We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,072)
Filter reviews
3,072 results
Traveler rating
1,745
914
269
94
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,745
914
269
94
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reynolds square wine and cheese parking garage great location pink house next door historic district house restaurant four poster the river within walking distance each evening continental breakfast ice bucket turn down service cookies southern hospitality bottle of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
1,732 - 1,737 of 3,072 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I visit Savannah a few times each year, staying at a different hotel each time. All can claim great location, but I rank this one so high for several reasons, but most importantly are friendliness of staff and cleanliness. Tops. Southern hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: Reynold's Square is one of the most beautiful squares, too.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgepd2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We "discovered" the Planters Inn on line and were pleased with the price, location, availability, and service before we ever arrived. The first person we met was the doorman, Colby, who was so warm and friendly and helpful - we loved him! He was chatty about his life in Savannah and college and we looked forward to seeing him each day he worked. Several of the desk staff were helpful in making restaurant and golf reservations, calling for a taxi, calling for our car, etc. We loved the Southern hospitality! The Inn was ideally located and we could walk everywhere. It was a great experience and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We had a good room except that it faced the parking garage which was not appealing, but we could "see" the weather and what people were wearing!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We spent the last 3 days at the Planter's Inn and found it to be a charming older hotel in a great spot. The Inn is quite old, so don't expect many modern conveniences--there is no pool, hot tub or workout room, no bar or restaurant and the elevator is very slow on occasion. But the friendly and efficient front desk staff and bellmen are hard to beat and the location is perfect. You can get down to the riverfront in less than five minutes and all the way down to Forsythe Park in 15-20. The Inn is also right next to the Olde Pink House and its great bars and there is a decent continental breakfast served every morning, along with a very nice fruit, cheese and wine hour every evening. Our only complaint was the maid service and that was simply because they never seemed to take away dirty glasses or coffee cups left over from breakfast, but putting them outside our door took care of that easily enough!

Room Tip: we read not to get a room across from the parking garage, but we did anyway and the curtains were exceptionally thick and didn't let in any light.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommyb523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

True Southern hospitality in Savannah. My wife and I have been staying here over the Memorial Day weekend for the last 5 years. The Hotel is beautifully decorated with a high ceiling entry and a beautiful lobby where they serve complimentary wine and cheese every evening. The desk staff could not be more accommodating and helpful. Be sure to say "hi" to Karen Otto, the Hotel Concierge and Amy at the front desk. They are both a fountain of knowledge about all things Savannah. A complimentary breakfast is available every day for Hotel Guests. Located on Historic Reynolds Square and about 50 feet from the famous "Old Pink House Restaurant", you can walk to any attraction in Savannah in no time at all. The River front is beautiful to walk along and they have a River front fair every Memorial Day weekend that is great fun. Restaurants around Savannah are top rated. We really like this place.

Room Tip: We stay in the same room every year. I'm not telling which one !
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacole1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel is quite quaint and it is a bargain. BUT, the parking garage has no security cameras past the first floor or personnel who patrol the lot. The hotel valet spots can be accessed by anyone. My car was hit in the garage and the hotel took no responsibility. I am stuck to pay my insurance deductible myself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bebeAnnArbor_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews