equally as expensive but there I felt as if I'd gotten my money's worth, here, not so much.
I opted to book one of two rooms which share a very tiny balcony over looking the beautiful Reynolds Square. The door to the balcony was not working properly and if not bolted to the floor latch, would swing violently open crashing into the porch furniture--luckily we were not in harms way the several times it swung open. Also lucky for us, our "neighbors" never ventured out on their half of the balcony---let's just say you'd become very good friends with any neighbors as this balcony is very tiny...and appears to be the only balcony at the property.
The property does not have any king size beds, just queens and twins. Check in was seamless. The valet unloaded the car and helped us up to our 5th floor room. We asked if there was not a mini fridge as my friend had some meds which needed to be kept cold. The valet brought us a fridge free of charge as well as a fan which proved necessary as the AC never really cooled the room off adequately at night. The hall was an icebox, the rooms not so much. Valet parking is $14 a day.
There is a complimentary wine and cheese each afternoon offering an average selection of wines with the whites being almost room temp. I heard a patron as the server, who was also acting concierge, about the choices of which she replied she did not know anything about wine as she merely drank beer. She also went out of her way to introduce her services to the other guests, all but for us, but perhaps we appeared as though we were on a mission.
There was mildew in the bathroom around the tub and on the ceiling directly over the shower. Other than that, the room was relatively clean.
There was an included breakfast bar which had a selection of fruit, cereal, hot grits with cheese, pastries that were melting in a overtly hot steamer, and very cold hard boiled eggs. Had I been staying with my husband, I know he would have opted to go out to eat for breakfast, preferring a freshly cooked breakfast fare.
Only one of the two elevators was working.
The property is in a very lovely location, within easy walking distance throughout the historic district. The Olde Pink House and Tavern sits next door, and is a nice place for lunch, dinner or a nice evening sitting in the piano bar down in the basement. For dinning reservations are a must and the piano bar fills very early, very quickly.
The final bill was $528 for two nights---I don't mind paying good money for something that I feel warrants the expense---but for that amount I would have expected a bit more. I have stayed at many nice boutique hotels both in Europe and the States but there is nothing "special" that separates this hotel from some of the larger chains. I am booking a room at the Bohemian for my son and his future wife for their honeymoon.

Room Tip: If your really want a balcony, there is but one on the property--and you will pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trojans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#22 of 114 in Savannah
1,345 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#19 of 114 in Savannah
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,129 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#10 of 114 in Savannah
1,270 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $152 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing