We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly a pleasure”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“truly a pleasure”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My girlfriend and I booked a stay at the Marshall House for three nights over New Years. We first made reservations with Bridgett who was extremely friendly and genuine. After we made the reservations we did a lot more homework and discovered that the Marshall House is considered one of the countries most haunted hotels. After reading off some information from the internet about the hotels past to my girlfriend she decided that the Marshall house wasn't for us! We called Bridgett back to cancel the reservation but once on the phone she reassured my girlfriend that it's only as haunted as you want it to be! We liked that approach and decided to stick with the Marshall House and hope for the best!!
We arrived at the Marshall House around 4pm the day of the 30th to start our New Years vacation! The moment we pulled up, valet came right to the car with a pleasant greeting. Next thing I know our luggage is being escorted into the lobby and the front desk was ready to check us in. Check in was a breeze and soon we were heading up the elevator to our room on the second floor. We arrived. Our room was a corner room with access to the veranda! The bellman John was beyond friendly and told me a few neat facts about the hotel that I didn't already know. One fact was that there are no doors to access the veranda from the room. The large windows were our in/out from the room to the balcony. How different! The room was neat and clean. A charming room with very tall ceilings and gorgeous crown molding. The bathroom featured a bear claw tub that I believe to be original.
Unfortunately when we made the reservations we were going to have to change rooms after the first night due to our procrastination in booking a room at the Marshall House over a holiday. We are laid back so that was not a big deal at all.
The second room was on the 4th floor! Around a few corners and we arrived. Room 407! Larger then the last room but with two queens instead of a king, and a nice shower instead of the bear claw tub. No big deals at all! The only issue I had the whole time was the tv in room 407 was at a weird angle and there is no way to fix it. Oh well:(
We did the wine and cheese and the breakfast once each. Breakfast was good. It was a clean cut assortment. The wine and cheese was nice as well.
Overall we had a great time at the Marshall House. The location was fantastic and the price was reasonable. If we ever go back to Savannah we will certainly stay at the Marshall House again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouchOscuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,950
    559
    115
    42
    25
See reviews for
500
1,471
103
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isleham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

After a six hour drive we were not quite sure what to expect. Upon arrival we were met by the valet who was exceedingly gracious. Upon entering, the front desk staff set the tone of our stay by greeting us by name. The Southern hospitality and attention to detail that the entire staff displayed could be used as a training aid by all the other hotels and B & B's throughout the area.

This is the oldest hotel/B & B in Savannah and has been lovingly restored keeping all the old charm throughout the rooms and common areas. Some rooms are on the small side (which is to be expected) but well appointed and some rooms are quite large. An interesting and charming touch is that they have left all the rooms and hall fireplaces intact (although not active). Just another interesting backward glance of what life must have been like hundreds of years ago.

The Marshall House is not to be missed if planning an overnight trip to Savannah.

The only minor negative is slow wireless internet service.

Would we stay there again? YES.

Room Tip: Even the rooms overlooking the street are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Marshall House is the grand dame of historic Savannah hotels, which naturally means its haunted. I didn't experience any paranormal activity here, but I did have a perfectly pleasant stay. The room was nice, but the hotel is decidedly old. That adds to the charm, but also adds to the creaks in the hallway and to difficulty keeping other hallway noises out, too. Ghosts probably would've been a little quieter than guests and staff walking past our door.

We didn't have a lot of interactions with the staff, but got some good assistance from the concierge. Unfortunately, one of his recommendations had just closed to make some renovations. The hotel offers a nice continental breakfast and the lobby and common areas are very well appointed.

The Marshall House is located on Broughton Street, one of the main streets through the heart of Savannah. You are easily within walking distance of all the downtown historic sites, but Broughton Street itself is a little weak. There are pockets of cute stores and coffee shops, but then a string of vacant or blandly decorated storefronts, too. Still, it's better to be there then by the larger chain hotels closer to the river.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ga
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent an excellent weekend at the Marshall House celebrating our anniversary. We stayed in a suite which was very comfortable. The king size bed had a very firm mattress which made for a nice night's sleep. This is a historic restored hotel, which is lovely and quaint and a bit quirky in places. The beautiful old hardwood floors are a warped in places which can make for a bit of an uneven walk, especially if you have enjoyed the especially accommodating 45 Bistro bar in the hotel. The bathroom in our room was smaller than what I have seen in other similarly priced suites, but it was clean, comfortable, and the shower had sufficient force and plenty of hot water.
The staff was amazingly attentive. In addition to the valet parking, and the assistance with bags, they went the extra mile to assist with ice, refreshments, reservations, directions, really anything you could think of. We even left our Ipad in our car. No problem. That was retrieved straightaway and was securely in our room upon our return from lunch.
Highly recommend this elegant, yet comfortable hotel right in the center of downtown Savannah, within walking distance of nearly everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicksSpringfield_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a wonderful pre-Christmas stay here. The inn is conveniently located to all of the historic sites in Savannah. We loved the breakfast and wine and cheese. Mr. John is our favorite! What an excellent trip we had!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Marshall House. The location is great, very central. Our room was very nice, our only complaint is that our windows looked out on a large parking garage. Not the best view considering how much we paid for our room. The staff was very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetigger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antioch, ca
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husand and I spent one night at the Marshall House in November. From the time that we checked in until the valet returned our car, we were welcomed with friendly respect. Neil at the desk was warm and efficient, and that extended to all the staff that we encountered. The hotel is charming and "antique-y". Our room, a superior king, was lovely in its decor and comfortable in its amenities. The hotel had a fun wine and cheese party where guests had a chance to mingle. The location of the hotel is excellent. We walked to Lady and Sons for dinner, and the next day we further explored the historic district of Savannah on foot. Breakfast, served in a former courtyard (now roofed over), was plentiful and, if not delicious, certainly adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockys_friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,280 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
1,215 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing