We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jay & Pats Anniversy Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #19 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location and friendly professional staff. Arrived early, 10AM, they locked up our luggage and we went on our first of many walks. I was called at 12:30 for early check-in.

Pam at the front desk was helpful and the concierge, Karen, did a great job! Karen made our reservations for dinner at the Pink House and Alligator Soul, and worked her magic -- it was nice to enjoy dinner in a more personal setting and it appeared that the staff was attentive to the fact it was our 27th anniversary -- thank you Karen!

Room Tip: Go for a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,471 - 1,477 of 2,805 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

I visit Savannah a few times each year, staying at a different hotel each time. All can claim great location, but I rank this one so high for several reasons, but most importantly are friendliness of staff and cleanliness. Tops. Southern hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: Reynold's Square is one of the most beautiful squares, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgepd2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We "discovered" the Planters Inn on line and were pleased with the price, location, availability, and service before we ever arrived. The first person we met was the doorman, Colby, who was so warm and friendly and helpful - we loved him! He was chatty about his life in Savannah and college and we looked forward to seeing him each day he worked. Several of the desk staff were helpful in making restaurant and golf reservations, calling for a taxi, calling for our car, etc. We loved the Southern hospitality! The Inn was ideally located and we could walk everywhere. It was a great experience and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We had a good room except that it faced the parking garage which was not appealing, but we could &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We spent the last 3 days at the Planter's Inn and found it to be a charming older hotel in a great spot. The Inn is quite old, so don't expect many modern conveniences--there is no pool, hot tub or workout room, no bar or restaurant and the elevator is very slow on occasion. But the friendly and efficient front desk staff and bellmen are hard to beat and the location is perfect. You can get down to the riverfront in less than five minutes and all the way down to Forsythe Park in 15-20. The Inn is also right next to the Olde Pink House and its great bars and there is a decent continental breakfast served every morning, along with a very nice fruit, cheese and wine hour every evening. Our only complaint was the maid service and that was simply because they never seemed to take away dirty glasses or coffee cups left over from breakfast, but putting them outside our door took care of that easily enough!

Room Tip: we read not to get a room across from the parking garage, but we did anyway and the curtains were ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommyb523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

True Southern hospitality in Savannah. My wife and I have been staying here over the Memorial Day weekend for the last 5 years. The Hotel is beautifully decorated with a high ceiling entry and a beautiful lobby where they serve complimentary wine and cheese every evening. The desk staff could not be more accommodating and helpful. Be sure to say "hi" to Karen Otto, the Hotel Concierge and Amy at the front desk. They are both a fountain of knowledge about all things Savannah. A complimentary breakfast is available every day for Hotel Guests. Located on Historic Reynolds Square and about 50 feet from the famous "Old Pink House Restaurant", you can walk to any attraction in Savannah in no time at all. The River front is beautiful to walk along and they have a River front fair every Memorial Day weekend that is great fun. Restaurants around Savannah are top rated. We really like this place.

Room Tip: We stay in the same room every year. I'm not telling which one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacole1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel is quite quaint and it is a bargain. BUT, the parking garage has no security cameras past the first floor or personnel who patrol the lot. The hotel valet spots can be accessed by anyone. My car was hit in the garage and the hotel took no responsibility. I am stuck to pay my insurance deductible myself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bebeAnnArbor_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Planters Inn on Reynolds Square as an anniversary treat.
The inn was very pleasant, in the middle of the restaurant/bar district of Savannah, and quite nicely appointed. The staff were gracious, attentive and pleasant. All-in-all, it was a very nice stay.
However, be very careful about parking in the area. The Manger Garage directly adjacent to the hotel, is a bait-and-switch operation. Although posted at $15 a night, they will add "holiday surcharges" not listed anywhere when you park, that will more than double the cost of parking. There is a City of Savannah garage on the north side of the square, a few hundred feet from the hotel, that has fixed and clearly posted parking rates. That garage also has an elevator, in case you do not enjoy hiking up four flights of stairs carrying your luggage (the MangerGarage has no elevator!).
All in all, a nice visit, spoiled by parking thieves. Not really what I expected and the hotel should have done a better job of cautioning us against this hazard.

Room Tip: Be sure to park in the city garage on the north side of the square, and not in the Manger Garage on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OIJEFIONEINCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 114 in Savannah
1,344 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 114 in Savannah
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,128 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 114 in Savannah
1,270 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $152 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing