We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I had my my wedding reception at the Marshall house on march 1,2014... I cannot put into words how amazing our experience was. John at 45 bistro is a God send... Not only did he set
Up and arrange my reception to my exact specifications, he also did my all my floral arrangements which were out of this world!!!!!!!!! The good was delicious and the staff was amazing... I will go back every year to celebrate our anniversary and other special occasions at 45 bistro. I really love this establishment and what it represents. It is an integral part of the savannah community !!!!! Best wedding reception!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mneher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,997
    565
    115
    42
    25
See reviews for
517
1,501
106
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Had some small issues when checking in, but these were cleared up quickly by the staff (and we were compensated for the mix up without asking). Wonderfully historic hotel with the amenities you need for a higher end stay. Perfect location between 4 beautiful historic squares and right on the main street no less, walk-able to almost any destination in the historic district.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorchrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Marshall House first opened in 1851 and was renovated around 1999. This is a well maintained building on the edge of the Savannah historic district. All locations and squares are within walking distance of the hotel.

The rooms and public areas are beautifully furnished. Our room included a comfy king bed, classic tiled bathroom with a great shower (no tub), hard wood floors, and just a pleasant place to stay. Do remember that this is an old building, it is a long way from the accommodations at any of the name brand hotels in the country. Regardless, we love this type of place.

Great staff, smiling and helpful. Wine and cheese served every evening in the lobby, a pleasant time to relax and visit with other travelers. A superior breakfast also included in the morning.

Very little not to like here. We would come back to Savannah and this hotel in a minute. We loved it here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WVUNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I and another couple stayed for 2 nights in The Marshall House. Staff were extremely helpful and courteous throughout our stay, providing helpful advice on restaurants we might like to visit in downtown Savannah. Our room, whilst perfectly comfortable with excellent facilities, suffered from us having a view of a City centre car park at the rear of the hotel. Each evening the hotel offered guests wine and cheese in the early evening, and other hotels might usefully learn from this generous gesture on the part of management.

Breakfasts were no more than adequate, indeed on the second morning we decided to eat at a nearby restaurant. Overall, we would most certainly stay again, mainly because of the close proximity to the old town.

Room Tip: Specify in advance the room you would most like to occupy ( away from elevators and air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Marshall House. Room was clean and comfortable the staff were very helpful. Great location in the historic district. Restaurant and bar were excellent. Would definitely stay there again on future trips to Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyRandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a gorgeous and well-kept establishment. Rooms are beautiful and clean. We liked the proximity to local attractions and being in the heart of the historic district. Wine and cheese in the early evening, in the parlor also was fun. One downside, the floors in the hallway should be covered with carpeting or a runner as the sound of suitcases rolling was sometimes loud.

Room Tip: The suite is great for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We arrived early (1:30) & our room was ready! Front desk, house keeping, concierge & valet staff were all extremely friendly. Room clean & comfortable beds. Breakfast was okay, room for improvement. Location was prime, close to everything!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 2Hicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,305 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#10 of 113 in Savannah
1,238 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing