We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, historic hotel in downtown Savannah”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming, historic hotel in downtown Savannah”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Marshall House for one night in late January 2014. The hotel was great-- in a historic building, tastefully appointed, central location, and helpful staff.

We stayed in a suite overlooking the street-- the room was large with a separate sitting room. The decor was nice, and the bathroom, which including a shower and a separate tub, was just fine. There was a communal balcony you could walk out onto from a large window, but we never ventured since it was cold. For the price, I thought it was a great room and value.

There was a wine hour in the evening with light appetizers, and we enjoyed playing checkers in the sitting area. The breakfast was ok, nothing to write home about. I had a drink one night in the adjacent bar-- the bartender was a bit eccentric, but his manhattan was great.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for its location, comfort, historic building, and value

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sir_snorksalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,966
    561
    115
    42
    25
See reviews for
504
1,484
103
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Lovely historic building. Great ambiance. Comfy bed! Hotel within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and The Coffee Fox, which I need to give 5 stars next. Spur of the moment weekend getaway to savannah. Hotel was perfect.

Room Tip: Room 420 quiet and private, view of the roof, though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Most of the time you never think of he small things when you travel. We were tired and we pulled right up to the hotel and from that moment on, we didnt have to life a finger. Great location, clean. priced right and the doorman could have been a tour guide. Bring cash cause the service is so good, you will want to tip everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I travel to Savannah at least once a month for work, and I always stay at the Marshall house. It is an incredibly well preserved historic building with an exceptionally service oriented staff. The rooms are not large, but are quaint, and feel more like home than any other hotel in the area. I highly recommend the Marshall House!

Room Tip: They say the third floor is haunted, but I have tried to no avail to be haunted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk City, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel was beyond our expectations. Great location, right in the middle of the historic district with restaurants and shops in area. Close to the squares. We did the walking tour of the squares. Great service, very helpful with suggestions and directions. Great complimentary breakfast, including juices, breads and pastries, eggs, quiche, yogurt, good coffee. We never left hungry. They also offered complimentary wine/cheese in the evening. The room was cozy and clean. A great historic hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I spent three days in Savannah and chose the Marshall House as our base of operation. The location was perfect, great for walking all around historic Savannah. The desk clerk was pleasant and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. The valets were extremely pleasant and cooperative. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evenings and the breakfasts in the attractive atrium. The room was nicely decorated and quite clean. The only negative was a lack of counter space in the bathroom. It was hard to shave or put on makeup. I will stay at the Marshall House again the next time I visit Savannah!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 53lynnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The South
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful vacation. Staff is excellent! Breakfast ladies were very friendly, as was everyone we encountered. The location is perfect; we never used the car. Savannah is very easy to navigate and everything we did was close enough to walk. Concierge was informative and had great suggestions. The complimentary breakfast and evening wine, as well as the bottles of water were very much appreciated. We have never had a continental breakfast that included fresh quiche or real scrambled eggs! The hotel itself is very charming and our small king room was cozy and relaxing. Shower pressure and comfy bed was wonderful! Can't wait to come back to Savannah and The Marshall House!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whittneyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,284 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
1,219 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing