We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lots of perks and reasons to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lots of perks and reasons to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

First the downsides; they do not tell you there is a free bus around town called the DOT, so ask about it when you check in. Our room was clean, immaculate and quiet, as we asked for when we called for a reservation. The awkwardly placed TV was craning our necks and the small bathroom was awkward without a shower caddy or enough table or shelf space. That said, everything else was really perfect! Breakfast is good, wine and cheese is great and all the help are attentive and polite. They rush up with anything you call for, and helped us check in for our flights and print our boarding passes. The location is super, just as Trip Advisor said, and there is a CVS pharmacy and an ice cream shop within walking distance. It was a super value for the money, and I noticed the rates on the booking services were higher than calling the MH directly. Savannah is a gem and the Marshall House gave us lovely memories.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank whatsitwerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    491
    98
    38
    21
See reviews for
385
1,158
78
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Point, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at the Marshall House for 2 nights. Have to say what a truly historical gem. The building is simply lovely and the staff was wonderful (especially the valet crew). Great location within walking distance to just about everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Southern Hospitality at its best! Very kind and helpful staff in a well restored Hotel. Room was clean and comfortable. Seemed to be centrally located. Nice wine and cheese in evenings and good breakfast. However, air-conditioning was very noisy and since our room was located on the street side, we could also hear every truck go by.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for an inner quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter17963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed hotel. Rooms are small and have shower rather than bath. Floors are original wood floors. Balcony of our room entered by climbing out window.. Apparently tax saving when hotel built. Reception staff and valet service staff very friendly and helpful. Nice touch is the complementary wine and cheese each afternoon at 5.30pm. Breakfast good. Would hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmillar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Would stay here again, the hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Historic District and eating out around the river (I liked Vic's on the River the most). Staff were friendly, hotel was old and interesting, everything worked properly and was comfortable and clean. Breakfast could have done with more fruit for those of us that can't stomach heavy breakfasts of cereal and bagels. Car park is right behind the hotel which is really convenient.

Room Tip: The petite queen rooms are definitely petite so be sure you're ok with that before booking this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTilley2731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I just returned home yesterday form a 3 night stay at The Marshall House. We were hoping for a nice, quiet, affordable, relaxing get away location in Savannah that was also centrally located so walking would be easy. We found all of that and more! It is an older hotel, not a small B&B, but yet it has a small and personable atmosphere.

The front desk staff were always pleasant. The bellmen and valets were always friendly, prompt and courteous. The maid staff did a great job as well. Overall, we had a great time. I'd suggest a little more offering on the breakfast, but the quality was fine. The coffee was good which was most important.

Each evening there was an abundance of wine and cheese to enjoy. We received numerous suggestions on what to see and where to go. Overall, we had a great getaway that exceeded our expectations! We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Birmingham35226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Don't stay with the tourists down near River Street - stay a short walk away and avoid the crowds and the tourists. The location is perfect - most everything is in walking distance, valet parking was easy, the hotel was charming and the service was some of the best I have experinced in a hotel. Charles at the front desk, Armando with luggage and Tonya with housekeeping were especially professional, helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, get an upper floor room - less street noise and no one walking on the wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdotson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi, breakfast and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing