We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely would go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely would go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff was great with the southern hospitality. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and feels like you stepped back in time. The location was very convenient. Excellent choices for breakfast in the Atrium, try the quiche. The only negative, did NOT get a visit from a ghost. Will recommend it to others. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,792
    540
    112
    42
    23
See reviews for
459
1,361
94
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Marshall House exceeded our expectations by leaps and bounds! The room was absolutely gorgeous, the history of the hotel is intriguing, the staff is SO knowledgeable about the actual history (which was impressive), and the breakfast quiche was delicious. The bathroom was sparkling clean (and I'm picky!). The furniture and spaciousness of the suite was exceptional, and really added to the fun of the weekend. The linens were not only clean and fresh, but were actually COMFORTABLE, and the King Bed was done up so beautifully... it was just enchanting!! The only real concern was that the wood floors were a bit slippery and we had to truly brace ourselves while walking in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for the atrium suite - it's a no brainer and sure to please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have stayed at several other places in Savannah, but nothing matches the experience here. The employees are helpful, knowledgable and friendly. Most things in historic/downtown area are within walking distance. The property retains its character (gorgeous wooden floors, uneven and squeaky) yet it has the amenities expected. There is a little noise from the hallways, but not enough to bother you - when someone in boots goes up or down the old stairs its audible. But considering the age of the property i think the amount of soundproofing is impressive. We came down for our anniversary, had a wonderful time, and we will stay here again. The staff has Southern hospitality for sure - and I am a Georgia native, I know it when i see it!

Room Tip: We stayed in a handicapped accessible room, it was roomier than expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I usually only due Positive reviews but feel our fellow Trip Advisor travelers need to be sure if you book the Marshall House you avoid the bait and switch. We booked three days and our reservation was a room with the fireplace and claw foot tub. Upon arriving we received a very small room that you could hardly walk around and a very small bathroom with shower only, so small you could not turn around. Front desk said they only have 16 room with what we ordered and were we did not SPECIFY fireplace and tub we were out of luck. I didn't think I should have to SPECIFY things in a room that was advertised as such. Really regretted 3 days there. Other than that it is a good location, nice breakfast and evening reception. I would suggest Marshall House add another room type to their website so guests really know what they are getting!!!!!

Room Tip: Be Very very detailed in requesting what you want in a room eve if their website says it, you bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ImperialJaneM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Marshall House for a long weekend. The location is awesome, and the staff is very friendly. Overall, it was a nice hotel. However, it is really loud. You can hear every door open and every footstep and word spoken in the hallway. Also, if you have a room that faces the street, you hear all of that noise too; all the people bar hopping, busses, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldwick, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed at the marshall house for 2 nights.. room was small - but nice.
right downtown - walking distance to everything - restaurants, historic district and river street.
front desk staff and bell hops were super great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slipperNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Marshall House was a wonderful place to stay while we toured the city. We could walk every where which was very nice. It is close to SCAD which was the reason we came to town. The only disappointment was the heat/ac unit was very loud. Beds were very comfy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing