We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A FIRST CLASS ACT”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A FIRST CLASS ACT”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed for four nights in this historic inn. It has been meticulously restored, and the decorations are traditional yet not boring. I enjoyed all of the historic memorabilia, including framed historic prints and costumes from the era. The staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions about the area. The location is very central to the downtown and historic areas. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizzabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,837
    548
    112
    42
    23
See reviews for
467
1,397
97
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

After staying here for Thanksgiving weekend I can say this is definitely the nicest hotel in savannah. The staff are very attentive and super helpful. Along with it being the oldest hotel in savannah, it has amazing rooms and some say it's even haunted. This is a must stay if your ever in the area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
323 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I was very pleased, for a number of reasons, to have chosen Marshall House for our first trip to Savannah. When traveling, I always try to find local hotels and restaurants. We stayed three nights.

Rates: I booked on the hotel's web site last summer and obtained excellent rates; actually, changed from a queen room to a courtyard suite for only about $30.00 more. Our spacious suite offered two separate rooms and more than adequate space for two grandparents and a six-year old grandson.

Location: We found the Marshall House to be situated in an excellent location on Broughton Street. A brief drive down Bay Street and River Street affirmed my decision not to stay on those very touristy streets. We were within easy walking distance to many sites of interest, near restaurants and interesting shops.

Service: I cannot say enough about the service. The parking valet greeted us promptly. Staff addressed us by name, a new experience for us. Everyone was most helpful. For example, I mentioned that we wanted to find a restaurant that served crab cakes Benedict for breakfast and forgot about the comment until we walked through the lobby and the clerk told us that she found a restaurant for us. WOW! Oh! The wine and cheese reception provided a welcome late afternoon respite. Also, housekeeping kept our room impeccably clean. Staff offered assistance and directions every time we left the hotel.

Just a few additional comments: Yes, I read reviews that complained about the view from hotel rooms that overlooked a parking garage. That was the view from our room; however, we were not there to sit in our rooms to view Savannah. Also, I read reviews that included complaints about creaky wooden floors. Well, this is a very old and historic building where original fixtures and character were well-maintained. Not a problem for us. We thoroughly enjoyed the service, character, ambiance; actually, just everything about Marshall House. If we return to Savannah, we will return to the Marshall House. If you prefer sterile "big box" hotels, Marshall House is not the hotel for you. If you enjoy historic character and charm, the Marshall House will meet your needs.

Room Tip: I did not intend to rate kids activities; Marshall House is not a resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillM551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Marshall House is a great hotel located in the heart of the historic district of Savannah. It is within a few blocks of Reynolds Square, Bay and River Streets, and the Olde Pink House restaurant. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful and the building itself is beautiful. The rooms are decorated with classic southern charm and all the most modern conveniences like high speed internet, HD televisions, and great bathrooms. The complimentary breakfast is very good the courtyard it is in is lovely. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and it the perfect place to stay on a romantic trip to Savannah.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Broughton St on the second floor open up onto a veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjmart90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Berkshires, MA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great location, lovely restoration of an old hotel. Because it was updated in 1999, it has many modern features such as a refrigerator and large, flat screen TV. Breakfast is included in the atrium with a hot entree and well as the standard cold breakfast offerings. The highlight of our stay was the wine and cheese gathering in the parlor. Nice cheese and very acceptable wine in a lovely atmosphere. You can meet other guests or stay in your own group.

The staff was welcoming and attentive with a full five stars for Michelle, the concierge. She recommended two restaurants that were perfect for our needs (we wanted live music) and she was helpful about sites to see and other information. Most of all she does her homework and knows what's happening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

From the staff to the rooms to the dining to the location, this place is perfect. I'm not sure you could find a nicer place to stay in Savannah. The staff is spectacular from the moment you check in to the moment you check out. The dining experience is definitely five star with a vast array of choices and a full service bar. The location...well you can't get much better than the middle of old historic Savannah. Everything is within walking distance and I do mean everything. I highly recommend staying at The Marshall House, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Wonderful staff and an olde worlde feel makes this a memorable place to stay. If you prefer all mod cons and large rooms stuffed with the latest comfortable furniture maybe its not for you!!

The hotel is right in the heart of the historic area you will not need your car again until its time to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,949 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing