We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Southern Charm”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #19 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

4 nights at this inn and each was delightful as the next. A great location walking distance to everywhere.The room was large and spacious with a comfortable bed, a big bathroom with plenty of clean towels and a big wash basin area for toiletries. Every evening ice was delivered and each afternoon complimentary drink were served. In the evening warm cookies were available for the guest and the staff were all warm and friendly. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bimme_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,457 - 1,463 of 2,858 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our first stay at Planters Inn and we were very pleased with everything about the inn. We were greeted immediately and warmly upon our arrival. In an ideal location, it appears that the building was renovated in recent years and everything about it was fresh and beautiful. Our room was more than comfortable and it was also spotless. Breakfast was simple and offered many healthy options, which we appreciated.

Our stay was short, but I would highly recommend the Planters Inn to anyone visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaytonaDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

What can you say about a place that is so rich in history as it is in customer service? The Hotel was top notch, the staff was equal as well. The staff was friendly and willing to help in any way possible. The room was perfect and the sounds of horses walking down the road at night just added to the ambiance. The location is ideal to enjoy all the Savannah has to offer. We will be back the next time we travel to Savannah.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

After our first stay here a year ago we didn't even consider another historict district property. Central location, convenient valet parking, comfortable room, enjoyable wine & cheese reception (except Sunday's), friendly staff and a very nice complimentary breakfast. Savannah is usually the last stop on our way home to SW Florida so we love to spend a day walking the squares. We also tend to blow the budget and go for top notch accommodations and a couple of upscale dinners. Planters Inn is on the pricey side but if your budget has room we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Planters Inn is a beautiful property with a lot of Southern charm in what is probably the best location in the historic district of Savannah. I requested a room with a king bed on a high floor, preferably overlooking Reynolds Square and that's exactly what I got. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable. The four poster bed was comfortably soft and I slept well all three nights we were there. The complimentary wine and cheese social held evenings in the Lobby was enjoyable and you could intermingle with other guests if you wanted to. The only negatives were that one of the two elevators was out of order on two of the days we were there and the breakfast room on the mezzanine was small and on two mornings we had to wait for a table to empty before we could be seated. The Olde Pink House Restaurant is right next door and we dined there two consecutive nights because it was so good.

Room Tip: I was in room 520, which was a corner room on the 5th floor, overlooking Reynolds Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Planters Inn is an attractive, charming, nicely-maintained and very clean historic district hotel with polite and helpful staff members. The tariff includes a very nice wine & cheese cocktail hour, a full breakfast on the mezzanine level, terry cloth robes, bottled water, and newspapers. I am to be a frequent Savannah visitor in the future and I will always stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators as Savannah visitors stay up late & enjoy themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location can't be beat. The price was competitive with other hotels in the Savannah historic district. The desk staff excellent, all super nice and helpful. Very friendly valets/bell staff. The wine and cheese was nice. This is an older but very well maintained hotel and as such didn't have a couple of the items you will usually find in a modern chain place. There was no re fridge in our room and ice was only available by calling the front desk. However, it arrived immediately by bell hop. The hotel has only four balcony rooms. So if you want one, you might have to book early. We had one, shared with another room, on the 5th floor overlooking Reynolds Square. So nice to sit out there. An upgrade charge, but worth it for us. The breakfast buffet was ok, similar to most hotel breakfast buffets. However, there is a great breakfast place in the same building around the corner if you want a full breakfast. Next time in Savannah, we certainly will book the Planters Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger01tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,961 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 115 in Savannah
1,421 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 115 in Savannah
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 115 in Savannah
3,129 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#8 of 115 in Savannah
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2730
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $136 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing