We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My second trip to the Marshall House and the staff is still wonderful...friendly and helpful. The location can't be beat. It is within walking distance of the river, restaurants, and the numerous beautiful squares in Savannah. There is a great little bar off the lobby<great for a nightcap. Everyone, staff and patrons are very friendly. The hotel offers a number of amenities in its price, from a hot breakfast to wine and cheese in the late afternoon. The rooms are small but beautifully appointed, right down to luxurious bathrobes.This is the only place to stay in Savannah. Try it, you'll love it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,733
    533
    109
    41
    23
See reviews for
438
1,328
92
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Marshall House for two nights on our first trip to Savannah and loved it!

It is very tastefully decorated and our room, though small, was nicely appointed and the staff were wonderful. The location was convenient, the breakfast was filling and the price was good. We’d highly recommend staying at the Marshall House while in Savannah.

Room Tip: Our room away from the street was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 122793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel years ago and wanted to stay a night on a quick trip passing through so we chose the Petite Queen. I was not sure how small it would be but it was more than ample room and just as stunning as the King room we were in previously. I just love how this hotel combines the modern conveniences with the historic charm and feel of the old building. Its a seamless blending of old and new that makes you comfortable yet lets you indulge in the history. I love the old wood floors old fireplace area in the room. They have an armoire that is so large I thought if i went inside I might find Narnia on the other side! It is just a stunning hotel with a New Orleans sort of charm to it and a great location...only blocks away from River Street and a nice walk to everything. The bed is amazing and so comfortable with great linens. We even had a mini fridge and a flat screen TV. We arrived super late after a 14 hour drive and we were exhausted and hungry and the lovely woman at the front desk actually called to get us a reservation at Alligator Soul the next night even though the hotel was booked up and we couldn't stay there. So kind and thoughtful and they even recommended a Pub for dinner that night that was open later and had great food (Churchill's Pub). The breakfast is great too and included! You can self park in the garage behind the hotel and it was reasonable. This will always be my first choice for a place to stay in Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for several nights. Our room was small, but tastefully decorated. Our bed was comfortable (critical) and it was very clean. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was adequate. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank najneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Marshall House. Our stay was absolutely wonderful! The building has so much charm, and our room was exceptionally comfortable. The bed was to die for! Each evening, complimentary wine and cheese were served to guests. Complimentary lemonade was available all day long. The breakfast buffet included assorted breads and pastries, quiche, scrambled eggs, cereal and fruit. The breakfast room is just lovely! If you are headed to Savannah, you will want to stay at the Marshall House!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We did not realize it before hand but this charming hotel is on the walking Ghost Tour! Unfortunately we saw no ghosts so can neither confirm or deny the story. However, if I were a ghost, I certainly would love residing in the warm, charming historical rooms. Rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Service was warm and welcoming from the doorman to reception to manager on down. Plenty of helpful advice was offered and the wine reception each afternoon was a welcome break from touring this beautiful city. Breakfast buffet was good and we enjoyed the addition of a hot entree each morning. Location was perfect for walking down to the river or the many historical squares, shops and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I chose this hotel because of TA reviews, So here goes,
The good- wonderful, welcoming staff. They were always attentive, The building is beautiful,
The location is very central so you can walk anywhere in the historical district,
The not so good, We chose The Mary Marshall Suite (I think the most expensive room), It was on the 2nd floor, so we could take the stairs up to our room. The room was at the end of the open veranda, where you climbed out the window, However, the room is also right near the elevator, so you heard that noise, Also, it's right at the top of stairs and across from the maids closets, The room itself was pretty nice, keeping in my this is an old place, Lots of room and light in the windows, The wood floors were beautiful but very slippery, Thank goodness there was a nice shower, because showering in the clawfoot tub would have been tough, I could have tolerated all the above, but one thing that isn't really mentioned in most of the other reviews is the NOISE from the street below, Broughton is main city street, so cars, trucks, fire and police cars at all hours,
So I would say if you want quiet, ask for a room not facing the street, But then I don't know what you would be looking at.
So again, this is a great location with wonderful staff. But these other issues are main considerations,

Room Tip: Mary Marshall Suite lovely, but faces Broughton which is very loud and noisy, Outside balcony was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing