We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect place in the perfect place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place in the perfect place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had the chance for a little road trip to Savannah. This hotel like the city is steeped in history. Yet keeps all of the basics that you would expect in a large hotel chain and more. ( comfortable bed, great aircon, tv, bathroom with good shower)
Also in the rate is a good buffet breakfast, and an evening wine and cheese hour.
Staff are friendly and enthusiastic.
Valet parking is a very reasonable $15. I don't think you'll beat this and it's just a short walk from all the middle of town.
If sightseeing don't just head for river street; go behind the hotel for beautiful park and architecture

Room Tip: Book early or get in touch to get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,682
    528
    106
    41
    22
See reviews for
427
1,290
90
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel in July 2013 - spent 2 nights. The consistent positive reviews are all accurate - this is a fantastic place to stay when visiting Savannah. The staff are extremely friendly and the rooms are well appointed and the location is great.. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor - although the elevator is small by newer hotel standards we found that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our 1st time to Savannah and we were delighted to be greeted by the wonderful bellman
and professional helpful staff. From the moment of our arrival till our goodbyes we were pampered.
This hotel was convenient offering a lovely lobby and beautiful atrium room, the rooms were very nice and quiet with comfortable bedding. The Complimentry Breakfasts and Evening Wine Receptions added to the overall enjoyment of this fine hotel. I would highly recommend the Marshall House and hope to revisit soon.

Room Tip: We did not experience any noise nor were we bothered by anything during our stay. We were on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Charming decor, friendly service, clean & comfy rooms. Great location, too. Hope to return soon. Complimentary wifi, complimentary breakfast, and evening wine reception make it all a great value, too. Lobby was very inviting, as was the lounge at the attached bistro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our fourth time staying at the Marshall House. As usual the staff was extremely professional and helpful. The bellmen in particular were great. Our room was clean and well appointed, although a little small for a King Room. The antiques and the artwork throughout the hotel are a very nice touch.
The location is great. No more than a 5 block walk to restaurants, shopping or the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
351 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We just finished a three night stay and I can't express how mich we liked the Marshall House. The first two nights we spent in a king room with the balcony, where we enjoyed watching the tours go by day and night. The room was beautiful and I loved the original details-claw foot tub, fireplace, transoms, even crawling out the window to get in the verandah. The last night we stayed in a petite queen (as I had originally reserved) and while it was small, it was certainly functional with a comfortable bed, walk in shower, and plenty if plushy towels.

No matter which room you are in, you get the same amazing service, who I won't mention by name for fear of leaving someone off the list. Being greeted warmly every day after touring, getting excellent suggestions for tours and food, and being treated royally at every turn make me eager to return to the Marshall House.

...and I didn't even mention the perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diinslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
286 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Delightfully surprised. Very charming hotel close to loads of places to visit. Concierge most help as were the people at the desk. Charming old fashioned room with modern conveniences. 45 Bistro in lobby and what a great restaurant that was. Reasonable hotel rates and just absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#8 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing