We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes and No.”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Yes and No.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This small, historic, and beautiful full-service hotel is a Rorschach test. Either you will think it is in the sweet spot between a hotel and a B & B, or you will think it falls in a no-man's-land between the two.

On the one hand, the public spaces and the high-ceilinged corridors upstairs are lovely and are filled with historical artifacts. The beds are wonderfully comfortable. And most of the services work well, notably including a spiffy business center that most Marriotts would die for. On the other hand, there are terrible noise problems in the rooms: not so much the street noise that other reviewers have commented on but noise from overhead that is transmitted through the otherwise wonderful, broad hard wood floors. We were repeatedly awakened, and we met two other couples who asked to change rooms because of sleepless nights. When the housekeepers vacuum the room above you, you may think you should prepare to meet your maker.

Service is uneven. The door men and porters were a joy -- helpful, friendly, courteous, and playful in just the right mix. The housekeepers were sullen. The front desk failed us repeatedly.

One of the delights of the Marshall House is its "library", a colorful and welcoming lounge where complimentary wine and cheese are served on week nights. A good boutique restaurant (unaffiliated with the hotel) and its atmospheric bar open off the library, as does a glass-covered courtyard where a generous breakfast is provided every morning.

The location is a mixed blessing. Almost everything in the historic district is within walking distance. Leopold's justly famous ice cream is less than a block away in one direction, and the market place is only a few blocks in the other. You can comfortably walk to Mercer House (of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil fame) in 10-15 minutes. But the block of Broughton Street on which the hotel is actually located is not at all attractive.

Were we happy to visit Savannah? Oh, yes! Did we enjoy Marshall House? Definitely. Will we stay there on our next trip? No.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Pullman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,894
    552
    113
    42
    24
See reviews for
482
1,437
99
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a last minute trip to celebrate two birthdays. Savannah was great the pick, went to Paula Dean restaurant...We picked Marshal House, not wanting to be on waterfront, it was surely a plus. Staff was so eager to help. Staff very professional and sooooo helpful. Room 207 overlooks the inside atrium, nice view. Bathroom was very clean. The complimentary breakfast was FANTASTIC!!!!!warmed biscuts, quiche,,,,outstanding, . If you enjoy a place "back in time" with CLASS A service...then you wont go wrong with Marshall House. This place is a must see,,,,,words cannot describe how incredible this overnight stay was. Thanks to all the staff there.

Room Tip: Room 207 had a great view (inside atrium)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drwilliams917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This Bed & Breakfast was recommended to me by a friend. It is a nice place in a good location. The room was quite small but nicely decorated, The service is typical Southern - very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was OK although I expected it to be more family with more selections.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 4 floor facing the main street. The noise coming from there was somewhat disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZurichRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

First, we selected this hotel mainly because of his look. We were looking for something typical, something that could make us feel like we were back in time. We stayed in the bigger suite, the Mary Marshall Suite and everything was perfect. The room is big, the bathroom wonderfully restored, the hardwood floors are awesome etc. In the bedroom, you have access to a huge balcony where you can find chairs and tables. The room is perfectly lit and the A/C working properly. The staff is very helpful and the rates for the valet parking are honest (15 dollars a day compared to the 30 you could pay in some other hotels of the area). The complimentary breakfast and WIFI are a huge bonus and you HAVE to enjoy a breakfast in there "sunroom" : so relaxing to start the day !
Actually, this was the last stop of our road trip and after 2000 miles, we were so glad to stay in this hotel for the last two days. We left Georgia and Savannah with really good memories and the Marshall House is definitely one of them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ange-Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
334 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you love historic hotels, you will love this place. Walking through the doors is almost like walking back in time. I loved all the old woods, the oil paintings, and the abundance of Southern Charm. It is a history buff's dream. If, however, history is not your cup of tea, you might find some problem with this place.

For one thing, it is located in the heart of a central business district. That means no place to park. There is public parking next door for $1.00 an hour, ($12.00 max per day), or you can use the valet, (I do not know what that costs). Another thing is that, since it is a historic hotel, the rooms are not very big. People were just smaller when the building was erected. That also means that the baths and showers are pretty tiny, too - they had to be designed from something else since there wasn't indoor plumbing when in the beginning. Also, at least from our room, the view was pretty weak. All we could see was the parking garage where our car was.

On the good side, the location is great for a stroll downtown, or to many "city specific" attractions in the area. It's a nice starting point. They also have a very courteous and helpful staff, and the breakfast buffet was nicely done - plenty of room to sit, and nothing ever went empty. Personally, I would come back, (but during the week when rates are cheaper), because I just loved the way I felt so comfortable and relaxed. This hotel really does give one a favorable impression of Savannah.

Room Tip: If you pay extra for a room with a window, make sure that window has a view. The only view from ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ovolacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Let me preface this review by saying The Marshall House may not be for everyone. The rooms are not very large and the original (circa 1851 floors!) are creaky and uneven. For guests wanting all the modern amenities, this may not be the place for you. But for us, we loved the charm, history and central location - right on a DOT (free transportation) route. The guest room was comfortable and bed firm with nice linens. All facilities were very clean - except the bathroom window blinds could use a thorough clean (they were coated in dust). In the evening, they had a social hour in the lobby with wine, cheeses and crackers - a nice way to start off the evening. In the morning from 7-10, they offered a light breakfast including delicious quiches in the atrium. My only complaint about the breakfast was that a staff member turned off the lights and jingled keys right at 10:00 when there were still 3 or 4 tables finishing their breakfast. I realize the breakfast period was over, but the staff could have put away the food and cleaned empty tables to allow these few tables to finish their coffee or last few bites of breakfast. I thought the turning off the lights was rude. But all other staff were friendly and helpful, so I wouldn't consider this single experience a deal breaker - hoping that management reads this review and makes adjustments to their end of breakfast procedures. All in all, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhawkx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice location, great service! Good location... Miniscule uncomfortable poorly lit HUGE PRICES & double rooms only have interior facing Window, NO VIEWS OF OUTSIDE ! Not even the parking lot. Depending on how the wind blows, the rooms haves sulpher stench from the paper mill! COULD NOT BREATH...SORRY, for $300/night I expect better

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leplap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,260 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,991 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing