We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Savannah!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Savannah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed six nights at the Marshall House in Savannah. We had a room on the fourth floor that was very quiet and very nice. We had a desk with free Wi-Fi, an armoire for our clothes, a large bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly and always ready to help find an activity or museum for us to see. They have a wine and cheese reception every night where you can meet lots of other travelers. The breakfast was good, but mostly breads and muffins. They did have quiche every day. We walked across the street to a great little diner for breakfast a couple of mornings.

The Marshall House is in a perfect location for visiting the old part of Savannah. We did not have a car and walked everywhere except for Bonaventure Cemetery. It is only three blocks to River Street and close to all the old houses and restaurants.

I definitely recommend this hotel as a great place to stay in Savannah.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CampanaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    491
    98
    38
    21
See reviews for
385
1,158
78
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Marshall House. Everyone was very friendly and pleasant. The hotel lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays. We stayed at a classic king room, which was super cute with its old-time charm. Not a huge space and thin walls, but what we expected for a historic building and was not a problem for us. Did not have any supernatural experiences which was ok with me. Location was great! We never touched our car the whole weekend. Everything in the historic district is within walking distance. The continental breakfast was pretty adequate. We never made it back in time for the wine and cheese reception because we were always out and about, but hope to catch it at a future visit. We already booked our room to return in two months to celebrate our anniversary. Highly recommend the Marshall House!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

For those looking to enjoy Savannah, I'd recommend looking into the Marshall House. Within the historic district, which is easily walkable, this B&B inn is 3 short blocks to River Street. It is also located on Broughton, which is a decorative shopping street that always has lots going on.

Sometimes we stay right on River Street, but more and more hotels are super pricey for that. The Marshall House is a 5-minute walk, an easy walk, and yet we don't have to pay ultra money to be close to all the entertainment.

The staff is always helpful and friendly. There is a restaurant and bar (45 Bistro) attached to the hotel, so we found it nice that we could come back and have a nightcap in the bar right in our hotel.

Folks may want to get on one of the upper floors as, being an older building, there are some creaks and noises when people walk. When I stay on the 4th floor, this is never a problem.

Great place. Unless it's some exclusive or super expensive weekend event, I always look to stay here first.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor so you don't have people upstairs from you walking. Being an older buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Author_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We loved this hotel - it was charming and had an excellent location within walking distance of everything in the historic district. The staff at the front desk and the doormen were extremely helpful in making suggestions, reservations, and getting a cab for us. We stayed in a room that had access to the porch on the 2nd floor which we loved using after we came back to the room at night. Only complaint is that the locks on the windows were broken so that was a bit of a concern for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amoorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Pros - beautifully decorated lobby, great location (2 blocks from riverfront), lots of conveniences and amenities of a hotel but still a B&B, staff is very friendly and helpful, lots of charm, comfortable room and beds, room decorated nicely, a full service restaurant
The Cons- We had a nice king size room but it was in the back overlooking a parking garage and very dark. Had no idea if it was sunny out or not. Bathrooms are vintage charming but could use some repair and cleaning, breakfast room furnishings and decor need some work and the ambiance really falls short here. Stained and torn chairs, vinyl tablecloths, dirty carpet.
Overall the experience was good here. IMO the good outweighs the bad.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back off the main hallway. Really dark. Just ask what the view is before book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NHIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a lovely stop on our way to Florida for the holidays! Only regret we did not stay 2 nights. Loved the historic ambiance, the wine and cheese in the evening, the breakfast, room decor...also excellent value for the hotel quality. Staff super gracious and attentive!

Room Tip: A balcony is a great addition...we didn't have one but would in the future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beta277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great meadows, nj
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The staff & layout of the hotel makes you feel wonderful and pampered. The public areas are luxiorious. The room we had was very nice, but had no window actually in the room. There was a hallway when you entered the room, the only window was there. The room, although clean & spacious enough, was dark and dreary. The view from the window was to a very large air-conditioner & the parking garage next door. The location of the room was the only dissapointment.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a window in the room, not in the little "annex" on the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing