We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Hallways”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Noisy Hallways”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed at Marshall House for two nights with my boyfriend for a weekend get-away. Savannah is relatively close to home, so it's great for a weekend trip.
We booked a petite queen and the room was smaller than a standard size hotel room in Savannah, which wasn't an issue for us.

Pro's: The hotel was charming with wood floors and historic style. The bed was comfortable and the linens were nice.

Con's: The room was quite noisy from the hallway traffic and nearby ice machine. I'm a deep sleeper and found the noise disruptive. Also, the view from our room was the neighboring restaurant patio. It limited our privacy and was also noisy in it's own right. The service was mediocre - I wasn't impressed at check-in, check-out or with the lengthy wait for valet.

The hotel wasn't terrible, but I probably won't stay here again. Having stayed at several other hotels in Savannah's historic district, there are plenty of comprable hotels in the same price range without the problems we encountered. If you get a good deal, then by all means stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ckayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,966
    561
    115
    42
    25
See reviews for
504
1,484
103
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Fun staying in a known haunted hotel. Definitely heard some ghost and the hotel was a hospital during Civil War. Great wine and cheese hour (free) in lobby area every evening. We experienced some weird happenings and sounds on the 3rd floor where we stayed. Great location could walk everywhere. Try the bicycle cabs if you dont feel like walking they work off tips. Had a real fun time at the hotel. We stayed 4 nights

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrd_109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a room with veranda overlooking Broughton St. Room was nice and clean very comfortable bed. The down side was the street noise. A lot of buses go by. We left a/c fan on and we were fine. Mainly noise was until the busses stopped running. Had a very nice breakfast. Staff were all very nice. Probably would not stay here again but if we did would opt for a room in the interior . Broughton too busy for us.

Room Tip: Try interior room for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in the historic district making everything a short walk away. Showering is done in a claw footed tub. The room is clean and well maintained. Don't expect a new Hilton as this is a historic building stylishly refurbed with modern conveniences.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I found out about the Marshall House from a story about visiting Savannah in Southern Living magazine. We only stayed in Savannah overnight but I wish we had had more time there. The hotel room reminded me of my bedroom in my parents home in Louisiana that I grew up in. It was wonderful, so comfortable. We had a room in the front with the balcony (which you get to by climbing thru the window-loved that). After having lunch & walking around the city we went back to the room, sat in the rocking chairs on the porch & enjoyed a thunderstorm. The staff was great, very friendly & helpful, awesome customer service! We went to dinner very late at Bistro 45 & they were closing but they feed us anyway. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room that was somewhat noisy during the day with the traffic but we had no trouble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent two nights in July 2012 in a Broughton balcony king room, and loved it! The hotel has a historic charm to it, and they have kept this ambiance in the rooms as well. To climb through the windows to get to the balcony was a fun detail. We had some problems with the AC in our room the first night, as it didn't cool, but that was fixed the day after, and we were happy with that.

The floors are charmingly lopsided, the interior concists of fitting furniture for the historic building and small displays of artifacts showing its history in the hallways. As a touch of luxury, they also offer turn down-service every night, with a small chocolate offered for each guest on top of the robes placed on the bed.

A full breakfast was served in an atrium, with glass ceiling, a beautiful room in every way.
Valet parking was $15 a night, not to bad for such a central property, and we never waited for more than 15 minutes for our car.
We would definitely go back if we are lucky enough to get to visit beautiful Savannah once more!

Room Tip: Go for the Broughton balcony rooms, they are worth the extra dollars, just for the charm of sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay. The service exuded southern hospitality and the staff couldn't do enough to make you feel at home. Our room was very nice but the best part was the king-size bed. It was one of the comfortiest beds I've slept in outside of my own. Wine and cheese at night was a plus as well as the daily water bottles in your room. The only downside for us was the location. We would have preferred to stay closer to the residential area (a few blocks away) than the busy main street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coconut63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,284 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
1,219 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing