We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights recently for a friend's wedding. First of all, the location is fantastic - we never needed take so much as a taxi at any point. The staff were awesome and the free breakfast every morning was really nice, but our room was really small. I can look past this though because it's obviously a really old building, and considering that it's incredibly well maintained. Other than the small room, thin walls, and a ceiling fan that made annoying noises, I have zero complaints. Overall I would probably stay again, but for the price I might try other spots just for variety.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,450
    486
    98
    38
    21
See reviews for
375
1,124
74
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were here last year in April and when we decided to come back to Charleston we looked at some other choices but came right back to the Marshall House. Yes, you may not have a view but remember you are staying in a downtown historic area. The location is fantastic. Walking distance to almost everything. The friendly staff will do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable. The buffet is average and could be improved but don't let that small thing stop you. Hint; Ask for one of the "Garden Suites". You will not be disapointed. Plenty of space for a couple for a special occasion or just a time away. Another hint; when you are ready to make a reservation call and talk to them, explain what you want and they will help you get the room that is right for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The reviews are spot on. The breakfast is exactly what you'd want, the wine & cheese hour is a fun afternoon treat, and the hotel's location on Broughton street truly makes it the perfect place to stay. Our room indeed was small, but we needed to go with an economic option. The service is excellent.

Room Tip: A word of warning: watch out if you have the room near the elevator, the noise from that and the ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I reserved a room at Marshall House based on the Trip Advisor rating after the place we had been planning on staying at was booked up. The high rating didn't match up with our experience at all.

The biggest disappointment was that our room faced a parking garage whose lights shown into our room 24 hours a day. The light and noise made it difficult to sleep. The bathroom was also quite bad. It was in poor condition and small with a little pedestal sink. The room was small, which I didn't mind, but there were stains on the bedding, which was a real turn off.

The breakfast was average, but is served in a pretty atrium dining room. (Avoid the rubbery quiche that is left to sit under heat lamps.) The wine and cheese served Sunday - Thursday evening is average as well.

I blame myself for my disappointment with the location of the hotel. I thought that because we were away from the riverfront that we would be in the historic area. I should have done more research. It is in the middle of one of the business streets in downtown Savannah. That is great if you want to have lots of chain restaurants and shops next door, but not good if you want to be near the historic charm of the city, which in my mind is the whole reason to visit Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The valet parked our car and we didn't need it for the two nights we were there. It's close to the riverfront and good shopping. Nice historic charm to the hotel. The breakfast is an average breakfast buffet. We did not eat in the dining room. The front desk was helpful in making reservations and tours for us.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dutchtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Marshall House is a great hotel in in the perfect location. We parked our car when we got there and never needed it again because we walked everywhere. The rooms are small but had everything we needed. The bed was comfy and the room and bathroom were spotless. The high ceilings made the light levels a little low and the age of the building (creaky wood floors) made it easy to hear people out in the hall. But those are the only things to say about the hotel that could be improved. And frankly, the high ceilings and original floors are part of what make it great so it is a small price to pay. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi, breakfast and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing