We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marshall House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Planters Inn(Savannah)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
East Bay Inn(Savannah)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Savannah(Savannah)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,087)
Filter reviews
3,087 results
Traveler rating
2,279
615
123
43
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,279
615
123
43
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquichewine and cheesehistoric hotellocal historiancivil warbroughton streetclaw foot tubwood floorsmodern amenitieswithin walking distancesouthern hospitalityfourth floorrooms are smallbalcony roomvalet parkinghigh ceilingslocation was perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,241 - 2,246 of 3,087 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a great time in Savannah and staying at this place certainly helped. We spend the extra money for a room with verandah seats on the first floor and loved the option to sit outside with a wine and view the streets and spectacular thunderstorm we had. The people at the reception were friendly though not particulary interested. The breakfast is excellent, with lots of choice, also of the healthy kind! The room is large enough, though the bathroom is relatively small (something I experienced a lot in the USA for some strange reason??). Great Kingsize bed and space to move around and store stuff. The complementary cheese and wine late afternoon, early evening is a bonus and so is the adjacent bar and restaurant. All in all a perfect place to base yourself and explore the region. Car parking is nearby in two garages, 7 dollars a day. Avoid valet car parking as it's more expensive so probably only nice if you are a business person for whom everything is payed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I regularly travel to Savannah but have yet to stay at the Marshall House. It's a beautiful building and the rooms are nicely decorated. Overall, my boyfriend and I had a good experience. However, there were some downfalls that prevented me from giving it a higher rating. The rooms are very small and very loud. You can hear everything going on above, below and next to you. Thus, it made it difficult to sleep past 7am, if you're a light sleeper this may not be your pick! The hotel was a little pricey for what you get and they could also work on their customer service, not that we were treated poorly we just didn't get the greeting smiles and hellos from all the staff that tops the experience. If you want a place that reminds you of the old savannah south this is your place, but if you want a luxurious, hip hotel with great customer service you may want to look elsewhere. Overall, glad we tried this location.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amgtraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Was a wonderful trip! Only stayed one night at the Marshall House but was fantastic! Stayed in a Veranda King room was perfect! Checked in just in time to catch a glass of vino front desk suggested taking it onto the veranda which was wonderful! Room was much larger than thought was going to be. Walking distance to many restaurants and pubs right in area. Came in late due to a walking tour and we had help ordering delivery cheeseburgers that were fantastic! Looking forward to visiting Savannah again and would definitely stay at The Marshall House!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNatp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Savannah is by nature, old and historic. Therefore, the hotel was fitting. We spent 1 night, in March, in a King Premium room for just over $200. The location of the hotel is PERFECTLY located to accommodate walking to the riverfront and the downtown areas. We chose to park in the city lot behind the building, where we left the car from 02:00 pm the first day until leaving the lot at 02:00 p.m the following day at a cost of $14.00. Don't even think about parking on the street downtown for more than 2 hours or they will "boot" your car. You can also valet park fairly cheaply.

The room, as in many historic renos, was small, but adequate. The mattress was comfortable. The bathroom was servicable and very clean, as was the main room. Old wooden plank floors are aestheically pleasing, but you can here a pin drop on the floor above you. The walls are a little thin as we could hear the folks next door talking on the phone. The hotel is filled with hallways of old plank floors, obviously painstakingly refinished.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. They have a wine and cheese layout between 05:30 and 07:00 p.m. in the parlour room off the lobby entrance which was a nice touch. There are a zillion restaurants in the blocks surrounding the hotel, including a high end one in the hotel.

My only inconvenience was the key. It was, of course, a card key and after a long day of walking and then choosing to take the stairs to our 3rd floor room, I inserted the key and it would not work. I had to return to the main lobby where they happily fixed it. An inconvenience, not a major problem. Overall a good stay. I would go again if I were rich. We stayed there because we had friends staying there.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for the top floor to avoid noise above.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Excellent hotel. Charming old building with tons of character. Great staff and great rooms. We love this historic hotel and savannah. The breakfast was delicious everyday. The rooms were kept clean everyday. And it is a great location close to the city market and river st.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wfd96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews