We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Anniversary”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Ignace, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Anniversary”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed on the second floor king balcony for our 28th anniversary. It had all the southern charm and expectations we had hoped for. A wonderful two day experience, with wonderful next door neighbors we met on the balcony! We had the time of our lives.. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8323kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,999
    565
    115
    42
    25
See reviews for
517
1,503
106
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in the superior room with King size bed. I love the design of this hotel. Service was great overall. Room size was good with lovely colonial design. Bathroom was small with only shower but it was clean and good design.

We took advantage of the complimentary wine and cheese reception in the afternoon. Breakfast was average but still lovely.

Location was great, walkable to all the attractions. The hotel is well suitable to the gorgeous city of Savannah.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaMew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed one night with our 2 children (8 & 10). We liked convenient location, sunny breakfast area, and the courteous and helpful staff. The downside was the size of the room for 2 adults and 2 children was too small and there is only a stand-up shower which may be inconvenient for some. Also the wine & cheese reception area is small so be sure to get there early to get a seat. I would not return with my family, but perhaps with my spouse only if we could get a King room with more space.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for King room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisandbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel is old, which can be both charming (the rolling hall floors) and a drawback (a very tiny shower and well worn sink with cracks). The room itself was fine, as was the bed. The location is terrific--right in the heart of the historic district with easy access to the river and many historic houses/squares. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly, but there were a couple of exceptions. One day they forgot to make up our room until we called at about 5 pm after returning from activities. Some noise at night.

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor room in front at the opposite end from elevator and ice machine--pretty quiet. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a historic building in Savannah, and is right in the middle of the historic district. The staff is great and provides great service. The evening wine and cheese reception and morning breakfast are both very good. Our room was a bit small, but very comfortable and with very good amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to experience historic Savannah on this trip and the Marshall House was a perfect fit! Beautifully renovated historic building. Loved the wood floors and old southern details throughout. We enjoyed having a balcony room and recommend that "upgrade" to others! The little details made the difference too--from the wine & cheese reception to the bottled water provided daily. Breakfast was just the right amount of choices to not be too heavy to start your day off exploring Savannah. Enjoyed every minute of our trip and hope to return again in the future.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This B&B was wonderful - lots of Southern charm. The location was perfect, too. We were able to easily stop by our room to drop things off, change, etc. because it is right on Broughton and pretty much in the middle of everything. The staff was very friendly as well. The only compliant I have is that the breakfast was not a great as I expected. We only ate breakfast for one morning because the options were very, very limited. It was very sad to see that it was not much more than a breakfast you might have complimentary at any chain hotel. With all the great food in Savannah, including breakfast spots, I definitely did not want to settle for a mediocre breakfast during our stay. Despite the breakfast, however, we would be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blakelee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,306 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#11 of 113 in Savannah
1,239 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#22 of 113 in Savannah
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing