We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Perfect Hotel Experience”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Most Perfect Hotel Experience”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was taken to Savannah by my two best buds to celebrate my 60th birthday. I can't say enough about what a fabulous experience Marshall House was. We were greeted so warmly by Terry who took care of our car for us and we were treated like honored guests by Charles at the front desk. I have some noise sensitivity issues and my friends specifically asked or a quiet room. Our room was quiet, spacious and spotlessly clean. If you want a view of the street this is not the room for you. But if you want the best night's sleep ever, try room 322. Thoughtfully provided bottles of water, plenty of towels and toiletries for three women and clean, clean clean. Our first evening began at the complementary happy hour though we quickly moved into the bar where we were ably taken care of by James. So smitten were we with the expertly made martinis that we decided to stay there and order dinner. The food was fabulous - try the hearts of romaine, beef tartare and the duck pizza. Then it was off to our room and as we slipped between fabulously soft sheets on our incredibly comfortable bed (and did I mention how clean it was) we fell asleep to absolute silence. Woke up to a delightful breakfast and Carlton (the doorman for all your Rhoda fans) started our day with a smile. You can really tell that the employees at this hotel love working here and they make their guests feel that enjoyment in every interaction.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,894
    552
    113
    42
    24
See reviews for
482
1,437
99
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The Marshall House has the best location in Savannah. It combines historical charm with great service. The rooms are well-kept with updated bathrooms and flat screen tvs. You won't use the tvs much due to the great location near so many activities. I would definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stushmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Marshall House is a wonderful historical hotel with a lot of charm. From the iron balcomies on the outside to the beautifully decorated inside. The lobby is spacious and has a wine and cheese reception in the evening (great place to meet fellow travelers). Free Breakfast with a good selection of food. Our room was a superior Queen (has originally fireplace, non-working though) which gave us some extra space. Large armoire in room to store clothing. Bathroom is small but adequate. Both were clean Staff were courteous and the porters were always ready to help you. The hotel's location makes it walkable to everthing in the historical area. We would easily stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 203 superior queen on the NE side of the hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaca54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We often travel together as a couple, but rarely splurge on our hotel. In this case we are glad we did. Marshall House gave us a great all-around experience.

We chose a small room to manage our costs, so I don't necessarily have a lot of good things to say (other than the bed, which was excellent).

But the property was a terrific place to spend time in -- the various public rooms were worth spending time in, and it was easy to make acquaintances with fellow guests.

We also found the location to be great -- all the sites were walkable. And the breakfast was terrific. All in all we recommend this for a mid-range-price experience in Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottB_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in Savannah for two nights on our way to Florida. The decision to stay at the Marshall House was a last minute one and one we are glad we made! It is a charming old hotel with a wonderful staff. Our room was nice, the hotel is convenient to everything, and we didn't encounter any problems. In the early evening they provide appetizers and wine. How great is that?! Encourage anyone to stay at the Marshall House when in Savannah.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biddygirlmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The locataion was perfect--we walked to everything. I was impressed that the hotel has been able to keep the original sourthern charm while still modernizing. There were 4 in our group, and the room we had was large enough, but i do wish there had been more room to store luggage and clothing. The staff was friendly, helpful, and very knowledge about the area. We will stay at this hotel again when we return to Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeR661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

History abounds at the Marshall House. Orginally a 1855 boarding house, which was turned into a hospital during the Civil War this hotel has a significant amount of history including stories about ghosts! Staff was superb! Free breakfast and housekeeping was average. No fitness center, which was a disappointment. The location was walking distance from everything in the old city of Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btenuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,260 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,992 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing