We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marshall House
Nearby Hotels
$175
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$239
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Central Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
River Street Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
$199
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$141
$132
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The DeSoto(Savannah)
$199
$155
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$430
$230
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,143)
Filter reviews
3,143 results
Traveler rating
2,329
620
123
44
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,329
620
123
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquichewine and cheesehistoric hotellocal historiancivil warbroughton streetclaw foot tubwood floorsmodern amenitieswithin walking distancesouthern hospitalityfourth floorrooms are smallbalcony roomvalet parkinghigh ceilingslocation was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
2,351 - 2,356 of 3,143 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Excellent stay at The Marshall House, the staff was so friendly and helpful. Loved the complimentary wine and cheese every eve. Breakfast was wonderful also, with a great selection of healthy choices. Location was ideal close to shopping and riverfront and historical parks. Love, Love, can't wait to come back to stay at this wonderful Hotel. The staff is the Best.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerriB546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is neither hotel no B&B so it is difficult to review. On the positive side stuff is extremely helpful and friendly. But this is Savannah, so everybody is. Stop a stranger on the street; they will spend 30 min giving you directions. Building is lovely and oozes history and character. But that where good news pretty much end. We stayed in the superior King room. I really recommend trying to get a suite. Rooms are very small. Air conditioner / heater are very noisy and kept waking me up. Windows are sealed and when I raised blinds an enormous cloud of dust came from behind. Obviously I was the first person so naïve as to think that he can take a peek out. Bed is comfortable, there are bath robes. All this is nice but one really keeps thinking that there are better places to stay in Savannah and that I made a bed choice based on raving reviews. The price was very good, so I’ll rate it appropriately.

Room Tip: Try to get a courtyard suite. They were all booked when I tried. Must be for good reason. Rooms are small.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NY_ramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here in December for 3 nights. The staff was very helpful, location was great for walking to see the sights. Try to get a room facing the interior to keep road noise from disturbing. Beds were decent too.

Lots of Civil War History that is very interesting if one is into that sort of thing. If you are looking for a non chain experience, I highly recommend the Marshall House.

Room Tip: Interior rooms for a quiet peaceful evening is best.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKANUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The staff at the Marshall House are great and have lots of information and help. Things are run very professionally and the rooms are great except for two things. In our room, we had a claw-foot tub with a very weak shower. The balcony is shared and across the front of the building. What they don't tell you is that you have to climb through a window to get out on the balcony. This is not easy to do in nice clothing or stocking feet. If they had a little step at the window, I think that would improve things. The lobby and building are gorgeous.

Room Tip: Loved the shared balcony except that you have to climb through a window to get to it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1812HitchingPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

If everyone had a Bernard as their parking valet they would have lots of return custom. He is a great asset to the Hotel. As were all the staff, very knowledgable of the area. Ask him about leaving your car parked with them after your checkout!?!? It is just as if you are still a guest that day too! We booked the city trolley tour with the hotel at checkout time & picked up the car at about 7pm! no extra charges>!>!> Overall the hotel was just as nice as online pics & very old & small rooms.....It was built when all rooms were small. Bathrooms were lovely & nice hot water with good pressure (amazing for a building of its age) & VERY clean. Rooms were immaculate & fresh. Central location & restaurant, bar & reception area had everything to keep you inside the hotel. All staff very efficient, welcoming & friendly. The complimentary cheese & wine social was brilliant. We drink wine so it saved us a fortune!!!! We will visit Marshall House when we visit Savannah next time. Thanks for a great experience.

Room Tip: We had a great room 419 but since it was the only one we had its hard to give tips to choose a good one???
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALBAGALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews