We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel in the beautiful city of Savannah!”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just pay the money and stay here--it's in the heart of things so you can walk everywhere. You'll have to park the car in a nearby garage (and pay for it), but it's worth getting out on foot. The rooms are not the highlight--it's the lobby. The breakfast room is sunny and bright, yet air-conditioned. There is a wine and cheese reception in the afternoon. We loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-hawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,931 - 1,937 of 2,922 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

I presume that like much of Savannah, The Marshall House is driven by a tourist economy. We had booked a stay at The Marshall House, flying there from Houston, TX. But a forecast of bad weather forced us to change plans. Imagine our surprise that a tourist hotel would NOT give us a refund on our credit card. Every other hotel I've stayed at - and the ones in Charleston and Myrtle Beach gladly refunded our credit card because of the bad weather. I'm shocked and disappointed at a tourist hotel with this policy. Their solution was for us to "reschedule in 3 months". We're flying from Houston. It's NOT a casual thing. Shame on The Marshall House.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBSavannah1, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

This guest booked a special-offer Advanced Purchase Rate, which we offer with a steep discount and a non refundable cancellation policy. The Terms and Conditions for this special rate are agreed to prior to the completion of the reservation. While it is the Marshall House policy that these reservations cannot be changed, cancelled or moved, we did offer this guest an alternative arrangement due to his situation, by allowing him to extend his reservation three months. In the summer months, it is quite common to receive flood warnings in the lower areas of the Coastal Georgia Low Country. Fortunately, Savannah's Historic District is not in a low-lying area, and The Marshall House and its guests enjoyed beautiful weather last weekend.
- Russ Mitchell, Innkeeper, The Marshall House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I could not have been happier in my wildest dreams! I drove through Savannah and had the urge to see the city so I had no idea where I would stay so I looked on Trip Advisor. The staff were so accommodating and found me a room with the claw bathtub for a great price. The room was absolutely beautiful with great views of Broughton St. Breakfast was fantastic and the homemade biscuits with jelly were divine. My only gripe was how loud it was early morning with people above and the Creaking wood floors. The hallways are extremely loud too so if your looking to sleep in, see if they have a 4th floor with no close neighbors. It was a great overnight stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tellbobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just a few blocks from river. Attentive staff, very courteous. Love the old wooden floors and mix of old and new. Comfy beds! Street noise muted well for the most part. Fun to people watch from the shared balcony. Best hotel experience to date. Had ordered wine and cheese, chocolate covered strawberries for arrival and it was in room ready when we checked in even though we were early, but they had just put it out (ice wasnt melted at all). They called ahead to know when to place it. Would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Get a veranda room. Makes it perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful city! Great location to shops and restaurants. My family of 5 booked 2 rooms and both rooms were clean and comfortable in size and amenities. No issues with either of the rooms or with the staff, whom were all friendly and helpful.
If I had to state any negative at all, it would be the complimentary breakfast. While it was completely adequate, it wasn't much to rave about--pretty much just bagels and cereals.
This hotel really gives you the true Savannah experience and southern hospitality you might expect. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scheerer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wonderful stay at this historic hotel, highly recommend the balcony rooms for the relaxing view on the porch. Very nostalgic and in the center of historic district within walking to everything! No ghost on 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusMarkMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed one night at The Marshall House on a tour along the East Coast. The Marshall House is one of the oldest hotels in town which is clearly visible from the outside. An old typical building but fully renovated and well tended.
Also on the inside the hotel has been nicely refurbished and is very clean. We had a rather small room but nevertheless nicely decorated in fresh and pleasant colours and the old charm preserved.
Extremely helpful staff, a good introduction to Savannah by the concierge.
We dined in the restaurant and were more than happy with the quality. The breakfast on the other hand we found a bit on the poor side.
Savannah itself was somewhat of a disappointment as it's not the most clean town and definitely would need a face-lift. We might have been spoiled a bit by Charleston. The Marshall House made up for it however.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 115 in Savannah
1,399 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#15 of 115 in Savannah
3,184 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 115 in Savannah
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $152 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing