We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel was beyond our expectations. Great location, right in the middle of the historic district with restaurants and shops in area. Close to the squares. We did the walking tour of the squares. Great service, very helpful with suggestions and directions. Great complimentary breakfast, including juices, breads and pastries, eggs, quiche, yogurt, good coffee. We never left hungry. They also offered complimentary wine/cheese in the evening. The room was cozy and clean. A great historic hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,809)
There are newer reviews for The Marshall House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,695 - 1,701 of 2,817 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I spent three days in Savannah and chose the Marshall House as our base of operation. The location was perfect, great for walking all around historic Savannah. The desk clerk was pleasant and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. The valets were extremely pleasant and cooperative. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evenings and the breakfasts in the attractive atrium. The room was nicely decorated and quite clean. The only negative was a lack of counter space in the bathroom. It was hard to shave or put on makeup. I will stay at the Marshall House again the next time I visit Savannah!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 53lynnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful vacation. Staff is excellent! Breakfast ladies were very friendly, as was everyone we encountered. The location is perfect; we never used the car. Savannah is very easy to navigate and everything we did was close enough to walk. Concierge was informative and had great suggestions. The complimentary breakfast and evening wine, as well as the bottles of water were very much appreciated. We have never had a continental breakfast that included fresh quiche or real scrambled eggs! The hotel itself is very charming and our small king room was cozy and relaxing. Shower pressure and comfy bed was wonderful! Can't wait to come back to Savannah and The Marshall House!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whittneyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights here for a conference. The hotel is in a beautiful building in historic Savannah easy walking distance to all the sights and the convention center via water taxi.

Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Room was quite small and had no desk so not great for doing work, though the lounge downstairs is quite a pleasant place to relax or work. Breakfast is served in a covered pretty courtyard and was a nice assortment and wine and cheese in the evening was fairly standard fare.

The TV was at a strange angle and not really amenable to watching but not an issue for me. My room was quite hot despite a cold snap (74 degrees when 40s outside) and window faced courtyard so couldn't be opened. I had to turn on the air conditioning to make it tolerable to sleep, but the very loud fan kept waking me up every time it turned on. Next time I'd request a room with a window that can be opened!

Overall though a nice place to stay especially at the rate I got.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank gnat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We chose this hotel for it's location. It is a really beautiful historic building in a great spot. We chose to park in the parking garage behind the hotel. It was a good choice. Paid 7.00 all together for the early afternoon we arrived and the morning we departed. Did not need to move the car but was glad for the access to it as needed. The room was quite small, but we did not go to Savannah to sit in the room. The staff was very friendly, and we were very pleased. I think this will be our go to hotel from now on when we travel to Savannah. The main reason I did not give it 5 stars is because I prefer a place with parking included and the small size of the rooms. Our room was also near the ice machine and we heard a lot of noise outside of our room from that as well as from people talking while going down the hallway. It's an older building though, so some noise is to be expected.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We chose this hotel as our last stop during our 35 year anniversary trip. The hotel was beautiful, valet parking (as with most of the hotels downtown) was $15 for the night and added to our bill. Complementary robes are placed in your room for your use during your stay. The room was very nicely decorated and quite comfy. Be advised, there are hard wood floors in the rooms and ceramic tiles in the bathroom, make sure you have slippers or socks with tread on them or you will be sliding all over the place. Our room was right next to the elevator and could be heard through the walls off and on through out the night. Breakfast is included in the stay but if you want something substantial or your have dietary concerns, you may want to go elsewhere. The staff was awesome!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators so you won't have to listen to them 'dinging' all...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We chose this wonderful hotel after looking at reviews of many. It was important to us to be in walking distance of the historic sites and lovely neighborhoods. We chose it based on location, price and reviews. It was everything we could have wanted. Right downtown, just a couple blocks from the river and the perfect location for walking through the neighborhoods and parks. The room was small as we expected in an old hotel but it was very nicely decorated and efficient. The breakfast was great! This was not your basic cereal and bagel option; each day we had quiche or an egg dish and many other options. The wine and cheese each day was a real bonus. It was a wonderful break in a day of nonstop site seeing. We will be back! Thank you to the excellent, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 114 in Savannah
1,327 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 114 in Savannah
1,114 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#12 of 114 in Savannah
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,942 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $150 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing