We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but missing the basics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Ranked #19 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
charleston
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but missing the basics”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We've stayed in thousands of hotels, both for business and pleasure. This one is charming and beautifully decorated. Service was excellent; breakfast was lovely. Tom the Bellman gets kudos. Valet parking efficient and friendly. Amenities in room are all well chosen. I'd rate it higher if some of the basics were taken care of. The first thing you expect from a good hotel is a good bed. Ours was awful. The mattress caved so badly to the center that we had to use towels as bumper pads. And the TV was badly located at the side, so you had to sit at the end of the bed to use the remote. That wasn't a deal breaker, but the bad mattress was.

Room Tip: Corner room on square could be noisy. \
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolina lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,566
    832
    237
    82
    46
See reviews for
414
1,540
111
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Planters Inn has all the charm of this beautiful Southern City with all the amentities you need for a comfortabe stay. The staff was most helpful and courteous and went out of their way to offer Southern hospitality. Located in the heart of the city this is a convenient location. I will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annice58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is worth a visit and belongs in the top 10 list of Savannah hotels. My wife and I wanted to spend a night at a local hotel and experience true Savannah culture and history. This hotel did not disappoint. A friendly greeting by the front desk and Bellman (Tom)' was followed by great service to a clean room, where Tom graciously retrieved a forgotten item from our car and always asked if he could assist us further. Our room overlooked the park, which was very nice especially at night (construction is in progress in the park which is noisy during the week days only). The room had a very nice and stylish antique decor, reading area with two chairs, very nice furniture, and spacious bathroom with marble countertops. The only issue with the bathroom was the ceiling in the shower had an unfinished spackling spot about 1ft x 3in where putty was applied but it had not been sanded or reprinted. The shower worked great. The hotel is nicely located right around the corner from Leopold's Famous ice cream parlor (well worth the visit), and Broughton street with shoppes, theaters, coffee shops, and popular clothing stores within a 1-3 block walking distance. We rounded out the evening with a 1hr horse and carriage ride around the city--we'll worth the experience--and returned to the hotel to be greeted by Tom the friendly bellman. Overnight the room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The next morning we checked out and was handled extremely well by Sam, another bellman who carried all of our bags, retrieved our car, and carefully placed our belongings in the car. Other than the bathroom ceiling, this place is worthy of a stay when in Savannah.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guruph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very nice experience. Wine and cheese still available in lobby when we arrived at 6. The room was small but comfortable, especially the bed, with luxurious covers. The "boutique hotel" atmosphere was lovely; the staff very helpful. We were traveling on the next day, but would like to have been able to stay at least another day to take advantage of the historic location of the hotel and more of Savannah. The price was very reasonable for the atmosphere and comfort.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MIMOR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lionlvr
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My friends and I recently stayed two nights at The Planters Inn. The decor was beautiful but welcoming. All staffers were friendly. The bedroom where I stayed was small but very comfortable and stylish. Planters Inn is convenient to the riverwalk and all sorts of shops and entertainment. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. By the way, the complimentary breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Planters Inn for four days. This is a small, cozy hotel with a friendly and efficient staff. Our room was lovely - more like staying in someone's very nice guest room - rather than a generic hotel room. The four poster beds were comfortable. The complimentary wine and cheese in the evening was very pleasant and a chance to meet other guests. The breakfast buffet was good and very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I Stayed at the Planters Inn from Feb 07-.10. I booked the Romance Package. It was my first time in Savannah and the truth is that I didn´t know what to expect, but I was impressed; from the moment that we arrived, there were roses and a bottle of champagne waiting for us at the room and since we arrived late and were tired, we wanted to order room service, well the room service is provided by the Olde Pink House, and the food is very good. It was delivered to our room within 20 minutes after we ordered it.

The hotel is very well located, the The Olde Pink House is next to it, everything is within walking distance. The rooms are clean and the bed was very comfortable.

As part of our package, we also had a carriage waiting for us the next morning and it pretty much showed on time, it was a very good experience since we were able to get familiar with our surroundings.

They had a piano player and happy hour in the afternoon, which was great.

I will definitely come back.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,746 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,306 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#11 of 113 in Savannah
1,240 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,889 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#22 of 113 in Savannah
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Property: Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Address: 29 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31401-2715
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing